We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel policy's explained?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Ranked #31 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel policy's explained?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Dropped into the bar with the family for food and noticed the World Cup was on.
We were half an hour early for the bar food so we waited and enjoyed a drink while watching the game.
15 minutes into it the manager behind the bar turns the TV onto something else and has a snigger behind the bar with the barman, didn't apologise to us or inform us on the hotel policy just turned it over when she could clearly see we were watching it.
Hospitality like that in such a place would make you laugh.
We left straight away and found a warmer welcome and service in darling harbour.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Aneta955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Aneta955
Please accept my profuse apologies for the disappointing feedback you have provided as this is certainly not the kind of service we provide at the Sheraton on the Park and indeed we must do better. Please note we do not have a hotel policy in regards to the concerns you have raised however rest assured, I have briefed our Management Team accordingly.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,053
    1,053
    282
    133
    135
See reviews for
514
1,287
294
1,089
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,008)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Me and my husband was staying 7 nights in Sheraton between May and June. We chosen this hotel because of the location and thought we will have the good view to see the park. ( Anyway, it's next to the park, isn't it?) And when we checked-in the room and found out it's all office buildings outside the windows, we can clearly see what they're doing in the office. Obviously they can see us too! That was a HUGE mistake we didn't ask to change the room because we already unpacked the baggage and put everything out. The room is large and nice, but we were staying there 7 NIGHTS! Days and nights we have to totally close our windows, it feels like in the cage!

I can understand there're bad view rooms in the hotel, but we were staying a week, not 1 or 2 days. One week can't open the curtain in the room at all, it's like a 7 days cruise stay in a interior room. And we didn't pay less than others! It such a nice hotel and good service, best location. But hotel really should consider to put the 4-nights and up guests in a room at least can open the curtain. And when we check in, receptionist should notify the guests about the room view and give us the option if we would like to upgrade the room.

Room Tip: ask the reception how is the room view when you check in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear zyw
Thank you for your review. Please note the option from our City Side room is our Park Side Rooms with views of the gorgeous Hyde Park however our apologies for the disappointment and inconvenience caused as we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nowra
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Beautiful hotel .this time we had access to the Sheraton club which made our stay exceptional
The hotel staff are very warm professional and friendly . The room was very large with walk in robe
And beautifully furnished .
The Sheraton club was the added bonus with free canapés and alcohol between 5.30 and 7.30 great choice of food and views over Hyde park
We also had breakfast in the morning at the Sheraton club
This was certainly the best stay in a Sydney hotel that I have had .well worth the extra cost and made our stay in Sydney very memorable
Great job Sheraton

Room Tip: For that extra memorable experience choose a room that includes the Sharaton club you will not be di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Kerry F
I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to post such a great review of your stay at the Sheraton on the Park and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

As a disclaimer, I'm part of SPG but even as a preferred guest, the service was just impeccable. The front desk was very affable and tried to accommodate everything to our needs during the stay. The breakfast and the happy hour at the lounge was too awesome - had the american style continental breakfast and it includes hot eggs, sausages, bacon, pastries, and cappucinos/lattes (made to order). The happy hour always had wine and beer to choose from as well as a variety of hors d'oeuvres.
The rooms were spacious and the decor is classic (yes the bathrooms are black marble and old but still very well maintained).
I had a room facing the tower and all the mechanical stuff on the lower roof on floor 7 but I didn't mind it. It was spacious internally. The best part of the hotel is that it's centrally located. We can take the trains to the north east south or west from St James station and also there were a group of bus lines right outside of the hotel. Additionally a lot of the places were walkable.

Room rates are a little pricey but it's definitely a hotel to consider and I would consider to staying here again (if I ever come back to Sydney!)

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the park and you'll get more light as well as a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Soo W
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park on your trip to Sydney. Im so pleased to read your review, particularly as an Starwood Preferred Member and appreciate your delightful feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sydney and the Sheraton on the Park.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
309 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We really enjoyed the Sheraton on the Park in Sydney. Big rooms (much bigger than the Hilton), excellent service, very good breakfast, nice beds, nice down pillows.
However I find it really irritating to have such expensive parking $55/day, or $65 if using valet. This is why I give it only 4 points and not the maximum of 5...I know Sheraton is not the only trespasser in Sydney among the luxury hotels. But why can other hotels, also very CBD, offer parking of $30/day (still very expensive, but hey I understand this is crazy Sydney...), and Sheraton and others charge over 50 dollars (about another 25% on the room rate....)? I cannot explain it with anything other than greed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yakshaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear yakshaver
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park and for your valued feedback. Please note our prices are benchmarked in line with all other Sydney 5 star hotels however, I have taken your constructive comment on board and hope to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I visited Sheraton on the Park with my friends, it was surely a bit fancy and expensive, but hey...
We tried the Buffet at dinner time, and Yes, it was one of the best Buffets i ever had.
The choice of Seafood, warm dishes and desserts, really really good.
Just for the food, i will defently be back !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReebEztam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear ReebEztam
Thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth and hospitality of the Sheraton on the Park in the not too distant future.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Have stayed at Sheraton on the Park several times and have enjoyed my stay every time. On this occasion my luggage was mistakenly included in the luggage of a departing guest. The staff immediately initiated actions to retrieve my luggage. They also upgraded my room to a terrace suite which included spectacular views of Hyde Park. I was provided with a range of complimentary inclusions such as food and drinks at the executive club. Both the Manager and Duty Manager made themselves available for any questions or requests I had and kept me appraised of their efforts to return my luggage. My luggage was returned to me later that day. Like all 5 star hotels the Sheraton on the Park's rooms and amenities are of a high standard. What made them stand out on this occasion was the professional and sensitive way in which the staff rectified the mistake they had made. During this stressful situation the staff at the Sheraton really made me feel that I was their number one priority. Definitely would not hesitate to stay there again and would highly recommend this hotel as the place to stay when in Sydney.

Room Tip: Terrace suites have excellent views of Hyde Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Milos P,
I’m so pleased to note you will surely be returning to the Sheraton on the Park and appreciate your wonderful feedback.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#32 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,068 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#36 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,239 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,143 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Property: Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#15 Family Hotel in Sydney
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing