We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overcharge on checkout”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Ranked #31 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Berrima, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Overcharge on checkout”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Booking was with third party park & stay package, all going great until checkout, reception was rude to the point of embarrassing about $65.00 charge for parking, I explained parking was included in package, she told us as we had valet parking it would be an extra $25.00 for this after she agreed paring was included, I informed her there own web page is self parking $55.00 valet parking $65.00, the difference being $10.00 not $25.00 as per charge. Didn't want to know as other people were waiting and I was very embarrassed by the receptionist I paid and left, I wrote to them when I returned home no response, won't stay again it's not the amount of overcharge but the way they went about it very very upset by the service of this 5 star hotel. Check u account before u leave hotel as u will not be able to rectify after.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 121955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear 121955
Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointing feedback you have provided as I can understand the dissatisfaction this has caused. Please note the “Stay, Park and Play” package is a discounted package hence the components are all at discounted rates. The additional amount is due to the discounted rate in your package deal.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,053
    1,053
    282
    133
    135
See reviews for
514
1,287
294
1,089
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,008)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms are spacious, clean and with all the extra touches - big bathtub and shower, lounge, luxurious bed and bedding. The buffet breakfast was delicious with the highlight of a honeycomb. Gluten free was not a problem. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SKinash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear SKinash
Thank you for your wonderful feedback and the touch of honeycomb in our Feast Restaurant is indeed a favourite of our guests!
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I was given a gift card said to be high tea for two at the Sheraton on the Park. I rang the Sheraton to ask the value on the card and was told it was $59. I asked if that would cover two people for high tea and was advised yes it would. I took my two daughters and prepared to pay an additional fee for the one extra person. The tea included 2 scones each ( with jam and cream), the equivalent of one sandwich / wrap each (sliced into smaller more delicate pieces), and about 4 different miniature cakes / confections. Add to this a coffee / hot chocolate or pot of tea.
The seating was comfortable with armchairs at low coffee tables. The tea was served very hot, the hot chocolates were only lukewarm. The food arrived on a three tiered cake platter. It looked great. The scones were ok but a bit dense as opposed to light, some sandwiches were good others not - we had asked for vegetarian and got one really great egg sandwich, one sandwich with a few grilled vegetables was ok, and a wrap that was mostly lettuce and mostly tasteless. We would have loved something like cream cheese and cucumber or something spicy / tasty instead of bland. The sweets are usually our favourite and there was one really nice miniature cup lemon cake, but everything else was a chocolate confection which all looked fabulous ( a chocolate handbag, chocolate shoe, chocolate hat) but apparently poor quality chocolate had been used as they were all totally tasteless save for a praline filling in the shoe. For the first time ever three chocoholics left several pieces of chocolate on the plate. Very disappointing. Next on the menu was bill shock - we got a bill for $89 in addition to the $59 gift card. Apparently $45 to add the one extra person, and despite being told on the phone the gift card covered high tea for two, it apparently fell $40 short. I explained I had been given incorrect advice on the phone but there was no apology nor any consideration of a compromise. I would have been less upset about the cost if not for the quantity and quality of the food. I have had high tea at the Windsor and Langham Hotels in Melbourne and both of these are exceptional in terms of quantity and quality of their food. I recommend you avoid high tea at the Sheraton on the Park in Sydney unless you think a cup of tea, 2 scones, 4 very mini sweets and one sandwich, mostly of average to poor quality are worth $45 per person. In particular this hotel should not be serving such tasteless chocolate to clients who are expecting high tea to mean high quality. The Windsor in Melbourne is my tip for best high tea in Australia.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Joandy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

First time i've stayed in a hotel in Sydney (for a late running work function), since I live in the greater Sydney Metro area.

I used the "whole hog" for this one from a Terrace suite and valet parking.

Must admit it was flawless end to end. The terrace rooms are certainly excellent and very well maintained. Room service quick.

Wireless Internet is a bit slow for a paid service, they need to improve this. I got better from 4G.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chumblybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Chumblybum
Im so delighted you had the opportunity to experience a stay in one of our Luxurious Suites at the Sheraton on the Park and hopefully, the opportunity will represent itself again for yet another stay!
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I'm two days into a four day stay and the staff here haven't missed a beat. Everyone from the concierge to the bartenders have gone out of their way to make it an enjoyable stay. This will be the only hotel I stay at in Sydney from now on.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TezzaTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear TezzaTC
Thank you for such a nice review and for your kind feedback. Im so delighted you are enjoying your time with us and we hope to continue to be of continued service to you in the near future.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
201 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The Sheraton on the Park is an excellent hotel with a prime location across the street from Hyde Park and a half block from Market Street for shopping and St. James light rail station for transportation. While in Sydney for a convention, we stayed five nights at the Sheraton in the lowest priced room, which faced high-rise office buildings. The room was large and well-appointed with a bedroom, a bath and a walk-in closet. While the quality of the bedroom and furnishings was high-grade, the bath was almost equal in size and featured both a bathtub and shower. While the rooms are modern in character, the lobby reflects the age when the hotel was build and is rather small and limited in facilities. Service is generally very good, but if a group arrives, lines can be long, Wifi is good but requires a daily or package fee. The St. James rail station goes directly to and from the international airport, if your luggage is limited, and for dining and recreation, the line goes directly to the Rocks. At times, traffic is very heavy and taxis can be expensive; credit cards seem to be the preferred method of payment. If able to secure a room at a moderate rate, definitely, the Sheraton should be considered when visiting Sydney.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear jfoote
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park for your trip to Sydney and for taking the time to provide such a thorough review of your stay. Im delighted you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate your kind words. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back when your travels return you to our shores.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
155 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Good location for shopping and access to Hyde Park and Darling Harbour. Street noise is a bit of a problem on the weekend but the rooms were well appointed and of a good size with plenty of storage. Service was consistent and friendly. Good business and family hotel alike with good conference facilities.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GourmandAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear GourmandAus
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your wonderful feedback. Positioned in central CBD with such a great location we are faced with the challenges of city noise however we thank you for your feedback and hope to be of service to you in the near future.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#32 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,068 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#36 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,239 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,143 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Property: Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#15 Family Hotel in Sydney
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Travelbag, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing