We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My second stay and I'm sorry to say I'm still not a fan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Ranked #30 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“My second stay and I'm sorry to say I'm still not a fan”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Summary: A hotel in a central location that is let down by patchy service, dated facilities and a poor restaurant

Pros: Location, location and large rooms

Cons: The (only) restaurant, dated in-room facilities, can be noisy

I arrived around 7:30pm at the hotel to find the only restaurant was serving either an AUD85 buffet or a la carte which resembled a kids menu or pub food; all pizzas, burgers and the like. Not really the light meal I was hoping for. (I went next door to a lovely wine bar instead.)

I have stayed at this hotel before, nearly 3 years ago to the day and at that time I was similarly underwhelmed (also giving three stars).

This was a work function and we were situate in the hotel for three days. The saving grace (given I am Starwood Gold Member) was the Lounge on the top floor. I also got free internet usage; my colleagues had to pay.

This hotel is in such a lovely part of town, so central, I really want to like it. But there is very little (absent the location) to endear it to me. Charging for freshly brewed coffee in the morning really is a gripe - I understand the time it takes but at least provide decent coffee as an alternative: we are well past the days where the coffee being served up is acceptable.

The food was average and the service at the restaurant was hurried, brusque (not brisk) and sometimes simply disappointing.

I am clearly spoilt living and travelling in Asia, and this hotel reminds me how superior the experience usually is in HK, Singapore, Bangkok or Tokyo.

This hotel really must try harder.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobeconfirmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Tobeconfirmed,
Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. It does surprise me to read your review as Sheraton on the Park has won so many awards including most recently the Metropolitan Brassiere/Café of the Year at the 2014 Tourism Accommodation Australia Awards for Excellence and the Starwood Asia Pacific Hotel Of The Year 2013 however I appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back should you wish to return to the Sheraton on the Park.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,102
    1,077
    288
    139
    136
See reviews for
533
1,303
301
1,118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,031)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

One thing about Sydney CBD is that their transit is well done, they have slow trains, but it covers majority of the city, and their recent implementation of the Opal card (RFID, tap on and off) makes things much better.

For those who don’t know, Sydney trains run on double deckers with significant amount of seating space. In comparison to the MTR (Hong Kong), which has a lot of standing space. It is a huge difference. The Sheraton on the Park is conveniently placed near the St. James station, about a 3 minute walk.

A lot of people have mentioned that this particular Starwood property has the big bang for the buck when compared to other properties in Sydney. I agree, paying only 800 AUD for 3 nights. The Four Seasons and Shangri-La here seem to be needing renovation, and service seem to be lacking when compared to Four Seasons and Shangri-La standards.

I’ve received no upgrades upon check-in, however, I was allowed to check-in at 9AM instead of the standard 3PM to freshen up. That is a huge plus and I would have cared for that more than the upgrade itself. Thank you Sheraton on the Park Sydney!

The room was huge, well equipped, and up to Sheraton standards. The bell boy brought up my luggage as soon as he saw me coming up the stairs.

For those who love shopping, it is a less than 5 minute walk from the hotel to Westfield Sydney.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sudosandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear sudosandwich,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park on your trip Down Under. Sounds like you got a great deal for a 3 nights stay with us and the added bonus of an early check in. I'm pleased you enjoyed your guest room and that our associates provided the great service we are known to deliver here at the Sheraton on the Park.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I'm from the US but I have had the pleasure of going to Australia several times. You're such a wonderful country in Sydney such a beautiful and interesting city city. This hotel is first grade first class right across the street from Hyde Park close and convenient to everything you could want to do in Sydney. The beds are so comfortable you will never want to leave them the room decor is very nice and the hotel staff service is first rate . This is where we were quest to stay each time we go back to Sydney

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear mike b,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park and for your very kind words. Sydney is certainly a very popular destination for our American travellers so im delighted our City swept you off your feet and we hope to welcome you back Down Under in the near future!
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had a day delegate for half a day this week and to say that it was a seamless pleasurable experience would be an absolute lie.

When we arrived for breakfast, there was a table set aside for our group but we were then moved abruptly and told that the table was booked for someone else. Then we were sat at a table where someone else was sitting and she was told to move and because there weren't enough tables, the waiter then told the other guest to move so he could move the table together to make up one table for us.

The table was then missing cutlery etc and the lady that was moved just left (she was fuming).

The food was less than the standard that we expected and although the waitress came and delivered coffee orders, they did take forever and the tea cups that were provided weren't clean.

Finally, with all the drama in moving us and two other customers, the table that was there wasn't being used by another group so we're all curious as to why such a fuss was made for what ?

Won't be back.

Room Tip: Don't book a day delegate at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Adam L,
Please accept my sincere apologies for the less than perfect experience during breakfast service of which I have forwarded your feedback to our Management Team for review and improvement. I appreciate you letting us know and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back should you wish to return to the Sheraton on the Park.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welling
Level Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as the Expedia offer was really good a few months back when we booked. On arrival it's stunning but scratch beneath the surface and it's just a money making venture at every turn ...
The room was huge, bed amazing (now plan to buy a hybrid mattress for home it was so good) and bathroom luxurious. However if you fancy dipping into the minibar take a mortgage offer first ... As for internet access ... More why-Fi than wi-Fi!!! First if you want access in your room you have to pay ridiculous high charges ($10 an hour!) that even broadband providers could not justify!!! If you want access in the lobby you have to queue at reception to get a code that runs out an hour after you log on regardless of if you are online for a minute or 2!!! I even met the head of IT one morning at reception and he suggested the codes and unhelpful access system was all to do with security !!! Not buying that personally.
Beyond expecting guests to pay $6 for a bag of crisps and $9 for a bottle of water in your room we didn't venture into the breakfast room for $42 brekkie but instead chose to eat in some amazing places in Sydney.
Our view was city side and ok ... The shutters were a bit damaged in our room and in case your in 1508 the taps on the bath are labelled the wrong way round so there is hot water if you choose the cold tap !!! Just a maintenance joke we presumed ... All in all great location if you grab a cheap deal but definitely not living up to its stars otherwise.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank suenhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear suenhelen
Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment caused with the several issues you had outlined during your stay at the Sheraton on the Park. All our prices are in line with all other 5 Star Hotels in Sydney CBD, as we endeavour to ensure we not only match but exceed the offerings of our competitors. Please note WIFI is at a charge of $5 an hour or $20 a day and complimentary WIFI codes are available from our Concierge desk, not only the Front Desk. I appreciate you informing us of the maintenance issues in your guest room, of which have now been rectified and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

2 night stay, hotel chosen for location, close to State Theatre. Staff exceptional, calm, quietly attentive, consistent from driveway, check in, greeting in lift, bar & wait staff. Seafood Buffett was extensive, refreshed frequently & fresh. Restaurant was full, some families for Christmas in July, short queues. Room very clean, toiletries mandarin & mint nice touch, walk in shower, separate full size tub, walk in dressing room & bathrobes, complimentary upgrade to corner suite. Block out screens for noise & light reduction could be operated from bedside table but not needed, room was quiet and we did not hear other guests in corridors. Well worth the money, great location, exceptional staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth68A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Ruth68A
Sounds like you had a great stay at the Sheraton on the Park and I’m so delighted you left with such great memories of which we hope to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Paper walls!!! I could hear all what were the neighbours in the adjacent room were doing. Taking showers at 4am....


The rooms are big and ok but the staff is not very helpful. Long waiting lines. Slow service.

Therefore I wouldn't recommend it further.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank N F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear N F
Please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointing stay and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and make up for this less than perfect experience.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#31 of 178 in Sydney
3,150 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 178 in Sydney
1,661 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#36 of 178 in Sydney
4,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 178 in Sydney
1,912 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Property: Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#15 Family Hotel in Sydney
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing