We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, classic decor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Ranked #33 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Convenient location, classic decor”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Sheraton on the Park is one of my favourite places to stay in Sydney. It is centrally located, with the Pitt St Mall, David Jones and Westfield Sydney virtually across the road. The St James train station is across the street making it easy for those wanting to use the train for connection to or from the airport.

The decor, from the lobby to the rooms, is classical in style with dark colours such as black marble. Even the standard rooms are slightly larger than similar ones at the Westin, with a small chaise lounge. The bathrooms are large with separate showers and bath tub.

The breakfast buffet is expensive but extensive with the usual Western choices but also a reasonable range of Asian dishes. For those with access, the Club Lounge serves substantial evening snacks and a reasonable breakfast with many hot items. Unless you have Starwood status, in-room internet costs money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonTravelator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Jon Travelator,
Thank you for your kind words and for naming us your favourite place to stay in Sydney. Our location is certainly why so many guests stay with us and ofcourse the size of our rooms are the largest you will find in Sydney CBD Hotels!
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,124
    1,082
    290
    140
    136
See reviews for
536
1,314
303
1,129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,040)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Arriving at the hotel, you know right away you are going to receive great service throughout your stay. The greeting at the front door starts as the week continued...polite, timely and anticipating your needs.
The location is very handy to the city, to circular quay, and to the freeways. Also nearby to some lovely parks.
The hotel rooms are fabulous, and spacious, with a lounge area, a large comfortable king size bed, and a very large bathroom, and walk-in wardrobe. However, if I find any faults, the wardrobe did not have full length hanging for dresses, as the suitcase rack and safe were directly under this.
The restaurant and bar are (as expected) extremely pricey - even for a five-star hotel. A simple meal for two, including fish and chips, and a caesar salad with a couple of drinks came to $165! They also need to refine the breakfast arrangements at the restaurant...the queue each morning was ridiculously long, as they expected each guest to sign in with a paper form system...surely a hotel of this calibre can find a better way?
The conference facilities were okay...although the rooms in the basement feel a bit like a dungeon. And we could hear everything that was happening in the room next door.
Checking out was easy - with a fast process sorted out here.
Overall, if I had to book a follow-up conference, I would most likely look elsewhere, although the service is generally good, and the rooms and locations great, the food let's it down, and the cost is very high - I don't think it is worth the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the park, or the harbour, and check that your wardrobe can hang full length for dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Carolg67,
I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to post your review on Tripadvisor and for your constructive feedback. Rest assured, our prices are in line with all other 5 Star Sydney Hotels as we ensure we not only match but exceed the offerings of our competitors, Our apologies we did not meet your expectations and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Picked up a great deal online and stayed for a night. Roomy bedroom with massive bed and super deluxe duvet and pillows. Walk in robe. Great bathroom with powerful shower and a free paper in the morning. Very happy. Lovely cafe over road for Brekky in morning too behind st James station. If you are a coffee snob you will enjoy it. Only comments... Free wifi a bit hit and miss and TV in room felt old and clunky to use.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brannigans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Brannigans,
Im pleased to read you liked our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper King Bed and Linen - it does make for a very comfortable sleep!
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Summary: A hotel in a central location that is let down by patchy service, dated facilities and a poor restaurant

Pros: Location, location and large rooms

Cons: The (only) restaurant, dated in-room facilities, can be noisy

I arrived around 7:30pm at the hotel to find the only restaurant was serving either an AUD85 buffet or a la carte which resembled a kids menu or pub food; all pizzas, burgers and the like. Not really the light meal I was hoping for. (I went next door to a lovely wine bar instead.)

I have stayed at this hotel before, nearly 3 years ago to the day and at that time I was similarly underwhelmed (also giving three stars).

This was a work function and we were situate in the hotel for three days. The saving grace (given I am Starwood Gold Member) was the Lounge on the top floor. I also got free internet usage; my colleagues had to pay.

This hotel is in such a lovely part of town, so central, I really want to like it. But there is very little (absent the location) to endear it to me. Charging for freshly brewed coffee in the morning really is a gripe - I understand the time it takes but at least provide decent coffee as an alternative: we are well past the days where the coffee being served up is acceptable.

The food was average and the service at the restaurant was hurried, brusque (not brisk) and sometimes simply disappointing.

I am clearly spoilt living and travelling in Asia, and this hotel reminds me how superior the experience usually is in HK, Singapore, Bangkok or Tokyo.

This hotel really must try harder.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobeconfirmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Tobeconfirmed,
Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. It does surprise me to read your review as Sheraton on the Park has won so many awards including most recently the Metropolitan Brassiere/Café of the Year at the 2014 Tourism Accommodation Australia Awards for Excellence and the Starwood Asia Pacific Hotel Of The Year 2013 however I appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back should you wish to return to the Sheraton on the Park.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

One thing about Sydney CBD is that their transit is well done, they have slow trains, but it covers majority of the city, and their recent implementation of the Opal card (RFID, tap on and off) makes things much better.

For those who don’t know, Sydney trains run on double deckers with significant amount of seating space. In comparison to the MTR (Hong Kong), which has a lot of standing space. It is a huge difference. The Sheraton on the Park is conveniently placed near the St. James station, about a 3 minute walk.

A lot of people have mentioned that this particular Starwood property has the big bang for the buck when compared to other properties in Sydney. I agree, paying only 800 AUD for 3 nights. The Four Seasons and Shangri-La here seem to be needing renovation, and service seem to be lacking when compared to Four Seasons and Shangri-La standards.

I’ve received no upgrades upon check-in, however, I was allowed to check-in at 9AM instead of the standard 3PM to freshen up. That is a huge plus and I would have cared for that more than the upgrade itself. Thank you Sheraton on the Park Sydney!

The room was huge, well equipped, and up to Sheraton standards. The bell boy brought up my luggage as soon as he saw me coming up the stairs.

For those who love shopping, it is a less than 5 minute walk from the hotel to Westfield Sydney.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sudosandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear sudosandwich,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park on your trip Down Under. Sounds like you got a great deal for a 3 nights stay with us and the added bonus of an early check in. I'm pleased you enjoyed your guest room and that our associates provided the great service we are known to deliver here at the Sheraton on the Park.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I'm from the US but I have had the pleasure of going to Australia several times. You're such a wonderful country in Sydney such a beautiful and interesting city city. This hotel is first grade first class right across the street from Hyde Park close and convenient to everything you could want to do in Sydney. The beds are so comfortable you will never want to leave them the room decor is very nice and the hotel staff service is first rate . This is where we were quest to stay each time we go back to Sydney

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear mike b,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton on the Park and for your very kind words. Sydney is certainly a very popular destination for our American travellers so im delighted our City swept you off your feet and we hope to welcome you back Down Under in the near future!
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had a day delegate for half a day this week and to say that it was a seamless pleasurable experience would be an absolute lie.

When we arrived for breakfast, there was a table set aside for our group but we were then moved abruptly and told that the table was booked for someone else. Then we were sat at a table where someone else was sitting and she was told to move and because there weren't enough tables, the waiter then told the other guest to move so he could move the table together to make up one table for us.

The table was then missing cutlery etc and the lady that was moved just left (she was fuming).

The food was less than the standard that we expected and although the waitress came and delivered coffee orders, they did take forever and the tea cups that were provided weren't clean.

Finally, with all the drama in moving us and two other customers, the table that was there wasn't being used by another group so we're all curious as to why such a fuss was made for what ?

Won't be back.

Room Tip: Don't book a day delegate at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Adam L,
Please accept my sincere apologies for the less than perfect experience during breakfast service of which I have forwarded your feedback to our Management Team for review and improvement. I appreciate you letting us know and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back should you wish to return to the Sheraton on the Park.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#34 of 179 in Sydney
3,171 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 179 in Sydney
1,745 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#36 of 179 in Sydney
4,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 179 in Sydney
1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Property: Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#15 Family Hotel in Sydney
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing