We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most disappointing spa experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Ranked #32 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most disappointing spa experience!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Last week i took a senior colleague for a spa afternoon as a thank you for her hard work. I usually go to The Langham for these afternoons but thought i'd try the Sheraton as The Langham was being renovated. From the outset it was such a disappointment. We arrived to be told that our appointments were 2.30pm even though i had booked for 2.45pm. This meant we didn't have much time to use the pool etc beforehand so we started out feeling rushed, just before 2.30 we were told that I had indeed gotten the time right and we had more time, after we had already rushed around. The changing room experience left me astounded that I was expected to get undressed alongside my colleague who is in her 50's. I have no doubt that she felt uncomfortable too so i went into a toilet cubicle and struggled with my clothes and swimming costume. I would imagine that a changing cubicle would be pretty basic in a spa, it felt more like a public gym.The pool was very nice, but the spa just wouldn't work and looked like it should be in a council swimming pool and not a 4* hotel. Very frustrating just sitting in a still warm pool! When the treatments started i had no complaints about my therapist, although quite young she was very nice and did her best to make sure it was an enjoyable experience. The music being piped loudly through was up tempo classical concertos with quite aggressive beats. Not quite relaxation music. I asked my therapist if she could change the music and she told me that the best she could do was turn it down slightly as it was controlled centrally. For the first 30 minutes at least i couldn't zone out from the awful beat of the music which was only made worse by drilling and slamming doors to the changing room. All in all i paid several hundreds of dollars for a spa afternoon for 2 people which turned out to be as much stress as relaxation. Incidentally i am still waiting for my credit card receipt to be emailed as promised because the receipt wouldn't print... Raise you standards Sheraton!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samos73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Samos73
I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent Spa Experience in the Sheraton on the Park. Rest assured I have taken your feedback on board and discussed your concerns with our Management Team for review and improvement via our ongoing Quality Control Program and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and reinstall your confidence in our Product, Brand and Service.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,124
    1,084
    291
    140
    136
See reviews for
536
1,314
303
1,132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,042)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Forr sutch a lovely looking hotel this place needs to get with the times.We had a lovely room and the pool area was great but that's where it ends we paid for the lounge and were told it was full so we couldn't get in until I complained the evening buttet was very overpriced for the quality they provide and we got overcharged on leaving.Sydney has some great hotels but unfortunally this is not one of them for service

Room Tip: Make sure you get a park side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chef999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear chef999
Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointing feedback you have provided regarding your recent stay with us. Our Sheraton Club Lounge is indeed a very popular choice for our guests however our apologies for the disappointment and inconvenience this had caused.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have just checked into a Suite for 5 nights. Prior to arrival we were emailed by the hotel asking us if we wished to pay for an upgraded suite, having an upgrade certificate which was valid for the 5 nights we chose to use the voucher for the upgrade.
Upon checking in we were told by a rather indignant person at reception that they could accommodate the 4 of the 5 nights but unfortunately the category of upgrade was fully booked for 1 of the nights.
This is in fact a deliberate lie as the room category is available online to be purchased for all 5 nights.
Not only was he lying about the room availability but he also refused to upgrade us for any of the nights, as we would have been happy to move rooms to accommodate the sold out room.
In future we will stay at a hotel that values its customers with honesty and integrity .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Garry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Garry E
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor and from the very outset, would like to apologise for the disappointment and inconvenience caused. Please note your upgrade voucher is subject to availability as per the terms and conditions stated on the voucher. Prior to your arrival there was availability however when you had arrived at the hotel the same availability was not accessible. Additionally, the room category that you had seen on line was not the same room category you were inquiring about.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was a quick overnight stay. Great position, close to all amenities we needed. Though they did not have the room we had paid for - park view- the front desk gave us access to the lounge upstairs. We enjoyed this relaxing and pleasant place. Room had good space and well appointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Greg F
I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to post your review and for your kind feedback.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend city retreat and had a lovely time. We upgraded to a park view room and are so glad that we did. The location is great near shops and walking in you feel the grandeur of a big hotel and walking out you feel like you are in New York - opposite the park and in the centre of the city.

The room was lovely. The bathroom huge and a walk in robe. Everything was great. We wish we had the chance to use the pool on the roof - the view from the balcony at the pool was amazing.

I don't really have anything negative to say... Great loation for business or pleasure - i would recommend...

Room Tip: Ask for a late checkout - you get an extra hour for free... Also definitely worth upgrading to a par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddyCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear EddyCS,
I'm delighted to note you had such a pleasant weekend away with us here at the Sheraton on the Park and that you enjoyed all our offerings. Hopefully on your return you can utilize our Rooftop Pool with the most amazing views of Sydney Harbour and Hyde Park.!
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were initially put into a city side room which was a shoe box looking over a rusty roof and concrete walls at the very end of a corridor. I tried closing the shutters to block out the view only to discover they didn't close properly which is when I decided a change in rooms was necessary. I went to reception and spoke with the wonderful staff about an upgrade. I could tell by the look on their faces that this particular room was a known problem. For $30AUD per night we were moved to a park side room of substantial proportions. Double the size of the first room, full of light, beautiful views and drapes that blacked out the night lights. Four stars for the park side room and the fantastic staff. Make sure you book a park side room - it is more than worth it! The buffet breakfast is also outstanding.

Room Tip: Park side rooms are the way to go and make sure to ask not to be at the end of the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nixsta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Nixsta1,
My apologies for the inconvenience and disappointment encountered on arrival to the hotel however I am pleased we located an alternate room that you were more comfortable with.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of our holiday and one at the end. The first night was booked as a late arrival – i.e. so we could use the room immediately we arrived in Sydney at 6am, instead of having to wait until late in the day to have somewhere to rest.

On arrival, it took about 40 minutes to check in – because they had decided that despite the late check in notice we were no shows – and it seemed clear they had a problem finding a room to put us in. Finally we were assigned a room which had a view of a back alley, despite our having paid for a park view. After we had rested we complained and were moved [a bottle of wine was given as compensation].

The next day we checked our paperwork and asked at the front desk because we were supposed to have been given a package containing the information we would need for the self-drive part of opur trip. The front desk denied all knowledge, so as there were a couple more days we thought we would wait till the next day – but still no package, so we phoned the tour company who said they had delivered the package to the hotel for us to collect on arrival. They contacted the front desk and eventually, we received a phone call saying a rucksack full of papers was there for us – and it was duly delivered to our room.

As stated above, we actually stayed at the Sheraton twice – 4 nights at the beginning of our holiday and one at the end. The poor organisation struck again: Despite our room and breakfast being prepaid, they tried to charge us again for the room and food. Then when they were told everything was prepaid, thy removed the room charge and tried to charge for breakfast. Only after we complained again did they correct their error.

So, fairly shambolic organisation by the Sheraton, but apart from that, the beds were comfortable, breakfasts were good and the rooms were quiet. Internet was the most expensive of all of the places we stayed – and also the slowest. So, the wifi was a bit of a rip off.

Room Tip: Make sure they give you what you have booked and complain when you are given anroom of inferior qual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UMPath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard L, Manager at Sheraton on the Park, Sydney, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear UMPath,
Please accept my sincere apologies for the several service shortfalls you had encountered on your stays at the Sheraton on the Park. This is certainly not the level of service we strive to achieve and rest assured I have shared your feedback with the relevant department heads to ensure this does not reoccur in the future.
Warm regards
Bernhard Langer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#34 of 179 in Sydney
3,173 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 179 in Sydney
1,758 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#36 of 179 in Sydney
4,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 179 in Sydney
1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Property: Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#15 Family Hotel in Sydney
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing