We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, great for lone travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Ranked #30 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great for lone travellers”
Reviewed 23 May 2009

This was a kind of solo holiday with a bit of work thrown in. I needed to be central, and usually prefer to stay in smaller/boutique hotels. But I did a lot of digging around and decided I needed a hotel that was pretty central to everything, so I wouldnt be trekking around in less reputable parts of town, or more suburban areas, alone at night, etc. Always plenty of people around, taxis etc but without being stuck in some Business District.
This met my expectations - it is opposite the lovely leafy Hyde Park; across the park is the Art Gallery and then further along the gardens open out onto the coastline. I jogged every morning through the park, up to Lady Macquarie's Chair, along the seawall of the Botanic Gardens, up to the Opera House, around it and back through the Gardens themselves. What a way to start the day!
On the day it rained, I used the very nice hotel gym on the 22nd floor, where you can stand on the balcony and take in the view while you have your well-earned post-workout drink...
I arrived early in the mornign and the staff were great, giving me access to the health suite to have a shower, etc and stored my bags for me. When I returned much later that afternoon my bags were in my room. The room was great- exactly as you would expect from a large reputable 'chain' hotel in this part of the world. I travel a lot in Asia and this was on a par with a decent similar hotel in HKG or SIN. Large room with all the usuals - nice llarge comfy bed, desk, etc. Decent walk-in wardrobe. Lovely big bathroom with separate walk-in shower and lots of space. Great space to call home for 6 days. I got a fab deal - would never have stayed there otherwise. 3 nights for price of 2. So my 6 night stay came in really reasonable. I didnt eat in the hotel - I found Sydney to offer a fantastic, diverse selection of great food places and very inexpensive to eat out. Drinks in the hotel bar were quite expensive, but sure, arent they all?
Bambini Wine bar right next to the hotel - turn riight as you leave the foyer - is a great little place to hang out if you want to get out of the hotel but you dont want to venture too far. Lovely selectoin of wine and great vibe. Not sure it was at all cheaper than the hotel, but the environment/surroundings very nice indeed!
Similarly, I would skip out the back door from the lobby to get my coffee and muffin the morning and bring it back to do my emails. Loads of small independent coffee shops at the base of the tower blocks in the street behind.
Like all the best hotels, the wifi connection in the main lobby and bar areas of the hotel was free, so I was variously joined of an evening by fellow travellers who've also figured out that a short trip in the lift with their laptop can save them a small fortune. Why do hotels continue to insist on charging for in-room wifi?!
Staff at the concierge, etc were also very helpful and friendly.
I didnt really use any other facilities - although, word of warning - a friend from out of town left their car parked in the hotel garage overnight - from about 11pm til about 8am and they tired to charge him about $100. He declined to do so, obviously! Best to query it....
Sydney itself - what can i say? As a single travelling female, I felt pretty safe most of the time, except in the Kings Cross area, etc where I felt a little nervous when alone, but fine when with colleagues. Rest of the time - down near the harbour and wandering around the various areas of town, I felt very comfortable. I loved The Rocks. Dont forget the fab little markets that are on around town (great locations for purchasing unqiue momentoes) are only there on sat and sun - so plan your time accordingly!
And get on some ferries and get out further afield - forget the touristy ones. Im sure they're great, but I used the network of 'commuter' ferries to get around and visit Manly etc. Great way to see the city.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S_G.UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,053
    1,053
    281
    132
    134
See reviews for
514
1,284
294
1,089
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,007)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

Beautiful hotel in central location. Old school hospitality.
Breakfast is fabulous buffet so try and get a rate that includes full breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

Booked a special for Sydney half marathon -arrived early and were upgraded to park view instead of city, also offered late check out time of our choice. Room large spacious and roll away bed came later for son. Great views over park and from the 22nd floor leisure centre. Great location for city shopping, Hyde Part, Art Gallery etc. 15mins to Quay. Beds good, bathroom a little tired and sliding doors are past used by date. Still a great hotel in the centre of town. Room service expensive - duck across the road to David Jones food hall and feast on your desires! Couldn't fault any staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruceoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2009

I stayed here last month for a conference for four nights. I'm a SPG member so I had a great room on the 17th floor, which was very spacious and facing the park. My sister and I LOVED the comfortable beds, and they helped us get over jetlag. The room and bathroom were clean. The digital safe in the closet didn't work when we got there, but the hotel replaced it immediately when it couldn't be fixed, and we used it throughout our stay. There's high speed internet for a fee, but bring your own wire. My one gripe about the room was the bathroom doors. They slide together to shut, but they don't close completely--leaving a half inch open gap. There's a business center (a few computers with a b/w printer), but I needed some presentations printed in color ASAP. I talked to Cameron (manager on duty) and he printed them for me for a fee. Staffs were nice to us and answered all my questions. The hotel is in a great location and most attractions are walking distance. We walked to Darling Harbour in 10-15 minutes, and the Sydney Opera House wasn't too far either.

Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank cooknsew105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2009

It was my first time to Sydney, and this hotel was great. It was an easy walk to some of the tourist sites, and I really enjoyed jogging in the park in the morning. I'd stay here again next time I'm in Sydney.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank born4hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2009

Stayed at the Sheraton on the Park for a long weekend away without the kids. This was the perfect hotel for us with beautiful, spacious, quiet and luxurious rooms in a superb location in the heart of Sydney. Walk to Darling Harbour or Circular Quay, beautiful Hyde Park across the road and shopping just around the corner. We got a deal off their own website ( stay 3/ pay 2 ) so all up this hotel was hard to fault. Would definitely use again!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fourkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth, australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

Terrific location and room and would stay here again when I go to Sydney, but they need to work on the service a bit, it wasn't what I would have expected from a Sheraton. The hotel is opposite Hyde Park and I walked all over the place, it is wonderfully central. My room was lovely and the bathroom was huge. I initially scoffed at the Sheraton blurb about their special 'sweetsleeper bed' but then was smitten with the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The electric blinds were also great. On the downside the service was not great. I got sent away by a surly reception staffer when I arrived as the room wasn't ready . After a couple of hours I got into my room but then my bags had vanished and there was no-one answering the reception or service desk phones for a considerable time. After I had got through I had to ring back again as my bags still didn't arrive. It wasn't really anything major but there is just a lack of attention to service. That being said, I loved the room and location and the price was really reasonable so would defintely go back. Avoid room service too - they put a delivery charge on top of the already high prices - $15 all up for a $1 yoghurt is a bit ridiculous

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HerMadjesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#32 of 174 in Sydney
3,066 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 174 in Sydney
1,566 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#35 of 174 in Sydney
4,236 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4,142 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton on the Park, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton on the Park, Sydney

Property: Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Address: 161 Elizabeth Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#15 Family Hotel in Sydney
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton on the Park, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm Australian welcome at the five-star Sheraton on the Park. Located directly opposite Hyde Park, the tree-lined oasis in the heart of Sydney, our hotel is a great destination to connect with friends, family, and colleagues. From the moment you walk through our grand entrance, you will enjoy all that our Sydney hotel has to offer. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton on the Park, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton On The Park, Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Hotel Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing