We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“everything was terrific”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Ranked #14 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, Ca
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“everything was terrific”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We had a very pleasant stay. The location, service and comfort of the hotel was outstanding. I even left my bag in the storage, only to discover this when I got out of the taxi at Sydney airport. The front desk person managed to find the bag and put it in a taxi which I met at the airport- in time for my flight. Truly exceptional service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lts2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Its2828,

Thank you so much for your kind words and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and the truly exceptional service standards from our staff.

Being such a boutique property in the heart of Sydney, our staff are able to ensure that the service that guests expect is met before, during and after their stay. Our team work very closely with all departments to ensure we are taking care of our guests.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Angela King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,581
    631
    159
    46
    31
See reviews for
369
1,322
134
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Our week long stay in Sydney was made a real pleasure mainly because of the excellent standard of this hotel and it's ideal location. The rooms and public spaces are elegant and more like an English country house than a city hotel. The bedrooms are comfortable and spacious as is the well equipped bathroom. The staff are consistently charming and helpful. It is located a minute or two from the ferry terminals, the bus station and a train station and it has the harbour with Sydney Harbour Bridge and the Opera House also very close by. Across the road are the Botanical Gardens, an oasis of peace and quiet with lovely views across the harbour.

If I ever return to Sydney I would be delighted to stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Hardygeranium,

Thank you so much for your kind words and I am glad that you enjoyed your week long stay with us.

The Hotel does have a warm and welcoming home away from home feel which we are very proud of, this is great for our guests who join us for many nights.
With so many events that feature in Sydney, including Opera on Sydney Harbour in March and April 2014, our location is perfect. Easy walking distance to public transport and great driving access as well.

We do hope to see you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Angela King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

This is a great small hotel that is in the perfect location to explore Sydney offering beautiful accommodation with friendly and professional service of the standard rarely experienced today. I have used this Hotel for both conference and private stays and irrespective of the purpose of the visit staff always go out of their way to ensure our stay is enjoyable. My #1 choice when staying in Sydney!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrtiggs2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Miss Bollie,

Thank you so much for your kind words and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The Hotel has wonderful Conference facilities which are perfect for small meetings, trainings and even special events and celebrations. We have many packages that we can offer for our guests and Yulia or Leeann are both happy to taylor packages to suit our guests needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future whether it is for a Conference or Personal stay.

Kind regards
Angela King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We descended on the Sir Stamford for Christmas, having had our original plans go wrong on our Australian tour and the Manager and her staff were stunning. The hotel was decked out in its Christmas glory and they were rushed off their feet with guests yet they never made us feel as if we were bothering them. Sadly we couldn't have Christmas Day lunch there (fully booked) but all the food we did have was great.
We had a lovely room, high up over looking the park and with a small balcony from which we could see straight down to the Opera House.
Super-central yet quiet, what's not to love?

Room Tip: Get up as high as you can - the views are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Fiona F,

Thank you so much for your kind words and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is not often that I am referred to as stunning - you have me blushing.

Christmas and New Year are a very busy time of year for us and one that we enjoy with our guests. I am sorry that you were unable to join us for Christmas Day lunch. I loved your use of the wording Super central yet quiet as this a perfect summation of our boutique property.

I hope the remainder of your trip was a success and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Angela King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

great hotel at circular quay requested room with a view as it was my wife's birthday on boxing day & we had a great room with views of the harbour bridge and the opera house.Also the manager sent up a complimentary bottle of champagne a nice touch! I would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: pay for a superior room at a higher level for the view and they are bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ukgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear ukgriff,

Thank you so much for your kind words and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Weekends aways for celebrations are very memorable. We offer some wondeful packages for our guests to enjoy. Celebration packages including high tea, personalised bathrobes and slippers as well as a late check out. For those romantics we also have our Romance and Seduction package with candles, champagne and romantic music as you enter the room.

Next time you join us, please feel free to ask our reservations team about our packages.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Angela King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tea Gardens
Level Contributor
157 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

One of the smaller Hotels in Sydney Central - it is elegant with a 'good feel': friendly, helpful
staff; good sized and well appointed rooms. It is well located should you want a property close to Circular Quay or the Opera House and even the Rocks area. We were on the 4th floor overlooking Macquarie St and found our room to be very quiet - even on the Friday/Saturday nights. Have no hesitation in recommending.

Room Tip: Spoil yourself and partake of the High Tea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyallTeaGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 4 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for yourfeedback regarding your recent stay at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We have taken all feedback on board. This helps us improve our service.

We do look forward to having you back at Sir Stamford.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We recently stayed at the Sir Stamford for four nights following a cruise from New Zealand to Australia. This hotel certainly lived up to all the good reviews we had read before booking. It is in a very central location and if we had travelled lighter and were younger we probably could have walked from the cruise terminal as it was pretty close. We loved being near the Wharf and enjoyed an excellent fish supper one night sitting outside of one of the many restaurants. We also walked to the Opera House and took a tour which was excellent. Our room was a de luxe one bedroom which was lovely very roomy with a huge bathroom in marble. The heated pool although small was lovely to relax at the end of sightseeing. It was in a very nice terrace with comfortable sun beds and there were always plenty of towels in the gym. We didn't use the gym but it seemed very well equipped. The reception staff I dealt with Danielle and Elaine were very pleasant and helpful and the concierge a young French guy I'm afraid I didn't get his name was especially helpful in trying to book a meal for us in the revolving restaurant of the Tower. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel for us it seemed a little pricey especially as we don't eat much at that time but we did find a cafe just down the road to the right which was excellent and very reasonable. We did have the evening meal in the hotel restaurant on our last night and it was exceptionally good the food was superb and the waitresses lovely, efficient and very friendly. In the reception area wi if was free for half a hour a day but you could also use the business centre which had two computers free of charge. This hotel was an excellent place for us to stay on our first visit to Sydney as it wasn't too far from the places of interests. We really enjoyed the meal at the top of the Tower. The Sea Life centre was great and the trip back to the Wharf on the Ferry was lovely under the Sydney Harbour Bridge and passed the amazing Opera House. We had a lovely day at Manley which is definitely worth a trip on the ferry if you have the time.

Room Tip: Better on a high floor if like us you were facing the Botanic Gardens as the road can be a little no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 4 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for yourfeedback regarding your recent stay at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We have taken all feedback on board. This helps us improve our service.

We do look forward to having you back at Sir Stamford.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,146 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,094 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Property: Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelbag, Hotelopia, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing