We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Nearby Hotels
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Sydney(Sydney)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
QT Sydney(Sydney)
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney(Sydney)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$295
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,355)
Filter reviews
3,355 results
Traveller rating
2,204
825
213
66
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,204
825
213
66
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbotanical gardensopera housecircular quayjuliet balconygreat locationmacquarie streethigh teamarble bathroombeautiful hotelsmall balconyrooms are spaciousconcierge stafflovely roomfew minutes walkboutique hoteltrain stationan easy walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,379 - 2,384 of 3,355 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Only a short walk from the train station we arrived for our overnight stay on Tuesday 15th April. We checked in and headed up to our room only to find we had been allocated a twin room rather than a double. The girl on reception advised that it was the only room available unless we wanted to pay extra to upgrade - NOT HAPPY. At this point the duty manager took over and very quickly found an available room, our luggage was transferred to the new room. A tip for future, we had booked via a 3rd party which means we get what room is available rather than what we requested, from now on we will either book direct or phone ahead to confirm the booking. The staff at the Sir Stamford were wonderful and the room was gorgeous, bed very comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbaCountryVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear DebbaCountryVictoria,

Thank you for your review after your recent stay at the Sir Stamford.

It is wonderful to hear that our staff were able to assist you promptly to ensure your stay was enjoyable.

Being a boutique property we encourage our guests to book direct with the Hotel to ensure that we are able to taylor your booking specifically to your needs. Our staff will ensure that all details are noted in your reservation.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Angela King
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel is a really great base for Sydney. It's five minutes from Circular Quay, where you can get on a ferry to Manly or anywhere else in the inner harbour; a train to/from Sydney airport; or a bus to Bondi. It's also across the road from the Botanic Gardens which are lovely and peaceful, with the Opera House at the end of the street. You really are in the middle of it all.

The hotel is boutique like and the service reflects this - the staff work very hard to make sure you feel looked after. They checked us in early and quickly, greeted us each time we left or came back and I got a sense that they genuinely cared that you had a great stay.

In terms of the hotel itself, the public areas are very well appointed, with a wonderful roaring fireplace with lots of papers behind reception and 30mins of free wifi in this area (generally unpublicised).

The room itself was very comfortable with a Juliet balcony facing the street. Despite being street side and close to a motorway, we had no issues with noise at all. In fact, we probably had the best nights' sleep here of our entire stay in Australia. It was also very clean.

It would be five stars apart from that the room was a bit tired looking and a contrast to the lavish public areas.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadatLarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear NomadatLarge,

Thank you for your recent review after you stay at the Sir Stamford.

What more can I say, your words have summarised the Hotel perfectly. From localtion through to service. Your acknowledgement of this is wonderful.

I hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Angela King
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Nice terrace suite overlooking the Circular Quay. Helpful staff, no hassle check in. Lovely marble bathroom. We would do it again in a heartbeat. Can't beat the location as the Circular Quay is a major transportation hub with access to trains, buses and every ferry just a minute away.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank VanTheMan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear VanTheMan61,

Thank you for your review after your recent stay at the Sir Stamford.

It sounds like the Hotel and the staff won you over. Our terrace suites are just wonderful rooms and they allow our guests to sit back, relax and enjoy. We encourage our guests to upgrade to these rooms where possible, however, they do sell very quickly.

We would love to see you again so be sure to review our website to find great seasonal specials and packages that are taylored for those Sydney events.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Angela King
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We spent 4 nights here prior to cruising in March and were amazed by it convenience. It is close to the Botanic Gardens, Circular Quay and the Opera House and makes an ideal base for those who don't like high rise modernity.

It is a little shabby chic but the staff are really friendly and helpful which counts for a lot to jet lagged air travellers.

There were problems with the lifts when we were there and I had the impression that this was a regular difficulty.

The real problem is the notice indicating an application for planning permission for residential development which we were advised was for part of the hotel will have on its future business model was unclear.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PETER S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear PBJCHESHIRE,

Thank you for your review after your recent stay at the Sir Stamford.

Our Hotel is old world charm and we strive to be a home away from home where we offer service to our guests that is of a standard above many others.
We are very popular with Cruise passengers both before and after their cruises and this is due to our location to Circular Quay allowing them the option to walk to or from the Ship.
With regard to the development of the Hotel, this is very much in the planning stages and no persmissions have be granted as yet. Further information can be found on the City of Sydney website.

I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Angela King
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The hotel is very conveniently located close to the Quay, ferries, Opera House, botanical gardens and the Rocks. The concierge was efficient and helpful. The reservation was easy to make and the staff did all it could to make our room available early. Our room was very comfortable, clean, well-appointed and quiet and with good views. Our only negatives - internet service was not free and we had to correct the charges, the hotel did not provide an adapter, but expected us to buy one from them for $20, and there was an added fee of 1.5% for using a credit card. Those three glitches are the reasons for 4 stars instead of 5. Breakfast was expensive, as in most hotels, but we walked down to the Quay for our breakfast

Room Tip: Tell the front desk that you want a high floor and a one-level room. Some have stairs between the main room and the bathroom.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYtraveler729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear NYtraveler729,

Thank you for your review after your recent stay at the Hotel.

I am glad that you found the Hotel comfortable and the staff offered a high level of service to you. This is something we pride ourselves on.
WIFI services in the Hotel are complimentary in the Business centre and Hotel Lobby, where we have an open fire and our guests can enjoy food and beverage services in these areas also.
Credit card surcharges are standard within the Hotels in Australia presently and our fee of 1.5% is comparable with the other Hotels within sydney CBD and the Rocks.

I hope to welcome you back in the enar future.

Kind regards
Angela King
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews