We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Touch of Class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Ranked #14 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
canberra
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 662 helpful votes
“A Touch of Class”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

From the lobby entrance and check in to the lift and room, this hotel has a distinction in Sydney that few hotels deserve. It actually feels like some thoughtful taste went into design.
The staff is good, some well trained, others older and experienced. The bar is quiet and the drinks are first rate.
Sydney has too many good restaurants to tell you to try the food here.
I give it full five stars on all fronts.
Walk most tourist attractions in and around CBD.
I really liked this hotel and wondered why I had forgotten it.
I probably let a staff member do the bookings.
I'll be back.

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms with French doors out to the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roemanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 28 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay at The Sir Stamford at Circular Quay.

We are receiving feedback on a daily basis that we are ensuring any issues are resolved and we improve at all times.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards,

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,789
    696
    175
    52
    36
See reviews for
435
1,486
147
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We spent 2 nights at Sir Stamford and our whole experience was very positive.
From the welcome staff at the reception desk, to room upgrade, beautiful view (Opera House, water and gardens), this beautifully decorated and comfortable hotel is now our firm favourite in Sydney.
We were able to leave our bags with the concierge, as we arrived before check in and found our bags in the room, plus room upgrade when we returned.
Our 8th floor suite had a small balcony from where we could see a couple of “sails” of the Opera House and watch the “Vivid Sydney” light show.
The bathroom was large (separate toilet, bath and shower recess), 2 plush robes, plenty of towels and toiletries. The lighting and mirrors were very good when applying makeup, which many hotels neglect. Wardrobe space was more than adequate for 2 nights and there was an ironing board and iron in it.
I was concerned about the busy roads in front of the hotel, but it’s well insulated, so not much noise filtered through the window.
We walked everywhere from Macquarie Street, which is around the corner from Circular Quay and The Rocks. George Street, restaurants and shops are close by and about a 10-15 minute walk. Taxis pass the hotel, there’s plenty of public transport nearby (train, buses and ferries) and the free 555 bus took us to the city centre in a very short time.
Morris, the resident wombat, welcomes everybody, except when he decided to stay in bed a bit longer on Saturday morning!
The only thing I disliked about Sir Stamford was the high cost of Wi-Fi. It can be used free of charge downstairs, in 30 minute periods. But it’s a ridiculous extra charge at $25 for 24 hours.

Room Tip: Front rooms on higher floor have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 28 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay at The Sir Stamford at Circular Quay.

We are receiving feedback on a daily basis that we are ensuring any issues are resolved and we improve at all times.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards,

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Loved this hotel. The location, the service, the room service- it was a fabulous treat! Perfect for couples or even friends who want to be close to the Rocks and to Circular Quay. We had a wonderful stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leeshamaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 28 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay at The Sir Stamford at Circular Quay.

We are receiving feedback on a daily basis that we are ensuring any issues are resolved and we improve at all times.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards,

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Lovely hotel and very helpful staff. We were upgraded on arrival and the room overlooked circular quay. The rooms are very spacious and the bathrooms consist of a stand alone shower and separate bath. The location is perfect for the ferries to Manly and Watsons Bay and also for the Opera House. There is a small gym and swimming pool and a sun terrace. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSMDUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 28 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay at The Sir Stamford at Circular Quay.

We are receiving feedback on a daily basis that we are ensuring any issues are resolved and we improve at all times.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards,

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. Service was excellent. Cannot beat the location, very close to Circular Quay, the Opera House and all other major tourist attractions. Bar food was not very impressive but the ambience was very nice. Loved the wood burning fireplace in the lounge to relax by.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilobunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 4 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for yourfeedback regarding your recent stay at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We have taken all feedback on board. This helps us improve our service.

We do look forward to having you back at Sir Stamford.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Had an amazing weekend away thank you Sir Stamford for making it a special one. Rooms were great the facilities were great the outside pool was nice even when it was raining and the adjoining gym had enough machines even for a challenging workout and the sauna was nice as well. We only stayed two nights but it was enough for me to say I will stay with you again next time.
Thanks again Happy customer

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dion J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 4 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for yourfeedback regarding your recent stay at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We have taken all feedback on board. This helps us improve our service.

We do look forward to having you back at Sir Stamford.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We chose this hotel mainly for its proximity to the Vivid Festival. As it turns out it is in a great location for many major attractions eg. Opera House, so you can park your car ($50 valet) and forget it which is great in Sydney. As you would expect in a hotel of this standard everything is quality including service, cleanliness, quietness and attention to detail. Will definitely be high on the list for our next visit to Sydney.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 4 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for yourfeedback regarding your recent stay at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We have taken all feedback on board. This helps us improve our service.

We do look forward to having you back at Sir Stamford.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4,315 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 179 in Sydney
6,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Property: Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing