We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,349)
Filter reviews
3,349 results
Traveller rating
2,200
824
212
66
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,200
824
212
66
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbotanical gardensopera housecircular quayjuliet balconygreat locationmacquarie streethigh teamarble bathroombeautiful hotelsmall balconyrooms are spaciousconcierge stafflovely roomfew minutes walkboutique hoteltrain stationan easy walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,344 - 2,349 of 3,349 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Knowing well in advance that we had to spend a night in Sydney prior to an international flight I had been watching the various accommodation booking sites very closely. A special suddenly appeared for the Sir Stamford at Circular Quay - $230 for a King Room, which I immediately snapped up!

It was not an auspicious start. There is no drive in area at the front of the hotel and the small designated street parking area was already filled with an awkwardly parked taxi. As a result we had to get out in the middle of the road in afternoon peak hour traffic and haul our bags a considerable distance to the hotel.

However, things improved markedly upon entry to the Sir Stamford. We were upgraded to a suite on a high floor. From the balcony we had a great view of the Harbour Bridge and the Museum of Contemporary Art which were lit up for “Vivid”. We were extremely close to the Cahill Expressway but no noise entered the room.

The suite consisted of entry foyer, spacious bedroom with work area, small area containing tea and coffee facilities, a double sink area with a separate bath/shower combination.

The hotel is quite old and the suite was decorated in keeping with the era. The king size bed was made up with crisp linen, bathrobes and slippers were supplied. It was an extremely cozy room and we felt quite cossetted.

Unfortunately, the tea/coffee facilities had not been checked in some time – there was only one green teabag available and the powerpoint into which the jug was plugged did not work.

The sink area was very well lit with ample room for toiletries. Unfortunately the shower area was very dark and the water pressure was not great. Also there was no ventilation causing the mirrors in the adjacent room to fog up. The towels supplied were quite small, thin and in need of replacement.

The Sir Stamford is very close to the Botanical Gardens, Circular Quay, Opera House etc etc.

We enjoyed a drink at the Bar upon our return from “Vivid”. My Cognac was warmed properly which is so rare. Full marks here! The real fire in the lounge area was lovely.

The gym is quite well equipped for a hotel. As it was raining in the early morning I ran on the treadmill. Although it didn’t affect me as I listen to music when running, I did notice that the TV is largely obscured – this may be a problem for those who watch TV when they run.

We were able to store our luggage with the concierge who gladly supplied umbrellas for our foray out into the wet Sydney streets for breakfast and a coffee.

What makes this hotel great is the staff – they are absolutely fabulous and can’t do enough for you. It is for this reason along with the comfort of the rooms that we would certainly consider staying at the Sir Stamford at Circular Quay next time we are in Sydney.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FreoCreatures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We take all feedback on and will ensure we improve and strive to impress all guests.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Tim Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

First time stay. Will be back. How successfully this hotel has achieved creating the old world feel of an English stately home through its furnishings, decorations, sitting room with open fire place. Staff were attentive, enthusiastic and gave exceptional service. Very conveniently located at circular quay, a walk 2 blocks from the magnificent Sydney harbour. Room 1011 is the room with THE view and a generous size. Had a light meal at the bar, very nice. The high tea also looked very good.

Room Tip: Room 1011 for a view of Sydney harbour
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydney4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We take all feedback on and will ensure we improve and strive to impress all guests.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Tim Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Sir Stamford with my husband as a Anniversary celebration. We found it to be a lovely hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and polite. The rather large room was clean and decorated lovely. We also found the location to be so central to all the shops and restaurants.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Henrry001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay at The Sir Stamford at Circular Quay.

We are receiving feedback on a daily basis that we are ensuring any issues are resolved and we improve at all times.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards,

Tim Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Located adjacent to Circular Quay, this is a great location to base yourself for exploring the sights and attractions of the area. Less than 5 minutes walk to the ferries and train station, less than 10 minutes to the Opera House or the Museum of Contemporary Art and the traditional bars of The Rocks.

This hotel is very charming, and the staff are very friendly. Our room was enormous. Bigger than my apartment. Very comfortable bed and the usual hotel amenities that make a stay enjoyable. As we visited during the first week of Winter and it was a cool and wet Sydney evening, the log fire was on in the lobby area which was a real treat.

We did not eat in the hotel, so can't comment on the food, but overall we felt this was excellent value for money and a real pleasure to stay here. Saved on taxi fares to access this part of town and meant we could expend all our energy walking around the harbour and not walking 'to' the harbour. As we were there during the Vivid festival, this was absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay at The Sir Stamford at Circular Quay.

We are receiving feedback on a daily basis that we are ensuring any issues are resolved and we improve at all times.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards,

Tim Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

From the lobby entrance and check in to the lift and room, this hotel has a distinction in Sydney that few hotels deserve. It actually feels like some thoughtful taste went into design.
The staff is good, some well trained, others older and experienced. The bar is quiet and the drinks are first rate.
Sydney has too many good restaurants to tell you to try the food here.
I give it full five stars on all fronts.
Walk most tourist attractions in and around CBD.
I really liked this hotel and wondered why I had forgotten it.
I probably let a staff member do the bookings.
I'll be back.

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms with French doors out to the harbour.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank roemanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay at The Sir Stamford at Circular Quay.

We are receiving feedback on a daily basis that we are ensuring any issues are resolved and we improve at all times.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards,

Tim Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews