We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Posh & elegant environment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Ranked #14 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Posh & elegant environment”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

First time stay. Excellent location - very near to Sydney Harbour and Opera House and also to the Customs House.There is a Sydney Explorer bus stop just opposite the hotel hence making it very convenient to travel around the city by the hop on hop off bus.
Room is very spacious with a balcony attached. Our room was located on the 5th floor just next to the gym and swimming pool. It was indeed a lovely experience sitting at the balcony while having dinner and watching colourful lights on nearby buildings.It was Vivid Sydney when we were here.

However as young parents with a 4 year old tagging along, we find this place not very suitable to our lifestyle. It was all posh and elegant here while we wanted to have something more laid back and relaxed. Still a good hotel though, but probably not for us.

Thank you anyway for the kind hospitality. We will visit again some other time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinaSoepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 4 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for yourfeedback regarding your recent stay at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We have taken all feedback on board. This helps us improve our service.

We do look forward to having you back at Sir Stamford.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,792
    698
    176
    52
    36
See reviews for
436
1,490
147
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We decided to stay at the Sir Stamford for our third visit to Sydney having stayed at newer hotels previously. What a delight!

The atmosphere is of an English Country Hotel in as much as every where you went there were display cabinets with fine china, 'old master' type paintings and even a log fire in the lobby where the sofas were as comfortable as any I have come across.

Our room was a very good size and the marble bathroom luxurious. It was a special Anniversary and the Hotel had gone that extra mile to make it special-thank you. We had a Juliet balcony overlooking the Botanical Gardens and were just able to see the Opera House to our left.

Wifi is free in the lobby, no hardship as the area is so welcoming. We had a drink in the Bar area and noticed that it was a popular choice for families to eat being casual and reasonably priced.

The location is perfect being just a few minutes walk from Circular Quay. The Police Museum around the corner was well worth a visit which we might have missed had we not walked past it everyday.

For something that is very different from anything else we have come across in Australia I definitely recommend the Sir Stamford. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Pay slightly extra for a room with a Juliet balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 4 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for yourfeedback regarding your recent stay at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We have taken all feedback on board. This helps us improve our service.

We do look forward to having you back at Sir Stamford.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Visited with my wife for two nights, and was an excellent experience, despite having a rough start. At first we were pretty much ignored on arrival but had not other problems checking in.
Great venue, close to Circular Quay.
We had to order a late night room service, due to a private event not working out, and were pleasantly surprised to find the butter chicken good value for money, especially when served near mid-night.
Great Lounge, with a warming fire, luxury décor in the restaurant.

Room Tip: If you Self park, ask about getting access to the car park from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyYager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 12 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We take all feedback on and will ensure we improve and strive to impress all guests.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

From the warming open fireplace and eclectic furnishings to the large comfortable rooms, this hotel provides a welcome home feel in a great location.
The quality (and quantity) of food in the restaurant was pleasantly surprising while the staff provide polite, friendly and competent service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ganghook48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 12 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We take all feedback on and will ensure we improve and strive to impress all guests.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Knowing well in advance that we had to spend a night in Sydney prior to an international flight I had been watching the various accommodation booking sites very closely. A special suddenly appeared for the Sir Stamford at Circular Quay - $230 for a King Room, which I immediately snapped up!

It was not an auspicious start. There is no drive in area at the front of the hotel and the small designated street parking area was already filled with an awkwardly parked taxi. As a result we had to get out in the middle of the road in afternoon peak hour traffic and haul our bags a considerable distance to the hotel.

However, things improved markedly upon entry to the Sir Stamford. We were upgraded to a suite on a high floor. From the balcony we had a great view of the Harbour Bridge and the Museum of Contemporary Art which were lit up for “Vivid”. We were extremely close to the Cahill Expressway but no noise entered the room.

The suite consisted of entry foyer, spacious bedroom with work area, small area containing tea and coffee facilities, a double sink area with a separate bath/shower combination.

The hotel is quite old and the suite was decorated in keeping with the era. The king size bed was made up with crisp linen, bathrobes and slippers were supplied. It was an extremely cozy room and we felt quite cossetted.

Unfortunately, the tea/coffee facilities had not been checked in some time – there was only one green teabag available and the powerpoint into which the jug was plugged did not work.

The sink area was very well lit with ample room for toiletries. Unfortunately the shower area was very dark and the water pressure was not great. Also there was no ventilation causing the mirrors in the adjacent room to fog up. The towels supplied were quite small, thin and in need of replacement.

The Sir Stamford is very close to the Botanical Gardens, Circular Quay, Opera House etc etc.

We enjoyed a drink at the Bar upon our return from “Vivid”. My Cognac was warmed properly which is so rare. Full marks here! The real fire in the lounge area was lovely.

The gym is quite well equipped for a hotel. As it was raining in the early morning I ran on the treadmill. Although it didn’t affect me as I listen to music when running, I did notice that the TV is largely obscured – this may be a problem for those who watch TV when they run.

We were able to store our luggage with the concierge who gladly supplied umbrellas for our foray out into the wet Sydney streets for breakfast and a coffee.

What makes this hotel great is the staff – they are absolutely fabulous and can’t do enough for you. It is for this reason along with the comfort of the rooms that we would certainly consider staying at the Sir Stamford at Circular Quay next time we are in Sydney.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FreoCreatures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 12 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We take all feedback on and will ensure we improve and strive to impress all guests.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

First time stay. Will be back. How successfully this hotel has achieved creating the old world feel of an English stately home through its furnishings, decorations, sitting room with open fire place. Staff were attentive, enthusiastic and gave exceptional service. Very conveniently located at circular quay, a walk 2 blocks from the magnificent Sydney harbour. Room 1011 is the room with THE view and a generous size. Had a light meal at the bar, very nice. The high tea also looked very good.

Room Tip: Room 1011 for a view of Sydney harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydney4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 12 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We take all feedback on and will ensure we improve and strive to impress all guests.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Sir Stamford with my husband as a Anniversary celebration. We found it to be a lovely hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and polite. The rather large room was clean and decorated lovely. We also found the location to be so central to all the shops and restaurants.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrry001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 28 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay at The Sir Stamford at Circular Quay.

We are receiving feedback on a daily basis that we are ensuring any issues are resolved and we improve at all times.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards,

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 179 in Sydney
4,321 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 179 in Sydney
6,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Property: Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing