We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Ranked #14 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in May as part of a tour group. Wonderful oasis in the city. Big rooms, really comfy beds and the bathroom was the size of my first apartment! Breakfasts were quite good. Drinking was expensive, but that's Sydney. The only dinner we had in the bar was yummy. Highly recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Missoulasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 4 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for yourfeedback regarding your recent stay at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We have taken all feedback on board. This helps us improve our service.

We do look forward to having you back at Sir Stamford.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,789
    696
    176
    52
    36
See reviews for
435
1,487
147
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Meters from the entry I was impressed with the canopy. Photo time. Self opening doors and the first vision of the smiling concierge, more than happy to help. At check in the staff member was very courteous and friendly. Service was quick. As we were there celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary we were taken care of with a lovely surprise of sparkling. Our room was magnificent, I was so impressed I took photos. Bed was comfortable. The open fire places are so beautiful. When in this hotel you almost feel as if you're not in the hustle & bustle of the city. So tranquil, warm and peaceful with the surroundings. Had a coffee & a few drinks at the bar. Top service. I cannot fault anything with this hotel. Even check out was a breeze. Would stay again. Loved it :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nads26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 4 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for yourfeedback regarding your recent stay at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We have taken all feedback on board. This helps us improve our service.

We do look forward to having you back at Sir Stamford.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I have stayed here on a few occasions and wouldn't hesitate in recommending it.
It's very conveniently located close to Circular Quay, city shopping, parks, restaurants and the Opera house.
The staff are friendly, helpful and discreet. The in room dining menu is diverse and delicious.
If there was one thing I would like improved it would be the TV reception.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 4 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for yourfeedback regarding your recent stay at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We have taken all feedback on board. This helps us improve our service.

We do look forward to having you back at Sir Stamford.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bowral
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed to meet our son for his B'day. Lovely rooms(old world) and at a reasonable price. Good location. Near the Intercontinental hotel and right at Circular Quay. Easy to get to as don't have to go through Sydney centre and can exit the motorway nearby.

Room Tip: We had two rooms one with slightly better view but if you want a view stay at the Intercontinental...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandyandfamilyaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 4 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for yourfeedback regarding your recent stay at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We have taken all feedback on board. This helps us improve our service.

We do look forward to having you back at Sir Stamford.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I stayed on the June long weekend and had a beautiful time. The Hotel is very stylish and conveniently located to Circular Quay.

We lashed out and had the Seduction package and it was fantastic, much better than I thought.

Would highly recommend staying at this hotel, the rooms are lovely, the breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as possible. Will get views of Circular Quay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brightongirlSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 4 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for yourfeedback regarding your recent stay at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We have taken all feedback on board. This helps us improve our service.

We do look forward to having you back at Sir Stamford.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

First time stay. Excellent location - very near to Sydney Harbour and Opera House and also to the Customs House.There is a Sydney Explorer bus stop just opposite the hotel hence making it very convenient to travel around the city by the hop on hop off bus.
Room is very spacious with a balcony attached. Our room was located on the 5th floor just next to the gym and swimming pool. It was indeed a lovely experience sitting at the balcony while having dinner and watching colourful lights on nearby buildings.It was Vivid Sydney when we were here.

However as young parents with a 4 year old tagging along, we find this place not very suitable to our lifestyle. It was all posh and elegant here while we wanted to have something more laid back and relaxed. Still a good hotel though, but probably not for us.

Thank you anyway for the kind hospitality. We will visit again some other time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinaSoepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 4 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for yourfeedback regarding your recent stay at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We have taken all feedback on board. This helps us improve our service.

We do look forward to having you back at Sir Stamford.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We decided to stay at the Sir Stamford for our third visit to Sydney having stayed at newer hotels previously. What a delight!

The atmosphere is of an English Country Hotel in as much as every where you went there were display cabinets with fine china, 'old master' type paintings and even a log fire in the lobby where the sofas were as comfortable as any I have come across.

Our room was a very good size and the marble bathroom luxurious. It was a special Anniversary and the Hotel had gone that extra mile to make it special-thank you. We had a Juliet balcony overlooking the Botanical Gardens and were just able to see the Opera House to our left.

Wifi is free in the lobby, no hardship as the area is so welcoming. We had a drink in the Bar area and noticed that it was a popular choice for families to eat being casual and reasonably priced.

The location is perfect being just a few minutes walk from Circular Quay. The Police Museum around the corner was well worth a visit which we might have missed had we not walked past it everyday.

For something that is very different from anything else we have come across in Australia I definitely recommend the Sir Stamford. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Pay slightly extra for a room with a Juliet balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 4 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for yourfeedback regarding your recent stay at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We have taken all feedback on board. This helps us improve our service.

We do look forward to having you back at Sir Stamford.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 179 in Sydney
4,317 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 179 in Sydney
6,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Property: Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing