We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and staff make this place a must visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Ranked #14 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Location and staff make this place a must visit”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Ended up here as a result of a Secret Hotel deal on lastminute.com - so you don't know where you're staying until you pay. I've never stayed here before but oh boy it has the goods. The concierge was straight onto parking my car for me, check-in was straightforward and there was a cosy fire in the lobby. For an extra $20 I had breakfast included.
The room overlooked parkland, it had a small balcony, the bathroom was enormous and marble. The bathtub was even big enough to wallow in.
The breakfast was excellent - poached eggs cooked to order with smoked salmon and sourdough toast as well as a very extensive buffet. Just could have done with a few more coffee refills.
Only slight annoyance was waiting until 3pm for check-in which is excessively late, especially when I'd been driving for three hours.
I'd love to return but have heard its days are numbered. What a shame that is.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyW201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Kathy W,

Thank you for your kind words of feedback after your recent stay with us...

I am glad that you were pleasantly surprised with your Secret Hotel deal. Our location is just perfect for those weekend getaways and shopping trips in the City, especially during the mid year sales.
Currently there is no approval to redevelop the Hotel in the near future, so next time you are looking to stay in Sydney, head to our website to review the seasonal packages that we have available. There is something there for every occasion.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Angela King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,723
    678
    172
    50
    35
See reviews for
407
1,440
145
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I originally decided to stay at the Sir Stamford because of the location, it is 5 minutes walk from the Opera house and ferry port making visiting all the tourist attractions easy and convenient.
However the location was just one of the good things about this hotel. Service was great, we arrived late at night after a long flight from the UK and was helped with our bags out of the taxi and quickly checked in with no problems. We ordered room service which arrived quickly and was lovely.

The room itself was huge and provided the little extras like dressing gowns which make it that bit nicer then other hotels. The rooms were very quiet, The entrance area and lobby was beautiful and we sat down there a few times during our trip. The rooftop pool was a great place to relax and very clean.

The only improvement I would recommend to this hotel is to put free wifi in the rooms and not just the lobby area.

My advice would be to book this hotel for any trips to Sydney!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Jenni H,

Thank you for selecting the Sir Stamford at Circular Quay for your recent stay in Sydney.

My staff are a huge part of the great success of our property and I am very glad that they met your expectations. Many of our guests return because of our staff.
Our rooms are very comfortable and very large, they are the perfect oasis for a stay in Sydney.

I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Angela King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My daughter and I travelled to Sydney to experience some of Sydney's sights and to see a show. As it was our first trip to Sydney, I chose Sir Stamford mainly for it's proximity to the Opera House and sights around Circular Quay and The Rocks. What an inspired choice that turned out to be!
The location perfect, the room and decor was gorgeous, but it was the staff who truly made our experience five star. Sir Stamford will definitely become our "Must Have" accommodation on any return visits to Sydney! Thanks so much!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SalMcT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 12 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We take all feedback on and will ensure we improve and strive to impress all guests.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Very spacious rooms .. elegant lobby .. close the Opera house and the harbor area but far away from life area and the city center, very quit, the bathroom is huge in size. The view is nice. I would recommend this hotel for family with number of kids

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPUIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 12 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We take all feedback on and will ensure we improve and strive to impress all guests.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

I have been having email conversations with Con at this motel regarding our potential booking. He could not have been more helpful or patient with all my questions.
Living in regional NSW..the cost of visiting Sydney for our family is always hard. We were unable to afford staying here in the end...but the communication from Con was outstanding. He was very very helpful...patient...and an asset to the motel. Well done to the staff there.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rachael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 12 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We take all feedback on and will ensure we improve and strive to impress all guests.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Although my wife and I have enjoyed staying at many hotels over the years (with Tripadvisor's advice) I have not taken the time to write all the reviews I should. However, the Sir Stamford deserves an excellent review and I feel it is worth my time to give it. We have just stayed 3 nights for our 25th Wedding Anniversary and it was great. I mentioned this to staff when booking and upon arrival I found that they did indeed give us a fabulous room with an awesome view of the harbour and park surrounds. We were delighted that only an hour after arrival a bottle of complimentary champagne arrived to our room (this is a first for us) which made it truly extra special. The large room was clean, spacious and beautifully decorated. It was quiet with a comfortable bed, chairs, desk and large bath.

Of course what made this stay worth the rating was the excellent staff. Each person we met was genuine, helpful, friendly and welcoming. This included everyone from reception, concierge, cleaning and even staff in "The Bar" and restaurant area. We had a great first night dinner and drinks here and they were great at recommending food choices with their friendly helpful service.

We will definitely recommend the hotel to anyone wanting to visit Sydney for any length of stay and will now change this to our top choice of places to stay in Sydney.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jewelza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 12 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We take all feedback on and will ensure we improve and strive to impress all guests.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.The location is excellent- just a quick walk to Circular Quay ( we stayed during Vivid, so it was very handy!) The staff were delightful.The hotel has a lovely ambience- the fireplace in the Quay Lounge,chandeliers,period furniture all came together in a very stylish way... Our room was spacious and had a very comfy bed,amazing bathroom including an excellent shower.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannahro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 12 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We take all feedback on and will ensure we improve and strive to impress all guests.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 178 in Sydney
4,269 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#27 of 178 in Sydney
6,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Property: Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Prestigia, Travelbag, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing