We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home in Sydney” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Ranked #15 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
General Santos, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A home in Sydney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel was perfect when I had a recent bonding trip with my Mom. It's just about 10 minutes walk to the Sydney Opera House, the circular quay harbor, cafés and restaurants. The big plus factor is the friendly concierge who gave us maps and instructions to places we want to visit. And more the big charming bedroom and big bathroom was a nice welcome after a long day of exploring beautiful Sydney.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 4 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for yourfeedback regarding your recent stay at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We have taken all feedback on board. This helps us improve our service.

We do look forward to having you back at Sir Stamford.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,516
    616
    156
    43
    30
See reviews for
357
1,273
131
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The staff was really friendly and the hotel was top notch and luxury! The location is perfect -- 2 blocks from Circular Quay! The room was beautiful and quiet --- even though we were close (and could see) the highway, there was no highway noise at all! In the evening there was a fire in the lobby fireplace. Next time I go to Sydney, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 4 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for yourfeedback regarding your recent stay at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We have taken all feedback on board. This helps us improve our service.

We do look forward to having you back at Sir Stamford.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Gorgeous lobby with extravagant furnishings and lovely open fire, welcoming bar/restaurant area, very professional and friendly staff (not those snooty types), beautiful room and beds with massive marble bathroom. Just one thing though - why does brekky have to be so expensive? (Eg $13 for a small serve of muesli, when one can enjoy two course dinner with wine for $49) Just saying

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 4 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for yourfeedback regarding your recent stay at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We have taken all feedback on board. This helps us improve our service.

We do look forward to having you back at Sir Stamford.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here during the finale Fleet Review week so the area around Circular Quay was heaving with people. The hotel was right at the heart of the action, walking distance to everything. Given it was a busy time prices were at the high end but we had no complaints. It was a special occasion (first night away without the kids for 3 years...) and we stretched to a suite, which was stunning - spacious, comfortable with great views (as good as the views get from the hotel given it's quite low rise and not right on the harbour).

I do a bit of travelling for work and stay at the usual corporate hotel chains. The Sir Stamford is a refreshing change from the modern, CBD hotel with real character and old school charm. Would definitely stay again if we have another reason for a night in Sydney.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms overlooking the harbour or Botanic Gardens will have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CiderChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 4 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for yourfeedback regarding your recent stay at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We have taken all feedback on board. This helps us improve our service.

We do look forward to having you back at Sir Stamford.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with old world charm, lovely staff and wonderful service. Our suite (room 409) was spacious and much quieter than I expected with hardly any noise from the nearby expressway. The king size bed was a touch soft for our liking but the room was clean and had plenty of seating (lounge suite, arm chair, 2 seats) and a writing desk. There was a large closet with complimentary robes & slippers. The bathroom was huge, with a bath, shower and separate toilet closet. The lighting was good enough to apply makeup! The location is great - it is close to the city shopping precinct, Circluar Quay, the Rocks, Botanic Gardens, Art Gallery and Hyde Park. We had a terrific stay and are glad we chose this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmMagPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 4 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for yourfeedback regarding your recent stay at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We have taken all feedback on board. This helps us improve our service.

We do look forward to having you back at Sir Stamford.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phila
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Old world style in the city center. Terrific support from the staff and a reasonable value at breakfast. A short walk to the ferry terminal and train station. A little further and you are in the botanical gardens or the Opera House.

From a business perspective, this hotel like many luxury hotels needs to understand that business travelers cannot pay $25 per day for WIFI. For this alone I will look elsewhere next trip.

Room Tip: Both sides of the hotel are quiet and bright. The front has a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 6060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 4 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for yourfeedback regarding your recent stay at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We have taken all feedback on board. This helps us improve our service.

We do look forward to having you back at Sir Stamford.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We needed to stay in the City to attend wedding - I left the booking of the Hotel to my wife and suggested Intercontinental ( Where I am a Platinum Ambassador ) or Hilton ( where I am Gold Honours ) but she wanted to save some money and booked Sir Stamford on wotif - I was not happy.
Back in 1990 when I was working next door at the Intercontinental the Sir Stamford was known as the Ritz Carlton and was heralded as the first 6 star hotel in the Country.Much has changed since then but It looks like the décor here has not.We needed to drop bags off around 1pm so grabbed a quick drink at the lobby bar which has that beautiful old world charm - we did not get back to the hotel till 10pm and were surprised they had upgraded us to some type of suite.Upon entering suite there is a plaque displaying who has stayed in the same suite - see photo.The room was one of the biggest we have ever stayed in and it looked like it was straight out of 1988.We had the best sleep and both agreed the bed was the most comfortable we had ever slept in.The room has a nice little balcony overlooking Macquarie street and also had a large loungeroom,huge bathroom with dual sinks,bath and walk in shower.
All the staff were very friendly so all in all we were really happy with the Sir Stamford and would recommend to anyone needing to stay in the city.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roosterman2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 4 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for yourfeedback regarding your recent stay at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We have taken all feedback on board. This helps us improve our service.

We do look forward to having you back at Sir Stamford.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,005 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Property: Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing