We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,350)
Filter reviews
3,350 results
Traveller rating
2,201
824
212
66
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,201
824
212
66
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbotanical gardensopera housecircular quayjuliet balconygreat locationmacquarie streethigh teamarble bathroombeautiful hotelsmall balconyrooms are spaciousconcierge stafflovely roomfew minutes walkboutique hoteltrain stationan easy walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,147 - 3,152 of 3,350 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2009

I have stayed at this motel several times now with my business travel. The staff are very friendly. The Room service is a bit slow but worth the wait. The restaurant is very nice. It has a private personal feel. The rooms feel more at home than a normal Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HILLS92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay at The Sir Stamford at Circular Quay.

We are receiving feedback on a daily basis that we are ensuring any issues are resolved and we improve at all times.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards,

Tim Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

The hotel is well located close to Circular Quay and, overall is very comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay apart from a two or three things:

1. We arrived early morning (around 9am) and the room wasn't ready (check in time is 3pm). The hotel did give us access to the gymn so that we could shower and they did store our cases in reception while we went out. But at 3pm the room still wasn't ready. At 3.30 I got a bit cross and the hotel told us we could have a better room - which we took. (I'm not sure if the room was any better - it had no view and no balcony - but it was huge.)

I wonder if this is a constant problem with the hotel as there were suitcases in reception every morning.

2. The hotel is expensive and charge for every little extra such as power adaptors and for internet connection. (Why would I pay for internet connection when I can get it for free in the little cafe 100 yards away?)

3. The dining room in closed two nights a week.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somersetbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We will continue to improve our service and hope to welcome you back to Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2009

The Sir Stamford is in an excellent location with great proximty to the Botanical Gardens, Circular Quay and the city.

The hotel staf are friendly, attentive and efficient. The rooms are spacious, however the fittings are approaching the end of their useful life give this is a 5 star property. The lighting was a little dim and I would probably ask for a high floor to maximise natural light.

Overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belladonna01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We will continue to improve our service and hope to welcome you back to Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

Stayed here because of the glowing TA reviews. Booked a Deluxe Room for two nights directly from the hotel website – the “Advance Saver” package, full payment in advance, totally non-refundable. Arriving by cruise ship, were at the hotel about nine-ish on the Saturday morning. Did not expect to be able to get into a room straight away and indeed could not (as the hotel had been fully booked the night before), but the staff piled our many bags and bits and pieces in the lobby (along with those of some other cruise ship passengers) while we went uptown in search of shopping and lunch. (Front desk staff were pleasant and professional.) Able to get into a room eventually after one pm. It was described as a “Harbour View” room, a bit of a stretch since it had only a partial glimpse of the water - above buildings and the Botanic Gardens. After the constraints of a cruise ship cabin for 30 days this seemed a vast room, the bathroom also with its double sinks and separate shower and toilet. (Did not like the fragrance of the toiletries supplied, however.) Nice to be able to open the Juliet balcony door for fresh air. Very comfortable room, had everything you’d expect to find in this class of hotel, like robes, slippers, shoe cleaning service etc; but also an iron and ironing board, which isn’t necessarily supplied. Did hear some road noise from the nearby Cahill Expressway. Also heard some noise from adjoining hotel room. Neither sufficiently loud to be bothersome..
One morning we had breakfast at the Sydney Cove Oyster Bar on the Quay, overlooking the water- recommend for food and ambience. (Lots of other attractive looking restaurants in this area.) Also tried the hotel buffet. Many have commented on the expense, but at $25 per person seems par for the course. Nice touch to have the facilities for squeezing fresh orange juice and making your own waffles. Reasonable selection, attractively presented. Staff seemed somewhat slow to bring fresh coffee, clear dirty plates.
If you are planning on staying here post cruise, or plan to use public transport from the airport to the Quay, remember that it is a steep climb uphill from Circular Quay if you intend to lug suitcases.
Overall, a pleasant place to stay, the very English hotel décor is a change from modern minimalism. Don’t understand the rave reviews, though.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozitravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We will continue to improve our service and hope to welcome you back to Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

My sister and I stayed here for two nights - one night on the beginning of our trip, and one on the return. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel - it is a classic hotel, with tasteful furnishings, lovely lobby, and gigantic all-marble bathrooms with separate shower, oversized bathtub, and double sinks. Beds were very comfortable.

Why we chose this hotel was because of the Tripadvisor ratings and its close proximity to the train station, ferries, Opera House, botanic garden, wonderful harbor restaurants, and a half block from the Hop-on Explorer Bus. While on that bus we drove past Darling Harbor, which appeared to cater more to the tourist crowd and to families (aquarium, monorail, etc.). We liked our location better - a little more quiet and right across the street from the botanic gardens.

Staff were also very helpful. They were responsive to email questions before our stay, too, which is why the Hotel Intercontinental next door did not get our business. The only downside is what others have noted: no free internet. I think we paid $12 for an hour of internet - pretty pricey. But there wasn't a hotel we stayed at in New South Wales that didn't charge some fee for internet access.

If I had to describe this hotel in two words, it would be classic elegance. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cgriffith_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We will continue to improve our service and hope to welcome you back to Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews