We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unhelpful reservation staff” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Ranked #15 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
melbourne australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“unhelpful reservation staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2009

Unfortunately our stay at the Sir Stamford was ruined by the assistant reservation manager. We arrived at 10.30 a.m. on a Saturday and we had already e-mailed for a request for an early check-in and rooms close together with our family members. We had an instant reply saying that we would be allocated rooms on the same floor but could not guarantee and early check-in. I was not allocated a room until 2.58 p.m. and we were not given rooms on the the same floor but on different floors. I had an appointment that I could not make because of the late check-in and there was no attempt made by the reservations person who was completely unconcerned. There was no one waiting for a room in the foyer in all the time were where there so it seems to be a policy that you do not get a check in before 300 p.m. at the earliest. We had no access to each floor and our stay was ruined by the complete indifference to their guests. The rooms were clean and the breakfast staff were very good. but I would not recommend the hotel as they seem to be very unfriendly and unhappy managerial staff.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank will37_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 28 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay at The Sir Stamford at Circular Quay.

We are receiving feedback on a daily basis that we are ensuring any issues are resolved and we improve at all times.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards,

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,509
    609
    156
    43
    30
See reviews for
354
1,265
131
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2009

We stayed on the 8th floor (room 815) in a spacious room (the size of a large lounge) with two double beds, couch & desk, huge marble bathroom, and a small balcony overlooking the harbour, Opera house & Botanical Gardens. I recommend requesting a high floor, for good views. I especially liked being able to open the balcony doors for fresh air, as I hate staying in hotel rooms where no windows open (like most other hotels in area). We booked directly through the hotel and paid an advance purchase rate which included full breakfast for the 3 of us. So we got a very good deal - our breakfast cost us about AUD$9 each instead of the standard price of $38. Definitely worth doing that - the delicious Bountiful breakfast includes cereals, yoghurt, fruit, pastries, toast, & hot buffet, as well as being able to order other freshly cooked hot breakfasts from the menu - I recommend the eggs benedict! The room was very clean. Staff were always very helpful & polite.Taxi from airport cost AUD$38 (20 minutes). If you arrive too early for checkin they let you use the showers etc in the gym/pool area & look after your bags so you can head out on the town. The roof top pool (heated) & gym were well used by my husband.
If you are trying to decide to stay in Darling Harbour or The Rocks/Circular Quay, then Circular Quay is a far better choice as it is central to everything and has lovely views.It is just a few minutes walk from the hotel to the Opera House, The Botanical Gardens and The Rocks (& lots of harbourside restaurants) and the Harbour Bridge. You can walk across the Harbour Bridge for free (it is not necessary to do a guided tour unless you want to go to the very top). The Rocks has outdoor markets on Saturday & Sunday. You can also walk to/from Darling Harbour in about 15 minutes if you go the inland route (along George Street & up Margaret Street, then down the hill).
The ferries, trains & buses also all leave a few minutes walk from this hotel. Buy tickets first at circular quay for most trips. Public transport is frequent & inexpensive in Sydney. We caught the ferry from Circular Quay to Manly (half hour) - beach & shops. We caught the train to Paramatta (half hour) - train stops right in huge shopping mall (get on at Circular Quay, then change at Central). We caught the bus from Circular Quay (no. 380 or 333) to Bondi beach (half hour) - lovely cliff top walk.
There is also a free green shuttle bus (no.555) every few minutes circling the inner city, with stops including Circular Quay, Central train station, & Chinatown (from which it is short walk to Darling Harbour). Get off at Chinatown stop for Paddys market which is open Thursday - Sunday. Darling Harbour has lovely harbourside restaurants & a small shopping mall open late.
The highlight though, since we are "Home & Away" tv fans, was catching the public bus (no. L90) from Wynyard (about 10 minutes walk from hotel) to Palm Beach where all the outdoor scenes are filmed on Mondays & Tuesdays. The bus trip takes about one&half hours but you see many lovely North Shore beaches on the way. Palm Beach is a small beautiful quiet beachside village. It has a windswept surf beach on one side and a quiet inlet on the other side. We visited the Home&Away "Surf Club" at the far end of the surf beach, and had a nice meal at the "Diner" cafe jutting out over the water at the jetty/wharf on the inlet beach. The surrounding bush covered rocky shores are very beautiful.
We had a great holday in Sydney. This hotel is in a very posh, safe feeling street. I also recommend a Greek restaurant about 2 blocks up the steet - "Aesops".
Feel free to contact me through trip advisor if you would like any more information.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kiwigal000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 28 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay at The Sir Stamford at Circular Quay.

We are receiving feedback on a daily basis that we are ensuring any issues are resolved and we improve at all times.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards,

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

I have stayed at this motel several times now with my business travel. The staff are very friendly. The Room service is a bit slow but worth the wait. The restaurant is very nice. It has a private personal feel. The rooms feel more at home than a normal Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HILLS92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 28 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay at The Sir Stamford at Circular Quay.

We are receiving feedback on a daily basis that we are ensuring any issues are resolved and we improve at all times.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards,

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2009

The hotel is well located close to Circular Quay and, overall is very comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay apart from a two or three things:

1. We arrived early morning (around 9am) and the room wasn't ready (check in time is 3pm). The hotel did give us access to the gymn so that we could shower and they did store our cases in reception while we went out. But at 3pm the room still wasn't ready. At 3.30 I got a bit cross and the hotel told us we could have a better room - which we took. (I'm not sure if the room was any better - it had no view and no balcony - but it was huge.)

I wonder if this is a constant problem with the hotel as there were suitcases in reception every morning.

2. The hotel is expensive and charge for every little extra such as power adaptors and for internet connection. (Why would I pay for internet connection when I can get it for free in the little cafe 100 yards away?)

3. The dining room in closed two nights a week.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank somersetbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 12 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We will continue to improve our service and hope to welcome you back to Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle Park, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2009

The Sir Stamford is in an excellent location with great proximty to the Botanical Gardens, Circular Quay and the city.

The hotel staf are friendly, attentive and efficient. The rooms are spacious, however the fittings are approaching the end of their useful life give this is a 5 star property. The lighting was a little dim and I would probably ask for a high floor to maximise natural light.

Overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belladonna01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 12 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We will continue to improve our service and hope to welcome you back to Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigadoon, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2009

Stayed here because of the glowing TA reviews. Booked a Deluxe Room for two nights directly from the hotel website – the “Advance Saver” package, full payment in advance, totally non-refundable. Arriving by cruise ship, were at the hotel about nine-ish on the Saturday morning. Did not expect to be able to get into a room straight away and indeed could not (as the hotel had been fully booked the night before), but the staff piled our many bags and bits and pieces in the lobby (along with those of some other cruise ship passengers) while we went uptown in search of shopping and lunch. (Front desk staff were pleasant and professional.) Able to get into a room eventually after one pm. It was described as a “Harbour View” room, a bit of a stretch since it had only a partial glimpse of the water - above buildings and the Botanic Gardens. After the constraints of a cruise ship cabin for 30 days this seemed a vast room, the bathroom also with its double sinks and separate shower and toilet. (Did not like the fragrance of the toiletries supplied, however.) Nice to be able to open the Juliet balcony door for fresh air. Very comfortable room, had everything you’d expect to find in this class of hotel, like robes, slippers, shoe cleaning service etc; but also an iron and ironing board, which isn’t necessarily supplied. Did hear some road noise from the nearby Cahill Expressway. Also heard some noise from adjoining hotel room. Neither sufficiently loud to be bothersome..
One morning we had breakfast at the Sydney Cove Oyster Bar on the Quay, overlooking the water- recommend for food and ambience. (Lots of other attractive looking restaurants in this area.) Also tried the hotel buffet. Many have commented on the expense, but at $25 per person seems par for the course. Nice touch to have the facilities for squeezing fresh orange juice and making your own waffles. Reasonable selection, attractively presented. Staff seemed somewhat slow to bring fresh coffee, clear dirty plates.
If you are planning on staying here post cruise, or plan to use public transport from the airport to the Quay, remember that it is a steep climb uphill from Circular Quay if you intend to lug suitcases.
Overall, a pleasant place to stay, the very English hotel décor is a change from modern minimalism. Don’t understand the rave reviews, though.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozitravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 12 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We will continue to improve our service and hope to welcome you back to Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

My sister and I stayed here for two nights - one night on the beginning of our trip, and one on the return. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel - it is a classic hotel, with tasteful furnishings, lovely lobby, and gigantic all-marble bathrooms with separate shower, oversized bathtub, and double sinks. Beds were very comfortable.

Why we chose this hotel was because of the Tripadvisor ratings and its close proximity to the train station, ferries, Opera House, botanic garden, wonderful harbor restaurants, and a half block from the Hop-on Explorer Bus. While on that bus we drove past Darling Harbor, which appeared to cater more to the tourist crowd and to families (aquarium, monorail, etc.). We liked our location better - a little more quiet and right across the street from the botanic gardens.

Staff were also very helpful. They were responsive to email questions before our stay, too, which is why the Hotel Intercontinental next door did not get our business. The only downside is what others have noted: no free internet. I think we paid $12 for an hour of internet - pretty pricey. But there wasn't a hotel we stayed at in New South Wales that didn't charge some fee for internet access.

If I had to describe this hotel in two words, it would be classic elegance. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cgriffith_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 12 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We will continue to improve our service and hope to welcome you back to Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

Kind Regards

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#19 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,050 reviews
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,997 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Property: Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelbag so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing