We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't find a better place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Ranked #14 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“You won't find a better place to stay”
Reviewed 14 November 2010

My lovely lady and I have stayed here before and it just gets better and better. They probably have the best staff training in Sydney and probably Australia as all of the staff are on the same page "what can I do to make this customers stay enjoyable'. From the moment you get out of the taxi when a porter leaps forward to help, then the greetings from the concierge to the reception desk - all of them will make you feel welcome. Then go to The Bar and the Restaurant and this level of service just gets better.
We stayed two nights but had breakfast at Circular Quay. A 5 minute walk gets you to the ferries and the opera House, the station is close by and buses go everywhere. Don't be cheap and come from the airport by train - the hill with cases is hard work. Txi was around $30 from the airport but depends on traffic.
Try the pool and sauna especially the pool after dark with its lights and view. The room is spacious and appointed with strong furniture. The water pressure in the bath is wicked so be careful or you will burn yourself as it shoots out. Plenty of room to move around without tripping over cases.
We love it and will be back again in My 2011.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wizardoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 12 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,858
    715
    178
    54
    36
See reviews for
457
1,536
150
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

The Sir Stamford is very well located across from the Botanical Gardens and a 5 -10 minute walk to Circular Quay and the Rocks. Rooms are large with couch and desk. Staff very friendly. We arrived at 7:00 a.m from Los Angeles, and they gave us our room early. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant, preferring less expensive cafes in Circular Quay and the Rocks. From the airport we took the local train to Circular Quay (20 minutes) and then walked less than 10 minutes to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 12 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We chose the Sir Stamford based on location and review on TA...we weren't disappointed. Lovely entrance, lounge (very ornately decorated) and reception staff and located just by the botanical gardens and 3 mins walk from the Circular Quay train station which was perfect as we were arriving from the airport.
Despite not claiming to be a hotel with a view of the Opera house etc, we were pleasantly surprised to see that our room (10th floor) had a view of some of the quay. Room was very nicely decorated although bathroom wasn't huge, it did have a shower/bath.
I was ill one evening and the staff were great when my husband asked about room service and made some tomato soup for me especially. Room service was reasonably priced (for Sydney) and we also tried the bar which was actually quite nice.
One of the highlights for me was the heated outdoor pool on the 5th floor. It's not huge but was lovely to be up there in the evening when it was dark as it is lit up with fairy lights and you see all the lights around you.
Finally, to help the environment they offer you the chance to forego housekeeping for a day and in return offer you $5 (or maybe it was 10) off goods from the minibar which was a novel idea.
Only negative was the fact that they charge for the use of the internet in the business centre, otherwise we really liked the hotel and would go back again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 75sw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 12 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Sir Stamford has been going through a refit. The issue is their refit had failed to upgrade the sound proofing in the rooms above their function room. When all hell was breaking loose at a reception half a dozen complaints were to no avail to quell the din until after 11pm. It's a case of dollars ruling. A function returns many. A room rental less. Regardless I and my family paid for quiet stay. We got an unholy racket for hours and a similarly unpleasant night's sleep due to the stress induced.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrahamA58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 12 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Reception, concierge, bellhop were all very kind, courteous. Very fast check in and out. Classical English style. Nice bed. First night, after 23 hours flight, slept 16 hours non-stop. However, next night I could hear people next room, 1-2 AM. Very elegant and large bathroom. The hotel bar is fantastic, good menu, wine and service. If you are looking for location, this is the place. Circular Quay around the corner, walking distance to any point in CBD, buses, train and ferries close by, and a gorgeous park just in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank facg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 12 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Queensland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

I was unable to stay in the accommodation I usually use in Sydney so booked this sometime ago for a family birthday. We had three rooms booked. I was so surprised as have had a few disappointments in Sydney. It is an older property but relies on great customer service from the moment you arrive. The rooms are spacious and all ours had lovely little balconies that the doors actually opened to the outside!
The bathrooms were beautiful and the bath perfect and obiously the original bath, tapwear etc. The seperate shower great. The tiles are all marble and even chandeliers in loo! Bed good, pillows good, could not fault it. Even the bathrobes were great!
Had drinks and snacks in bar with piano player and very nice atmosphere.
Would definitely recommend and will stay here next time in Sydney.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyBuckton, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 12 April 2016
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us at Sir Stamford Circular Quay.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Tim Buckton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Fantastic location a few minutes from the harbour and close to all the action in the CBD. Room was beautiful.

What impressed us the most was the service. On our last day, we left our bags at the hotel after checking out and went out to shop, as we had a late flight. We called the hotel on our way back in a taxi to ask them to get the bags out, as we were planning to grab them and jump straight back in the cab to head to the airport. We pulled up in front of the hotel and had not got out of the taxi when the extremely helpful concierge (Dean?) saw us through the doors, came out to the taxi and told us he didn't want us to get wet from the rain. He and another staff member loaded up the taxi with our luggage, while we got to stay dry in the taxi.

Very impressed.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piffity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek D, Sir Stamford Chinese Champion at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Google Translation
尊敬的顾客:
您好!
非常感谢您的对我们酒店的高度评价以及喜爱。

得天独厚的地理位置,欧式建筑风格以及细致周到的服务,是许多游客选择我们的重要原因。从我们酒店步行4分钟即可到达悉尼歌剧院,5分钟到达“购物天堂”岩石区,这在很大程度上方便了旅客的需要,节省了交通成本。

作为悉尼的五星级的奢侈酒店,我们对自身的服务有更高的要求和标准。很高兴您能提及我们的员工,Dean是我们礼宾团队中的一员,他注重细节,很多顾客对他都有高度的评价, 平时乐于助人,而且对酒店周围乃至悉尼各景点都了如指掌。希望下次您有幸在能来到悉尼,能继续选择我们酒店为您服务。

再次感谢您的分享。
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 178 in Sydney
4,370 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 178 in Sydney
6,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Property: Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sydney
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#24 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing