We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay - excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Sydney Suites
Ranked #89 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My wife and I stayed there over the Christmas and New Year period. We booked the serviced apartment earlier in the year as reasonably priced accommodation is difficult to find for the holiday period, especially if you leave it late to make a booking.

The apartment is situated about two minutes stroll from the southern end of Hyde Park. We had previously decided to walk or use public transport for the duration of our stay. Having a car in the heart of Sydney is more of a hindrance than a help unless you absolutely need one. We used to walk to most places - the heart of the CBD is a 10 minute stroll, Darling Harbour about 15 minutes and Circular Quay (CQ) takes 20 minutes. There is a free bus service (555) which runs a circular route between the main rail station and CQ. It stops fairly close to the apartment as do buses to Bondi. If you are staying about a week or more then I suggest you purchase a MyWeekly pass for $41 as it covers all travel on the city rail network, the municipal ferry service and all buses for the southeast quadrant of Sydney. This includes buses to Watson Bay and Bondi Beach and ferries to Manley.

A Coles supermarket is less than 5 minutes stroll away as are restaurants.

Our trip into Sydney was by hire car but fortunately there is a couple of free 10 minute parking bays very close to the entrance. Check-in was quick allowing us to take our cases to the room, get back to the car within the allotted time and hence, return it to the rental company a few kilometres away.

Our one-bedroom apartment was on a high floor (as requested when booking) and overlooked the road junction outside the entrance. The room had a patio door which opened onto a very small balcony. It was possible to stand outside but that was all!

The main room had a sofa (which could be made up into a second bed), a table & 3 chairs, coffee table and a fully equipped kitchenette. The bedroom had a king size bed, wardrobe with a safe + drawer unit. The beside tables also had drawers. The ensuite had a walk-in shower but no bath. My wife and I prefer a shower so the lack of a bath was not an issue. The shower head was on a flexible hose which makes balancing water pressure/temperature so much easier than showers with fixed heads. A range of toiletries was provided.

The building has three separate laundry rooms for guests and they are well utilised. On the ground floor the building is linked to the cafe next door for breakfasts, etc. We did not use it during our stay though not for any reason other than we wanted to have breakfast in our room.

The air-conditioning in the apartment had two zones - one in the main living area and one in the bedroom. They could be set independently of each other. The system was very quiet but effective.

The apartment was serviced every day including Christmas Day.

Everything in the apartment worked well.

Last but certainly not least; we met and spoke to a lot of staff during our stay. Without exception every one of them was very helpful, cheerful and courteous even when I am certain they wished they were celebrating the Christmas holidays with their own families/friends. They were superb.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Iantravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Sydney Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

We had two nights here and were very impressed with the room and service. Our car was valet parked and when required it was waiting out the front on time. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The bed was very comfortable and even though the room faced the street and we were on the first floor there was no apparent street noise. The kitchenette was very useful and we enjoyed the space of the suite. We could easily walk to the train, Chinatown, the shops and Darling Harbour. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moreinput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

The Wyndham has a great location close to Hyde Park, China Town and in fact walking distance to most of the city's key attractions including Paddy's market, Sydney Tower, Darling Harbour and others.

Aside from the fact that they are well located and that the rooms are well maintained and comfortable the hotel has also got a small gym that is more than adequate for some serious fitness training.

The only downside is that the staff are less than friendly and often they treat their guests as a nuisance.

Do not bother to ask the staff for tourist information as they lack product knowledge of the city and can hardly give you proper instructions on bus services and things to do at various attractions.

I see this as a matter of them being overly jaded and thus it is better to go to a Visitors Centre to find out things for yourself.

Room Tip: Check in time is at 4pm but if you arrive early try and get them to confirm an earlier time for you...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgoondumaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Spent two nights here before departing on a cruise. We had a one-bedroom unit which was clean and well-equipped with linen and kitchen gear. We were on the 2nd floor but there was little street noise.

I liked the location which was near transport, restaurants and pubs. We didn't eat in the cafe or use any tourist services so I can't comment on that. Front desk staff were helpful when we needed directions or taxis.

On check in you may be offered a free breakfast. The property is part of a timeshare network so expect a sales pitch. We are already owners but sometimes go along to catch up, get the breakfast, free bottle of pretty good wine and a $25 shopping voucher. If you're interested by all means go, it's not a hard sell and it may suit you.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daymares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I stayed overnight at the Wyndham mid week and was very happy with the property. I was originally booked into a studio at $155, but on getting up to the room realised that i had been been allocated a modern, clean, well furnished one bedroom apartment which was great, two seperate small balconies, seperate bedroom, lounge suite to relax on, study desk, dining table and chairs, 2 tvs, dvd player, microwave, cutlery, cookwear, etc. All this for $155......bargain! The location for me was very good, i intentionally booked this hotel for its position and really couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RussellBrisbane428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We chose to stay in one of the small apartments there as it offered a kitchen with utensils included so we could choose to eat in and save the pennies if need be!

The apartment was lovely and clean with a comfy bed and large shower. Towels and linen were provided for us so we didn't need to bring anything with us - which was a huge space saver for our suitcases (it actually meant there was just a lot more room for all the shopping I did!!).

Staff there were really friendly and there was always someone around to help, no matter what time of day or night it was. It's worth noting that they participate in an airport shuttle which collects guests every half hour during set times of the day. This was about $1 cheaper than the train but I was advised this run could take up to an hour as the bus stops at other hotels along the way.

Museum station is the closest and right on one of the central lines to either the airport or Circular Quay, and Central station is about a 10 minute walk in the other direction and operates the same as above but also services Bondi, Cronulla and the North shores.

There is a cafe attached to the hotel / apartments but there are also some great places to eat along the streets either side of the Wyndham. Although it was a longish walk from the harbour at times (only due to jet lag and the rain!) it was a great base to explore the city from and the best way to see it really is on foot. Would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmylou302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

A smaller comfortable Hotel in a very handy position in Sydney. Rooms are smallish but extremely well equipped. Very clean and staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. Close to shops, reataurants, buses inc the free shuttle bus to city and Circular Quay. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barry1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#73 of 178 in Sydney
3,128 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#81 of 178 in Sydney
2,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyde Park Inn
Hyde Park Inn
#49 of 178 in Sydney
1,040 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 178 in Sydney
4,268 reviews
Oaks on Castlereagh
#67 of 178 in Sydney
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Sydney Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Sydney Suites

Address: 34-35 Wentworth Ave | The Southern Cross Towers, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Wyndham Vacation Resorts Asia Pacific Sydney)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Sydney
#78 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £94 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Sydney Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Sydney Suites is located in Australia’s largest and most exciting and diverse city, Wyndham Sydney offers spacious accommodation in the heart of it all. This stylish, modern hotel is within easy walking distance to all major attractions and just a short stroll from Hyde Park and the popular restaurant precincts of Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Surry Hills and vibrant nightlife of Oxford Street. Each apartment features a kitchenette and Juliet balcony (excluding Studio apartment), spacious living area with LCD television, a large bedroom and modern en-suite designed to meet the need of both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wyndham Sydney Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Asia Pacific Sydney Hotel Sydney
Wyndham Sydney
Sydney Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing