We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay - Great Location!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Seasons Darling Harbour
Ranked #154 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 3 May 2008

I have been to Sydney many times but this is the first time I have stayed at the Clarion suites Darling Harbour. I decided to stay in an apartment/hotel as my stay was for 6 nights. I thought the rate was quite reasonable for the particular area - across the road from the Entertainment Centre, Darling Harbour & Chinatown and it is also a close walk from Central Station.
Well the room itself was quite decent - well presented and it has a seperate living room so it kinda felt like a home away from home - it features a kitchenette and a marble bathroom.
The staff there were friendly.
I would definately consider staying there again for my next trip.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bileneblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
There are newer reviews for Seasons Darling Harbour
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

432 - 438 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2008

We booked this hotel through our Travel Agent in the UK and thought we had got lucky because it was a great location for an even better price. However once we read some of the reveiws on this site we had started to regret our decsion and even wanted to change our booking but we were not able to.

When we got to the hotel we found the staff to be happy and helpful - they held our bags until our room was ready. When we got to our room, our bags had been already taken up and we were pleasently suprised - but then we found old food left in the microwave and the curtains looked a bit grimey. We called downsatirs and they very quickly took us to another room which was great! Clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable and the shower was strong and hot!

We had mentioned that the fridge had been turned up to high and several bottles of water had frozen and cracked - again the The staff were very helpful and removed the items from the fridge. When we got home we found that we had been charged for $200 items that had been in the fridge ( the drinks that had been removed). We called them and they immediately refunded the charges and apoligised for the error.

So yes - there are some problems at this hotel, but show me a hotel that doesn't have its problems! the difference here is that the staff are helpful and go out of thier way to find soloutions to problems that may be caused by higher up management. decisions.

If you want a place that is close to everything ( including a monorail stop!), and a place where the rooms are comfortable and the staff are friendly - then this is the place for you. In fact, we have even booked another stay there in 6 months time!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fionaanddeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2008

Booked thru Wotif.
We stayed here for 7 nights, 2adults and 2 children (10 & 8yrs) in a 1 bedroom suite with sofa for kids.
OK it needs to be stated that this establishment is in two very separate buildings. The hotel (with the 1brm suites) and a separate adjacent building with the apartments. That doesn't seem to be clear anywhere. The pool is in the apartment buiding and to get there from our hotel it's a quick little jaunt thru the unfinished shopping plaza, out onto the street, and then into the apt bldg. Keep this in mind. However during the course of our stay (later rather than sooner) we found a way on our 7th floor by following directions to the "executive rooms" and catching their lift to the pool - no outdoors that way. They didn't tell us this way so presumably they don't want anybody using it.

Location: At the entrance to the Dixon St mall in Chinatown with some great eating places. Not good for us as our fussy kids curled their noses up at it all. About 10 min walk to Town Hall Rail Station, and about 15min walk to Central Railway. Only 3-5 mins walk to World Square Shopping Centre, and enormous shopping complex with full-service Coles supermarket. I'll just add here that you're still in chinatown so it is like walking around in downtown Hong Kong, fun. MONORAIL station within the hotel/apt complex, very handy.

Room: 1 bedroom suite with fold down sofa. Bar fridge (broken, leaking constanly), sink, dishwasher, 2burner cooktop, microwave. Wotif stated only one child in this room, so I rang hotel who advised it is quite OK and suitable for 2 small children, just put a remark in the bkg, which I did. When I followed up with hotel later about another matter they were rude and told me my bkg was "illegal". Long story short......they said they would honour the bkg (oh big thanks!)....I said, maybe train your staff with your product. The sofa bed was atrocious! Yes even for a kid! The base was a canvas trampoline thingy with no support underneath, but with a thin foam mattress on top. How even 1 adult could sleep on it is beyond belief. My kids kept rolling together and ending up either fighting in the midst of night or not sleeping well at all. Very disappointed. We ended up with kids in with us most of the time.
Having said that, our bed was a dream, literally. Best bed I've ever kipped in. Everything in the rooms is tired/old/dated and in need of refurbishment.
2 TVs, of which only 1 worked. The bedroom wall mounted TV was only tuned into 1 station. We tried to fix, they tried to fix, but there's no fixing that one! Very disappointing.
I might just add abouth the shower over bath combo. The bathtub is narrow at the bottom so it's really difficult to stand when showering. Cause your feet are at an angle it gets mighty slippery (our kids slipped over several times), they need to put in some grips there. Also the bath is high to climb into.

Parking: Valet only at the cheap rate. That means you must hand they keys of your expensive car over to the 18yo manning the front desk. The car park is such a secret hideaway that you can't even drive your own vehicle to even accompanied by the 18yo. Very disappointing. And just where do you stand with your car insurance on this one?

Overall, we had a wonderful time in Sydney and the hotel was OK. A few things need attention though.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brrmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2007

Always preferred serviced apartments to hotel rooms but this apartment was great, spacious and cheap.

Was there for a bucks night. Checked in, not much of a lobby but shopping centre we crossed through looks like it is still not finished. Very confusing but similar to casino resorts I guess.

Staff was good enough to give us a tour of the centre which apparently will become a resort when a gaming, entertainment club comes in...wouldnt want to know how much it will cost for an apartment then !! Monorail station in the building which was handy and the apartment was mixed in with residents which was great for privacy and made it feel like home!!

We got told of a complimentary upgrade to the junior penthouse and it was great. Views of Darling Harbour and the gardens was magnificent. Huge bathroom and room and very modern for 4 star. Will definitely come back and not worth the reviews it got !!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Flubberghusted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2007

Stayed in one bedroom suite (room # 205) with an average nightly price of AUD$145. Excellent value! We arrived to find the air-con was on (it was quite humid in Sydney the time we were there) as well as the TV in the lounge area. 5 minute walk from Museum station and AirportLink. 5 minutes to Oxford Street and Hyde Park (above Museum).

Apartment was clean and fresh. Contemporarily furnishings (sofa & matching tub seat, small work desk, 3 seat dining setting) including 2 LCD TVs; one in lounge area, one in King (split) bedroom. There were 15 stations- including 10 free Foxtel- as well as 5 radio channels programmed in to the TVs. A very small balcony with openable door looked out on to Goulburn Street. Small marble topped kitchenette with LG microwave, bar fridge, 4 burner hotplate and crockery/cutlery (4 place setting), cooking utensils, toaster, kettle etc.

Bedroom had double glazed window which was great as the hotel is situated on 2 rather busy streets. You could definately hear the difference in the lounge area. Sleep was undisturbed and peaceful with the double glazing. The King bed takes up a large amount of space (walking by it to bathroom quite cramped) but room also had a full size wardrobe with iron/board & hanging space. There was plenty of room at the foot of the bed for luggage. Small marble bathroom had quality fixtures but no bath tub for children. Height adjustable Grohe showerhead was great. All fixtures were water efficient but pressure didn't suffer at all. Heaps of clean towels were provided and even though the room rate included no daily service, fresh towels were provided each day, toilet paper and toiletries were refreshed as required and the bed was given a quick tidy up each day which was very nice.

Hotel is located opp. Travelodge and next to Vibe so there are no problems with being next to nightclubs/noisy private homes etc. There is a hotel/pub over the intersection (Macquarie Hotel) that seemed very popular but not rowdy. Downstairs is a 24 hour convenience store and a cafe that serves breakfast from 6:30am. 5 minute walk from Duffys Supermarket for a larger & cheaper selection of goods.

Worst thing about this property were the lifts (elevators). Terrible!
Slow & unpredictable (missing floors). Thankfully we were on the 2nd floor and not higher up. Nonetheless, I hope to stay here when I return to Sydney again in February as I was overall very impressed and the price was excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank msMelburnian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2007

Well the price is great for this hotel/apartments, but the condition of the unit one lot of our family group stayed in was not great, we have young baby whom of course crawls and after crawling about on the carpet in the room the tops of his feet were black!!!!!!, not nice at all
The other unit our group stayed in was a world above the first one, better fitted out and cleaner to look at
If seems as if it is luck of the draw at this hotel
The only issue with unit 2 was that there was only 1 key available for the unit and we were on different floors and of course you can only get to a different floor if you have a key with the remote for that floor, when travelling in a family group as we were this was a real pain as we had to work out how to get back into the rooms every time people went out!
Understand the security issue but don't understand why 2 keys were not available like standard in hotels!
We won't be staying here again!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank CanTravelFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2007

The apartment was clean and spacious, it was well equipped with micrwave oven, cooktop, fridge, separate dining and living room as well as a large bathroom and spacious bedroom. I liked the fact that I didn,t have to get up and attend a set time breakfast, and was able to iron clothes in the apartment. The position is great with a monorail stop in the building and light rail only a 3 minute walk away. Directly across the road from Dixon street, the Chinatown, I was able to buy food or eat out any time. My room faced a central atrium and while I didn,t have a view, I was grateful for the quiet this offered as I believe the outside rooms receive a lot of traffic noise.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank margsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Seasons Harbour Plaza
Seasons Harbour Plaza
#129 of 178 in Sydney
736 reviews
Central Business District
APX Apartments Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
BreakFree on George
BreakFree on George
#95 of 178 in Sydney
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seasons Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seasons Darling Harbour

Address: 38 Harbour St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Clarion Suites)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , Chinatown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £96 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seasons Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seasons Darling Harbour, an apartment hotel located in the heart of Sydney offering a range of oversized spacious apartments. Situated at the crossroads of Darling Harbour, the Conference precinct and Chinatown, the monorail station is a stone’s throw away whisking you to Sydney’s sights. Surrounded by an array of culinary dining restaurants and entertainment venues, our location that cannot be beat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seasons Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seasons Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Clarion Hotel Sydney
Clarion Sydney
Sydney Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing