We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seasons Darling Harbour
Ranked #156 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 26 January 2009

We booked this hotel thru wotif.com after reading most of the reviews on tripadvisor. We agree that the location is great, and the room is a nice size for the price. We had the suite including a little kitchenette and lounge room, on top of the std bedroom/ensuite.

The hotel is located at the new Dixon 1 shopping bit, outside of Dixon St Chinatown. Great location for chinese food and Paddy's Markets, and the monorail station is in the same building. Also great access to Darling Harbour, Harbourside. A decent walk to QVB & Circular Quay though. We recommend the Spanish Club and Satsuma (in #1 Dixon) for dinner!

The room was mostly clean, a few scuff marks around though. We liked the kitchenette so we could save money on breakfast, but when we went to cook, we were missing the frypan and some utensils (one fork btw us just won't do!). And the first night the internet wasn't working when my husband went to use it. We didn't try after that. Also, our room was on the chinatown side and was a bit noisy at night.

However, the location made up for it, and we had fun walking to Sydney attractions. Don't expect 5 star, but it was comfortable enough for our 4 night stay.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dubadelic_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 444 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2008

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 4 days to spend Xmas with my family. I was hesitate in booking the hotel due to some negative reviews. I have to say that the hotel wasnt the best i have stayed at but it also wasnt the worst. I agree with other reviews that the hotel is in a fantastic location but i also agree with the fact that it is a bit dirty. Some of our appliances were broken and could have been quite dangerous as we had our 15mth baby with us, and the hotel also can be quite confusing as there are two parts to the hotel. Would i stay here again?.......for the location and price..... i probably would.....would i recommend it?.......as long as you dont mind a few things not working and hard beds......yes

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Georgie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2008

This is the third time we have stayed at the Southern Cross on Harbour. It is perfectly situated near Darlilng Harbour and the top end of Dixon Street in Chinatown. Walking distance to all the facilities including Paddy's Market, Restaurants, shopping, Entertainment Centre, theatres, There is a mono rail station in the building next door and it is short walk to Central Station and the Light Rail system. We had a one bedroom suite which included lounge room and kitchen area which is perfect if you want to do some cooking but certainly not necessary as there is an abundance of eateries nearby. The price was reasonable and we were very happy with the facilities and the staff. Would recommend highly if you are looking for an apartment style hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NilesPortMacquarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2008

My partner and I booked to stay here in one of the hotel suites for 6 nights in July. We were expecting to have views of Darling Harbour as per some other reviews but we had a view of a road in Chinatown as that is essentially where this hotel is. We felt like we were staying on the road, it was so noisy. The room was dingy and dirty with hardly any lighting, the fridge wouldn't close and the toaster didn't work. The furniture in the lounge looked like it was from the 70s. The only good points were the clean new bathroom and the new comfy cloud 9 bed in the bedroom. The worst bit was being woken up early the next morning to the sound of drilling. It was so noisy it sounded like it was in our room. We kept calling reception and they kept telling us what time it was going to stop but it never did stop and the times kept changing depending on who we spoke to. The reason for the drilling is because they are renovating a shopping centre on the ground floor which was mere metres below our room. This wasn't made known to us by the company we booked with. When we couldn't stand it any longer, we got moved to one of the apartments in the separate building but this was even more dirty with food on the floor, a broken chair, filthy couch and a new noise to contend with; the noise of the lifts plus the noise of the drilling. We gave up, cancelled the rest of our stay and moved elsewhere. We won't be going back here.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelrocksNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSDHMGT, Manager at Seasons Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2009

Dear TravelrocksNZ,

It is regretful that your stay with us less than to your satisfaction.

To address issues that arose during your stay, it will addressed in order of your review.

View - Essentially, the Hotel features two wings; Hotel Suites & Serviced Apartments. Only some of our Serviced Apartments feature views which costs slightly higher in rates. However the good news is that we dont charge exorbitant rates for views of Darling Harbour. This is done in recognition of our clients budgetary concerns.

Dark, dirty and broken appliances - As we are an Apartment Hotel, all rooms are individually owned by a private Owner, very similar to Holiday Apartment rentals with the added benefit of having Hotel trained staff on site.
Appliances should get replaced immediately however furniture and general appearance is consistent with a refurbishment and Yes, a major refurbishment has commenced on rooms.

Cleanliness is however a matter we will take in stride and will be addressed with the Housekeeping team.
It is very rare that this is an issue as Cleaning Attendants value their employment however we do apologise if cleaning was an issue and will apply further training to our team.

We are glad you enjoyed the Cloud 9 beds as it was the very basic fundamentals of accommodation we felt was essential. This was basically a 5 star bed without the price tag to the room rates. It is quite rare to experience this bed outside of the 5 & 6 star Hotels.
This is a sign of things to come in our refurbishment...

The drilling and construction noise was unfortunate and was something beyond the Hotel's control despite pleas to the venue owners and construction crew. The construction has been completed for some time now. We apologise sincerely for this.

In recognition of this, for the room size, service and location; the Hotel you will see is one of the most competitive in room rates anywhere in the region. Shoebox rooms are available within the region for about 30% more than our normal room rates.

In keeping up with the changing times of Hotel standards, Australia's star rating system and the changing economic times, the Clarion Suites Darling Harbour does ultimately strive to be the best in standards of a four star Hotel. We only feature oversized Suites with also home style Serviced Apartments.

If you would like to open a dialogue and personal attention to your case. Please feel free to email our management team on reservations@sxhg.com.au quoting your review subject title.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Clarion Suites whilst in town for business purposes. This hotel is in a fantastic location for almost anything you need to do in the city, business or leisure. The hotel is a short walk to the CBD as well as Darling Harbour, IMAX, Chinatown, Entertainment Centre, George St cinema's, shopping, theaters etc, or you can catch the Monorail to most other areas around the city as there is a Monorail station located under the hotel. The rooms are clean and generous in size and have almost everything you need to be self sufficient (we had a 1 bedroom suite), the bed was comfy and the furniture was adequet. We scored a great deal which included free parking and a free Monorail pass which we used to travel to the QVB building. Only complaint We had was it can be a little noisy at times, although we slept soundly; also the hallways could do with a lick of paint and a freshen up. One other complaint was (this has nothing to do with the hotel) the "grunting" Monorail station attendent was possibly the rudest man I have ever come across, I realy think he needs to find another job as customer service is not his strong point. All in all this hotel represents great value and convenience & I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DougLakeCathie_NSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2008

I have been to Sydney many times but this is the first time I have stayed at the Clarion suites Darling Harbour. I decided to stay in an apartment/hotel as my stay was for 6 nights. I thought the rate was quite reasonable for the particular area - across the road from the Entertainment Centre, Darling Harbour & Chinatown and it is also a close walk from Central Station.
Well the room itself was quite decent - well presented and it has a seperate living room so it kinda felt like a home away from home - it features a kitchenette and a marble bathroom.
The staff there were friendly.
I would definately consider staying there again for my next trip.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bileneblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2008

We booked this hotel through our Travel Agent in the UK and thought we had got lucky because it was a great location for an even better price. However once we read some of the reveiws on this site we had started to regret our decsion and even wanted to change our booking but we were not able to.

When we got to the hotel we found the staff to be happy and helpful - they held our bags until our room was ready. When we got to our room, our bags had been already taken up and we were pleasently suprised - but then we found old food left in the microwave and the curtains looked a bit grimey. We called downsatirs and they very quickly took us to another room which was great! Clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable and the shower was strong and hot!

We had mentioned that the fridge had been turned up to high and several bottles of water had frozen and cracked - again the The staff were very helpful and removed the items from the fridge. When we got home we found that we had been charged for $200 items that had been in the fridge ( the drinks that had been removed). We called them and they immediately refunded the charges and apoligised for the error.

So yes - there are some problems at this hotel, but show me a hotel that doesn't have its problems! the difference here is that the staff are helpful and go out of thier way to find soloutions to problems that may be caused by higher up management. decisions.

If you want a place that is close to everything ( including a monorail stop!), and a place where the rooms are comfortable and the staff are friendly - then this is the place for you. In fact, we have even booked another stay there in 6 months time!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fionaanddeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Seasons Harbour Plaza
Seasons Harbour Plaza
#131 of 181 in Sydney
750 reviews
Central Business District
APX Apartments Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seasons Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seasons Darling Harbour

Address: 38 Harbour St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Clarion Suites)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , Chinatown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#98 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £73 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seasons Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seasons Darling Harbour, an apartment hotel located in the heart of Sydney offering a range of oversized spacious apartments. Situated at the crossroads of Darling Harbour, the Conference precinct and Chinatown, the monorail station is a stone’s throw away whisking you to Sydney’s sights. Surrounded by an array of culinary dining restaurants and entertainment venues, our location that cannot be beat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Seasons Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seasons Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Clarion Hotel Sydney
Clarion Sydney
Sydney Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing