We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upgraded again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astral Tower and Residences at The Star
Ranked #53 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
291 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Upgraded again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

I'd booked The Star (Astral Tower) for one night as I had a conference to attend at the Australian National Maritime Museum which is nearby to The Star. The hotel matched a Hilton room rate of $239 for a standard room.

On check in I was upgraded to a Star Suite. The suite was HUGE. It had a separate entry hall and kitchenette, toilet, huge living room, dining room, a separate bedroom with large robes, two flat screen TV's, a giant bathroom with spa bath, shower, his & hers basins and a large mirror. It was such a shame I was travelling alone, but WOW what a room. The view was superb of Sydney and Darling Harbour.

The stay was almost perfect. The only glitch was that my breakfast order (hung on the door well before the requsted time of 2am) wasn't taken so I missed breakfast. The strange thing was that during the night someone delivered a newspaper, and also the express check out slip, and yet didn't take my breakfast order.

However with the upgrade, and the friendly service, I can't complain. It was great and I'll stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maritime_Historian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    319
    156
    66
    48
See reviews for
279
320
37
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

This hotel caters for asian gamblers so unless you fit into this category I would not consider this an accommodation option for Sydney. It is also very expensive for a very average room and well below average service. I expected far more from this hotel after viewing its website and was extremely disappointed. It was no surprise to read that this hotel and casino are in financial trouble and have brought in a new director from the USA. He has a tough job ahead of him but something clearly needs to change.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bidefordbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

I firstly have to say that I had NO issue with the quality of the room, or the general friendliness of MOST staff.
However, I was staying with a friend who was offered two nights free accommodation here due to being a Pearl member, which meant we technically weren't paying hotel guests. We were told on the first night that there were no non-smoking rooms, and were put into a smoking room. Fine, we didn't complain, and accepted this.
But on the second night, we asked if there were any non-smoking rooms available since the smell was really getting to us in the smoking room and the window was sealed shut (without telling them our room number or anything). A swap was no problem, until they were given our information. The girl had to speak to her manager, who then informed us that no, we were checking out tomorrow therefore couldn't swap.
Considering it was aggravating my friend's asthma being cooped up all night in a smoky, sealed room, this felt like the most ridiculous refusal. Sure, it means more cleaning up for them, but you'd think health and safety would also have meaning for them, or even customer service!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Have stayed at the star a few times now, but cannot go past the SUITES, great for entertaining before going out to shows or dinner. If your lucky to get the water views, it's magnificent. The rooms are spacious and relaxing. The beds are very very comfortable.
I would say the only down side on this visit is the fact that the hotel does not have its own breakfast area(Bistro 80 closed)and we had to walk across from the foyer past the casino entrance(it was very hard to walk past) and up to the garden Buffet for our breakfast. As I said this was the only downside to the visit, Hopefully the restaurant will open again soon as it's very conveniently located and just a lift ride to get to it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussieaussieaussie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

My family of 5 recently stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. We arrived at midday after an early flight and were pleasantly surprised when called by reception for an earlier than 3 pm check- in. Many thanks. We were made very welcome by all staff (reception, concierge, porters). Housekeeping very helpful with extra blankets for the kids.
Apartment was 10th floor city/ harbour views- fantastic especially at night. Very quiet at all times. Spacious, very clean and well serviced daily. All amenities for a self contained stay. With 3 daughters, 2 bathrooms were gold. Two TV's so no arguments about what to watch. All appliances in good working order. Only one minor gripe- Astral pool was closed due to renovations (we knew of this) but very cruel for the kids to see an always empty pool next door at the Darling- perhaps some consideration to reciprocal use during the works. We could have used the Ian Thorpe swim centre ( Astral has a deal) but too much of a hassle both time and travel.
Great location at Darling Harbour- could walk to everything. Darling quarter playground and water features a hit with the kids. Plenty of eating options both within the Star and close by. Get a weekly mymulti ticket and hit the harbour via ferry- million dollar scenery. Easy access to zoo, Manly and the city via Circular Quay. Do a trip at night too.
Great stay and would love to do again. Recommended.

Room Tip: Higher floor for views and minimal noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment over New Year's Eve and have previously stayed here before. Obviously NYE is not a time that you will get good value for money but on our previous stay it was. We find the staff very friendly and very quick to respond to needs. The pool was under renovation at this time and I don't recall seeing that noted on the website or during booking but the location is excellent and the rooms well appointed for a family stay. The only issues we have had on both trips was that they do not pay attention to bedding types requested during booking as both times we have had to get the bedding altered which was done very quickly. Other than little issues like this it is a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Staying at Astral towers on the ninth floor was excrutiatingly noisy all night! The noise from outside the front of the casino echoed up to my room and it was hard to sleep. As for the room... the digital phone was unable to be used from 08:00am to 10:00am. I had to use my mobile to call for room service breakfast and was transferred three times. When we got breakfast (Full Monty) there was one sausage, three rashers of bacon, half a tomato, a large wad of spinach and about eight large mushrooms. The plate was swimming in black water (from the mushrooms) and the food was almost inedible. Then we tried the waffles with caramalised pineapple. THE soggiest mush I have ever seen, more like porridge! We put a personal letter to the chef on the tray before we pushed the table and plates outside our room. We never heard from anyone! Poor amenities, poor service and crap food.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a Darling harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy_vi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Darling
#6 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astral Tower and Residences at The Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

Property: Astral Tower and Residences at The Star
Address: Star City Casino Entertainment 80 Pyrmont St | Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#35 Family Hotel in Sydney
#49 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Astral Tower and Residences at The Star 5*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casino Hotel Complex situated 1 km across Darling Harbour from the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astral Tower and Residences at The Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astral Tower And Residences Hotel Sydney
Star City Sydney
Star City Hotel Sydney
City Star Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing