We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astral Tower and Residences
Ranked #55 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Splendid!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We secured a room via a " mystery" hotel booking and are do glad we did! Check in was quick, the staff were attentive and friendly. We were given an upgrade and very much appreciated the wonderful city views! The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed. Bed was great - very comfy. Whilst the room prices might usually be more than we would usually pay fir a night we feel it would be well worth it and fully intend to return. I have nothing negative to say. Thanks!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Neeceyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    325
    156
    67
    49
See reviews for
287
331
39
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Éxceptional service at this motel everywhere from the moment your alight your car,to the reception ( thanks Han),the very helpful concierge and the friendly yet discreet cleaners.Nothing is to much trouble.
Large and spotless rooms that are very well presented.Has a day bed but probably could have done with a 2 seater lounge (plenty of room) in case you have guests around.
Stunning heated pool and spa,gym.
We recieved a complimentary upgrade to a harbour bridge view room, just beautiful.
We would love to come back again.

Room Tip: Harbour facing rooms are the way to go if you like bright lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Had two nights here in early August, got the room for $159, in my opinion a bargain in Sydney. Bed was a little hard for my liking, some May like it. The baked Nee York cheesecake was as good as any I have had outside of NY.


Not sure you could rely on it, but even the crisps table was kind :).

Would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Dragonsrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I stayed here last week for a few days with my friend in a 2 bedroom apartment. I have said this before about the astral towers and the star. The rooms need renovating…They were extremely clean and well presented but the rooms need updating. Nothing exciting about them but a bed to sleep in. If the decor is not a bother to you than by all means stay here as the rooms are very clean, and you can not beat the location of the star. Restaurants galore downstairs from fine dining to basic take away or cafe. We skipped the fine dining this time and ate at the restaurants in the casino mostly asian, cheap and wonderful food and great service.

Room Tip: We found the only night that was noisy was Saturday night, a lot of young people partying on balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Fantastic. Hotel! The rooms were very spacious and luxurious and the balcony had a fantastic view of Sydney. Harbour, Darling Harbour and Sydney Tower. Service was great and friendly. The Pool was mindblowing, probably the best pool I've ever seen at a hotel. I'd recommend swimming in it at night for the full experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 227Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is quietly tasteful - new fresh decor and excellent service. The rate was very reasonable and included Buffett breakfast which was of a very high standard. The room was nice but we faced away from the harbour so not much to look at and the window was a little small making the room a little dark. The best part of the hotel was it's location in star city - excellent restaurants, live entertainment and gaming. Also close to darling harbour, china town and the city so easy for transport. My only criticism is that the hotel was not well sign posted and my pick up driver had difficulty finding it. All in all I would stay again.

Room Tip: Chose a city or harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed in the Suites at the Star, very spacious and well layer out. Good amenities, spa bath was great but not quite big enough for 2. God views of the city including the Harbour Bridge if you get a room facing in that direction. Room was a little tired but told they are in the process of upgrading, internet connection was in the middle of dining table and access cover was broken and looked like it been attempted to be repaired. Used room service and was quick, hot and delicious. Parking is a bit of a hassle as car park lift is some distance from reception and have to share with casino guest.

Room Tip: Book a room with City views, worth the extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Darling
#6 of 178 in Sydney
882 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#27 of 178 in Sydney
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astral Tower and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astral Tower and Residences

Property: Astral Tower and Residences
Address: 80 Pyrmont St | 80 Pyrmont St, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#35 Family Hotel in Sydney
#51 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Astral Tower and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're looking for a weekend escape, a short stay or a place to call home for a Sydney holiday, Astral Tower provides contemporary five-star accommodation like no other with stunning views. If you're looking for something a little more spacious, Astral Residences offer everything you need if you're looking for apartment style living for business or leisure. We have one, two and three bedroom serviced apartments at our residences, each with their own private balcony and in-room media centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astral Tower and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astral Tower And Residences Hotel Sydney
Star City Sydney
Star City Hotel Sydney
City Star Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing