We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costly room service offset by free parking.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astral Tower and Residences
Ranked #49 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I guess they must pay their staff well here. I hope so because when it costs $9.50 to have a bit of food delivered to your room you’re not left with much to tip them with.

The rooms are a fair size and the views aren’t bad from nearly all perspectives. Don’t worry about paying extra for a superior view unless you’re obsessed with the bridge, the cityscape is fine. The rooms don’t have private balconies (at least, mine didn’t) but you can step outside. There is a continuous balcony that is shared, so keep your curtains closed if you need privacy at any time.

Parking is free for guests. Just get your ticket endorsed. That’s actually quite a saving compared to other hotels.

It’s quiet in the rooms, but it is part of the Star so unless you want to go for a walk to Darling Harbour you’re stuck with the shops and restaurants in the Casino complex which can be rather limiting and of a type.

Staff attitude is good.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying extra for view of harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

555 - 561 of 1,132 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Booked as the mother of the bride for a hen's party with her bridesmaids. The room was expensive but with 3 bedrooms and a lovely view was worth it. No complaints about the accommodation.
What I would complain about was the charge made to my daughter's (the bride) credit card despite me supplying my cc details when booking. It successfully blocked her from using it for several days post stay. The person responsible for room cleaning on our morning of departure "lurked" outside the door. He arrived at least an hour before out check out time and persisted in ringing the bell several times. I found this intensely annoying and would have complained except I then had to deal with the previous complaint of the credit card on check out.
In all room great; service poor for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference. Rooms are large and modern, I was on the 12th floor with amazing views of the city and Harbour Bridge. When I checked in the lady at the front desk was a bit gruff but everyone else was fantastic.
I would highly recommend this hotel if you're staying around Darling Harbour or want to be close to the Casino.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank robnik10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed here for 1 night being a Monday night to go to a meeting and a show. Paid $400+ for a part harbour view and buffet brekky. I thought the use of "harbour view room" was exaggerated. You had to search for the view. Wasn't a bad stay, it was mostly for the location that we stayed. Wouldn't be at the top of my list of places to stay again. Unless we were having a big night out. Buffet was brilliant and so were all the staff that we encountered. Part of the deal that we got was 2 free drinks at the bar. Long story short, there was a mix up and they ended up sending us 2 x drink vouchers that we will more than likely not use in the next 12 months. But it was good that they chased us up about it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becca79newton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We secured a room via a " mystery" hotel booking and are do glad we did! Check in was quick, the staff were attentive and friendly. We were given an upgrade and very much appreciated the wonderful city views! The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed. Bed was great - very comfy. Whilst the room prices might usually be more than we would usually pay fir a night we feel it would be well worth it and fully intend to return. I have nothing negative to say. Thanks!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Neeceyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Éxceptional service at this motel everywhere from the moment your alight your car,to the reception ( thanks Han),the very helpful concierge and the friendly yet discreet cleaners.Nothing is to much trouble.
Large and spotless rooms that are very well presented.Has a day bed but probably could have done with a 2 seater lounge (plenty of room) in case you have guests around.
Stunning heated pool and spa,gym.
We recieved a complimentary upgrade to a harbour bridge view room, just beautiful.
We would love to come back again.

Room Tip: Harbour facing rooms are the way to go if you like bright lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank steven w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Had two nights here in early August, got the room for $159, in my opinion a bargain in Sydney. Bed was a little hard for my liking, some May like it. The baked Nee York cheesecake was as good as any I have had outside of NY.


Not sure you could rely on it, but even the crisps table was kind :).

Would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Dragonsrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Darling
#10 of 186 in Sydney
941 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#76 of 186 in Sydney
1,542 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Pitt Street, Sydney
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#32 of 186 in Sydney
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astral Tower and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astral Tower and Residences

Address: 80 Pyrmont St, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#27 Family Hotel in Sydney
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £162 - £461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Astral Tower and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're looking for a weekend escape, a short stay or a place to call home for a Sydney holiday, Astral Tower provides contemporary five-star accommodation like no other with stunning views. If you're looking for something a little more spacious, Astral Residences offer everything you need if you're looking for apartment style living for business or leisure. We have one, two and three bedroom serviced apartments at our residences, each with their own private balcony and in-room media centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Astral Tower and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astral Tower And Residences Hotel Sydney
Star City Sydney
Star City Hotel Sydney
City Star Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing