We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will definately return to this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Langham, Sydney
Ranked #8 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We had only booked in for one night at the end of our trip to NSW. All of the staff are very professional and helpful. We were upgraded on arrival which was an added bonus. The room was very comfortable, we checked in at lunch time and then showered and bathed then went out to dinner (Mondays the restaurant is closed) the turndown service was great the bathroom towels etc were replenished which was really great. The location is excellent a short walk to the rocks and Circular quay and Darling harbour. I would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I booked direct with the hotel
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargE-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,810)
There are newer reviews for The Langham, Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,429 - 1,435 of 1,812 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

My partner and I stayed here on our first child free night in 2 years and it was the perfect romantic winter escape. The service at this hotel sets a standard by which I will judge service provision from now on.

As for the hotel itself, the only flaw I noticed was some of the tiles around the spa were in poor repair. It made the area seem dirty in a way. But this is easily overlooked considering the faultless service and surroundings we otherwise experienced.

It is also worth noting that this is the first time I have stayed in such a classically styled hotel as opposed to more edgy, modern establishments. If I was up for a big night on the town, I may have found the surroundings a bit too sedate. As it turns out this was the perfect setting for our relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vitrioleuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I am so happy we stayed at this hotel in Sydney. It was so charming and unique and everything we hoped for during our stay. The rooms are lovely and so comfortable. Everyone who we encountered at The Observatory definitely went above and beyond regarding customer service. The food in the restaurant was delicious -- ambiance was perfect. The spa is beautiful. We all loved this hotel. Definitely would only stay at The Observatory upon return to Sydney.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlfromca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed in the Observatory hotel for our last week in Oz. We arrived in the hotel and were greeted by very professional staff who were extremley helpful. The room we stayed in was a good size with all of the creature comforts and more. The hotel is located in what seems to be the middle of a normal residential street. As long as you don't mind walking up and down some hills the location is ideal for the centre. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Well recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodiePlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We had a high tea at the hotel last year and were very impressed. We decided then that it would be nice to celebrate my wife's 60th birthday at this hotel which we did and found it to be a true 5 star hotel. From the moment we arrived we were treated as someone special by all the staff. The room was plush and welcoming making us feel relaxed. The bathroom was huge with top class toiletries. Great swimming pool, fantastic breakfast, conscientious staff. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tosh48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Wonderful hotel. Can't say enough nice things. The service is excellent-from the concierge to the bell staff, front desk and restaurant. All outstanding. Rooms are spacious, quiet and comfortable. This was the nicest hotel of our entire stay in Australia and we would highly recommend to any traveller- business, family or couple for leisure. A+!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
4  Thank Mexstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here last night to celebrate our wedding anniversary and admittedly have stayed a couple of times before too. This time I thought I was going to stay somewhere different but when you have already experienced perfection then it has a habit of drawing you back! So often such experiences are hard to repeat again and again but yet The Observatory, to us, has not managed to falter! The service is spot on - warm, polite and 100% attentive. Just what I want. The rooms are lovely, very 'English old worlde-ish' but also just kept so clean and well appointed. The room temperature was also just right and oh SO fabulous to have a turn-down service to come 'home' to at the end of the evening. It felt so homely and inviting with subtle lighting, slippers by the bed, curtains drawn and the room tidied. We also had early evening Tapas in The Globe Bar before going out for dinner which is just wonderfully relaxing and inviting... like a rich olden day den / library. Again, the service faultless and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrettyIsParamount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 178 in Sydney
6,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 178 in Sydney
2,520 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 178 in Sydney
4,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Sydney

Address: 89 - 113 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £199 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Sydney's most exclusive harbourside address, The Langham, Sydney. Nestled in the historic rocks district, on famous Kent Street, this beautiful five star retreat has recently undergone a grand transformation, now boasting the largest guestrooms in the city. All rooms and suites feature opening windows, Juliette balconies and/or signature terraces, with the focus remaining on a grand residence experience for guests. Kent Street enjoys seclusion and privacy, whilst being a five minute stroll through The Rocks to The CBD; and all of Sydney's iconic locations. Our signature Pink Taxi is onsite to deliver you to any appointment you need within the CBD, with compliments. Guests are treated to Western Harbour views across White Bay or a stunning city skyline outlook across Sydney. Our global partner, Wedgwood, joins us for Afternoon Tea hosted in opulent Palm Court. Channelling pure sophistication, indulge in harbourside views, light drenched spaces and ambience jazz playing. As the sun sets over Palm Court Bar, jazz and mixology come together to create a gastronomical tasting experience like no other. The hotel is also host to Sydney dining hotspot "Kent Street Kitchen" led by internationally acclaimed Executive Chef, Thomas Heinrich. Delivering old world techniques combined with modern sophistication, everything in European chic can be anticipated. Featuring one of Sydney's most beautiful Chef's Table, three metres of white marble flanked by high back salmon chairs, Thomas Heinrich welcomes you to his personal table, positioned in the middle of the restaurant. The Day Spa at The Langham, Sydney continues to offer relaxation and luxury at the highest level when it comes to personal escape. Our newly designed and extended spa features facials, massages advanced skin care from German beauty pioneers, BABOR, exclusive Blue Mountains based IKOU and new partner, Aromatherapy Associates. The Langham, Sydney's renowned 20m indoor pool, voted Sydney's #1 hotel pool experience, features a star-dappled sky ceiling, meaning guests can swim under the stars, any time of the day or night. With a strong focus on luxury local experiences; The Langham, Sydney also offers private butler tennis afternoons, elegant boxed take-away picnics, unique terrace dinners, cocktail tasting experiences and local touring options for a luxury clientele. Modern Luxury and attention to detail, like Sydney has never experienced. Please, join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing