We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance and attention to detail” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Langham, Sydney
Ranked #8 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Elegance and attention to detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

I was amazed to get The Observatory Hotel as a great deal through wotif.com for two nights. Valet parking (paid less per night here than other hotels in Sydney) and the check-in process was quick, super polite and friendly. The room on the third floor was large and beautifully furnished in an understated elegant fashion and also had a small balcony overlooking the front of the hotel. Luxury products in the spacious bathroom, big shower, warm fluffy towels (heated towel rail) and choice of pillow types available from housekeeping. Breakfast at discounted rate if taken as an option at check-in and cooked to order with cold buffet for everything else. Overall, my stay at this hotel was a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cstamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Warmest Greetings from The Observatory Hotel

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at The Observatory Hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your experience; it is always a pleasure to share positive feedback with our team.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Observatory Hotel.

Kindest of regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,218
    255
    94
    32
    40
See reviews for
241
835
84
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

This hotel makes you feel special. Right from the moment you arrive, the staff are very welcoming and do whatever it takes to make you settle in comfortably. The rooms are large and have all you could wish for and more, although I will say our bed seemed a bit droopy on one side. The beautiful marble bathrooms are relaxing and luxurious. The location is a short walk to the Rocks.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Warmest Greetings from The Observatory Hotel!

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of your recent stay at The Observatory Hotel.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback to share with our associates.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Observatory Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kindest of regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Check in was painless and quick. Staff were quite friendly.

Room had an old world charm about it. Very spacious and comfortable. Whole hotel was very elegant.

Only downside was location. A little out of the way. Saying that, it is only a 10 minute walk to the rocks and circular quay.

Overall a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kensa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Warmest Greetings from The Observatory Hotel!

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of your recent stay at The Observatory Hotel.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback to share with our associates.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Observatory Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kindest of regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

My second stay at this hotel. This time travelling with my pug and we both enjoyed our stay. Pity they don't have courtyard rooms but the hotel upgraded me to a suite with a large balcony.

Understandable $50 surcharge for the pet per night (Staff explained all pet rules etc when I made the booking so no surprises). Added bonus of a pet bed and complimentary gourmet dog treats supplied. My pug immediately made herself at home in her new bed and well, the treats were opened before I opened the curtains. Fun room service pet menu too but too expensive for me.

All of the staff were efficient, professional, friendly, helpful and welcoming. Room service fries were perfect.

Don't miss going down to the Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel on the corner for a beer or two and following the stream of bridal limos up the hill to the Observatory Hill Park to check out the view. The 433 bus that leaves from the bottom of observatory hill is handy as it goes past circular quay and into the city (on route to Balmain). It is a lovely walk though from Kent St down through the Rocks area to Circular Quay.

I would stay here again and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_Nat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Warmest Greetings from The Observatory Hotel!

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of your recent stay at The Observatory Hotel.
I am delighted you were able to stay with your Pup and she enjoyed the in room treats.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback to share with our associates.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Observatory Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kindest of regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, and everything was perfect! The concierge was amazing, from the time we arrived to when we left, they were very professional, took the effort to learn our names and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were 'old fashioned' but very clean and spacious. They forgot my paper one morning, however when I rang them, they bought one up within 5 mins. I could not fault this hotel at all and would happily recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Warmest Greetings from The Observatory Hotel!

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of your recent stay at The Observatory Hotel.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback to share with our associates.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Observatory Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kindest of regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

A comfortable and elegant hotel, with pleasant and unobtrusive service, dignified decor and well positioned for restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Warmest Greetings from The Observatory Hotel!

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of your recent stay at The Observatory Hotel.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback to share with our associates.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Observatory Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kindest of regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

We were lucky enough to pick this hotel up with a Mystery Wotif booking, and have to say what an amazing hotel. 5 Star service at its best. Arriving at the hotel, was greated by excellent valet, who walked me to reception with my bags, and introduced me to the recpetion, who checked me in, and offering all of the services of this old fashioned establishment. I was blown away by how old and luxurious these rooms are. Bathroom, excellent, bedroom excellent, it had everything. We were on the third floor and had a balcony overlooking the tennis court opposite. The rooms were quiet, service brilliant. This is a must place to stay, and all at a brilliant rate. Allot of establishments should learn what excellent customer service is, and this place has it. Obvious I have a gripe with Credit Card Surcharge, and for all the meals and service which is reflective of a 5 star hotel, was charged this fee. Wish we could start a no surcharge credit card fee rebellion!

Room Tip: We had third room balcony room, just perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigandblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Warmest Greetings from The Observatory Hotel!

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of your recent stay at The Observatory Hotel.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback to share with our associates.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Observatory Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kindest of regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,005 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Park Hyatt Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#5 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,269 reviews
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Sydney

Property: The Langham, Sydney
Address: 89 - 113 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Sydney's most exclusive harbourside address, The Langham, Sydney. Nestled in the historic rocks district, on famous Kent Street, this beautiful five star retreat has recently undergone a grand transformation, now boasting the largest guestrooms in the city. All rooms and suites feature opening windows, Juliette balconies and/or signature terraces, with the focus remaining on a grand residence experience for guests. Kent Street enjoys seclusion and privacy, whilst being a five minute stroll through The Rocks to The CBD; and all of Sydney's iconic locations. Our signature Pink Taxi is onsite to deliver you to any appointment you need within the CBD, with compliments. Guests are treated to Western Harbour views across White Bay or a stunning city skyline outlook across Sydney. Our global partner, Wedgwood, joins us for Afternoon Tea hosted in opulent Palm Court. Channelling pure sophistication, indulge in harbourside views, light drenched spaces and ambience jazz playing. As the sun sets over Palm Court Bar, jazz and mixology come together to create a gastronomical tasting experience like no other. The hotel is also host to Sydney dining hotspot "Kent Street Kitchen" led by internationally acclaimed Executive Chef, Thomas Heinrich. Delivering old world techniques combined with modern sophistication, everything in European chic can be anticipated. Featuring one of Sydney's most beautiful Chef's Table, three metres of white marble flanked by high back salmon chairs, Thomas Heinrich welcomes you to his personal table, positioned in the middle of the restaurant. The Day Spa at The Langham, Sydney continues to offer relaxation and luxury at the highest level when it comes to personal escape. Our newly designed and extended spa features facials, massages advanced skin care from German beauty pioneers, BABOR, exclusive Blue Mountains based IKOU and new partner, Aromatherapy Associates. The Langham, Sydney's renowned 20m indoor pool, voted Sydney's #1 hotel pool experience, features a star-dappled sky ceiling, meaning guests can swim under the stars, any time of the day or night. With a strong focus on luxury local experiences; The Langham, Sydney also offers private butler tennis afternoons, elegant boxed take-away picnics, unique terrace dinners, cocktail tasting experiences and local touring options for a luxury clientele. Modern Luxury and attention to detail, like Sydney has never experienced. Please, join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travelbag and Southall Travel so you can book your The Langham, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing