We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th birthday stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Langham, Sydney
Ranked #8 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a delightful hotel !! Excellent staff, great facilities, especially the pool, spa and steam room. It has something about it that makes it very special. Small touches add to the experience creating a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Ross B

Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to read your feedback!

It is a delight to read your wonderful feedback!

At Langham, we pride ourselves on knowing our guests & building great memories. I am delighted that you left with your own special memories. We are very fortunate to have a wonderful team here at The Langham, Sydney that are dedicated to exceeding our guests’ expectations.

It is a delight to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to our staff, I am sure they will be pleased to hear they played a part in making your birthday stay a memorable one!

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Sydney in the future!

Best Regards,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

894 - 900 of 1,862 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

I booked 2 rooms for my parents 50th wedding anniversary. First of all they left 4 little petit fours in my parents room saying Happy 15th Wedding Anniversary. Honestly I wish they had not bothered, it was quite insulting actually. Questioned the extra debits on my credit card and the guy at reception gave me the complete wrong answer so I asked to speak to the manager who made more sense phew. Train your staff properly!!!!! Ordered a hot breakfast with coffee, it was all cold so I could not eat it. Also I asked for some sauce, it never arrived. Too much in a rush for me to complain. Air conditioning in both rooms was poor. The Langham is not one of those trendy new hotels however it is looking tired. I would never stay there again and I have already not recommended it to my friends. Sorry!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
15  Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Fiona M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney.

We do have very high standard for both customer service and our overall guest experience and I am disappointed to hear your experience did not meet your expectations.I have personally followed up with all the relevant department heads, who have all begun implementing processes to ensure these things don't happen again.

I am pleased to let you know that since taking over the hotel, we have made every effort to make many improvements to infrastructure within the hotel and have upgraded many air conditioning units, in room entertainment and wireless internet. We are committed to continuing these investments to better our guest experience.

I hope that you will accept our apology and allow us the opportunity to show you this level of service is not indicative of the usual high standard at The Langham, Sydney.

Best Regards,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I recently spent the night at the Langham for a surprise weekend for my husband's 30th birthday and it did not disappoint. We were in room 314 - absolutely gorgeous. Marble bathroom in fantastic condition, beautiful views from the outside balcony and the room was just stunning. The pillow menu was impressive, service from the staff was first class - even the little details like a plate of sweets with "happy birthday" written in chocolate added a beautiful touch for a special weekend.

I can't speak for the other reviews commenting on the quality of the rooms, or the noise for that matter. We had a very quiet, beautifully presented room that did not disappoint.

Paul in the bar was friendly and makes the best drinks.

I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor (if you're a non smoker)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Chris J,

Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to read your feedback!

We do have a very high standard for both customer service and the overall guest experience which I am glad you got to experience this during your husband's 30th birthday.

We are very fortunate to have a wonderful team here at The Langham, Sydney that are dedicated to exceeding expectations & making our guests experiences truly memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to The Langham, Sydney in the future!

Best Regards,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I was booked into this hotel as part of a conference so expectations were reasonably low.

My room was a "Deluxe City View" but it was on the 1st floor overlooking a building site and facing in the opposite direction to the city.

The room itself was large and comfortable but there were plenty of noises from all around to keep you awake.

They also had some strange "automation" of the lighting and curtains. I couldn't work out how to turn off some of the lights so I had to remove the globes.

The air-conditioning cycled between off and blasting cold air all night so that was less than ideal.

This was once a grand hotel, but I think that was in the 80s.

Full marks to the staff though, they all worked really hard with what they had.

Room Tip: You have to choose between facing the large building site or the street. The Hotel is only 3 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melbourne504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Melbourne504,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney. Guest feedback both positive and negative is extremely important and on this occasion provides management with an opportunity to address areas of concern and make improvements.

Since taking over the hotel, we have made every effort to make many improvements to infrastructure within the hotel and have upgraded many air conditioning units, in room entertainment and wireless internet. We are committed to continuing these investments to better our guest experience.

I hope that you will accept our apology and allow us the opportunity to show you this level of service is not indicative of the usual high standard at The Langham, Sydney.


Best Regards,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is a really nice hotel, very quaint and stylish. Right smack bang in the heart of the city, it's difficult to find a better location (especially if you are a tourist and fancy checking out the rocks area).

The only downside to the stay, was that the wifi wasn't free. I find it really annoying when I need to check a mail or look something up and am asked to pay a few dollars for it, it just seems tight. It's a 4-5 star, so wifi should be free no question.

Other than that they stay was lovely, service was top class. Staff were friendly & polite so top marks there. Location, great etc etc.

Would definitely recommend it. Met Geoffrey Rush at reception when we checked in, so you are in good company if you stay here :)

Room Tip: Not sure, only stayed in 1 ! Mine faced Kent street and was super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hey_funboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear hey_funboy,

It is a pleasure to read your delightful comments & we are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at The Langham, Sydney!

I'm delighted you were able to take advantage of our location; we think our location is quite special and gives our guests a residential experience of Sydney.

With regard to WiFi, we do offer complimentary WiFi internet in guest rooms up to 200MB daily when guest enrol in our complimentary 1865 Loyalty Programme. I apologize if you were not informed and offered the opportunity to join.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best Regards,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed in room 302 for the first night of our honeymoon and loved it so much booked a second night! This is a great place to stay. We booked a junior suite and were upgraded to a full suite (thank you). The room had everything - so much thought had gone into the details. Fantastic service from all staff - nothing to much trouble for anyone. Great room service (try the trifle) and excellent buffet breakfast. We plan to come back soon.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank anzacsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear anzacsaway,

It is a delight to read your wonderful feedback!

At Langham, we pride ourselves on knowing our guests & building great memories. I am delighted that you left with your own special memories.

We do have a very high standard for both customer service and the overall guest experience which I am glad you got to experience during your stay. We are very fortunate to have a wonderful team here at The Langham, Sydney that are dedicated to delivering enchanting encounters.

I will be sure to share your feedback with the team; they will be delighted to hear they played a special part in making your Honeymoon so memorable.

The team here at The Langham, Sydney are looking forward to welcoming you and your husband back in the future!

Best Regards,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

I recently visited Sydney and thoroughly enjoyed my 2 nights stay here. Great location, great staff and perfect ambience.

Most of the city attractions are in walking distance. Prices are bit high but that's true for most good hotels in Sydney CBD. Look forward to coming back.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank RV70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 179 in Sydney
1,385 reviews
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#35 of 179 in Sydney
6,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 179 in Sydney
2,579 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#14 of 179 in Sydney
2,042 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#29 of 179 in Sydney
4,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Sydney

Address: 89 - 113 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £207 - £508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Sydney's most exclusive harbourside address, The Langham, Sydney. From stunning Western Harbour facing views to our Historic Rocks district location, The Langham, Sydney is truly Sydney’s most exclusive address. Voted one of the Top 100 Hotels in the World; this luxurious property features a Sotheby’s artwork collection and the largest rooms in the city. Every room is a haven of plush, bespoke furnishings amidst soft panelled walls and high ceilings. All rooms and suites feature opening windows, Juliette balconies and/or signature terraces, with the focus remaining on a grand residence experience for guests. Guests are treated to Western Harbour views across White Bay or a stunning city outlook across Sydney. Nestled in the quaint cobble stoned streets hidden in the city, we are located amongst a tranquil yet convenient proximity to some of the city’s most quintessential experiences. Our global partner, Wedgwood, joins us for Afternoon Tea hosted in opulent Palm Court. Our iconic Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood features hand-curated gateaux, macarons and savoury delights designed by our in-house Patissier. Channelling pure sophistication, indulge in harbourside views, light drenched spaces and ambience jazz playing. As the sun sets over Palm Court Bar, jazz and mixology come together to create a gastronomical tasting experience like no other. The hotel is also host to Sydney dining hotspot "Bistro Remy" led by classically French-trained Executive Chef, Dave Whitting. The upscale, neighbourhood bistro contrasts classic technique with modern interpretation, serving reinvented bistro classics. Expect signature dishes such as Twice Cooked Soufflé, Black Ash Tortellini, Pink Snapper Cerviche right through Grainge Angus Beef with Béarnaise Sauce and Frites, Roast Pork with Apple and Duck Confit, all created with love, for a neighbourhood feel. For an indulgent experience into relaxation, join our award winning day spa with rejuvenating treatments & techno-gym facilities. Of course, this includes a few laps on our star-dappled underground pool amongst sandstone pavements for the ultimate spa stay. The Day Spa at The Langham, Sydney offers relaxation and luxury at the highest level when it comes to personal escape. Featuring facials, massages advanced skin care from German beauty pioneers, BABOR, exclusive Blue Mountains based IKOU and new partner, Aromatherapy Associates. The Langham, Sydney's renowned 20m indoor pool, voted Sydney's #1 hotel pool experience, features a star-dappled sky ceiling, meaning guests can swim under the stars, any time of the day or night. Modern Luxury and attention to detail, like Sydney has never experienced. Please, join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Langham, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing