We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Langham, Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Langham, Sydney
Ranked #7 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Beautiful hotel in The Rocks, Sydney. Short walk to Circular Quay which was perfect for our stay. Gorgeous hotel where you really feel like the only guest. Very peaceful. Lovely staff and dinner in Galileo was amazing!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

852 - 858 of 1,836 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Although knowing the Langham brand for sometimes, the website gallery for this particular property does not show how excellent it actually is, so after much hesitation, we booked a junior harbourview suite for our short stay. Except some faults at breakfast room which we hope by now have been improved after contacting the hotel directly, our stay was the best out of numerous trips / places to stay in Sydney, the concierge, the front desk, housekeeping etc... were all professional, warm with old world style, the location is in an older, quiet, very central but rather charming part of Sydney harbour area. We love the fact that we could walk to Circular Quay, Opera House, the Fish market, could push for DFO but opted for a quick taxi ride instead, etc.....The balcony for this suite is probably one of the most generous for the same standard and similar locations that I have ever stayed, if one could, do request for a suite with balcony facing the harbour and not mix with cityview. We were not fussed as the suite size as well as its marble bathroom are the most generous we found in Sydney so far. I still fondly remember it after three month staying there, so it's good sign we'll be back :-)

Room Tip: Junior Suite with harbourview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CitizenoftheWorld96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Lovely hotel
Pet Friendly
Left gorgeous package for my 7yo, mini dressing gown, slippers, story book, gingerbread man, mini backpack just so sweet
The bed is amazing, pillows divine
Total luxury what can i say, the POOL is just mind blowing with the dark roof with appearance of stars.
Staff are just lovely (excepting cranky pants at the spa who snaps at you to sign in before going to the pool, guess everyone has bad days)
Highly recommend

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking harbour on the BRIDGE side, or you might up with a view of a contruction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaffyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here for a romantic night and I can truly say I felt like a princess :) We got this from a wotif secret deal it is not normally something we would have chosen as it is more than we would usually spend but with the deal it was really reasonable and a great surprise! This place is so so beautiful :) the biggest king size bed I have ever slept in and the bathroom was like out of a movie lol has to be seen to be believed!!

The staff were really attentive but not over the top. The only down side was we asked for our car to be ready in the morning as we had to get to the airport and when we got down there they had the wrong car!! and we had to wait another ten minutes for them to retrieve it making us leave later than what we wanted to. But with the overall experience this was a tiny thing and they were really apologetic.

I would definitely recommend this to men if they want to surprise their partner with romance the brownie points you will receive will make it very worthwhile!!! :))

Awesome location too very close to the rocks and a pleasant walk to many nice bars and restaurants :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BatemansBayHappy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Pros: Our king bedroom was spacious, very quiet and overall an ideal place for sleeping. We overslept pretty much most of our stay due to the highest comfort level provided for by this place. We loved the shabby, quaint feel of the room. It feels more like staying at someone's home than some overtly polished hotel. The service and staff are also good, can't complain.

Some things to improve on:

1. Wifi charges. This just leaves a bad after taste and does significantly affect the stay in a negative way. It's not like one cannot afford to pay $4.95 for a 24 hour usage, but the idea of penny pinching for something so basic as the internet these days was so disappointing.

2. The smell of chlorine/bleach by the pool area is quite strong.

3. Again about penny pinching is the non-complimentary mini bar. For a truly 5 star experience, I expect to be buying the whole experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Had a very comfortable, enjoyable stay at the Langham. The dining experience and the waiting staff were particularly memorable, nothing was too much trouble, they were attentive yet not over-bearing. The indoor pool and spa area was also very good. On first glance some of furnishings at the hotel look a bit shabby but once you have spent time there you realise that it's part of the charm.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank snowsfieldsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We just dropped in for a cocktail and a beer and have to compliment all the staff on the most professional service. The bar staff were so caring in preparing the Mojito to ensure the utmost in quality and taste. We wish we got the name of the bar tender who had made the Mojito this afternoon as he is an asset to the establishment. All other staff were most friendly and waiting to serve. Thanks for a memorable short stop in one of the best places in Sydney. We will have to stay overnight next time.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 179 in Sydney
2,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#32 of 179 in Sydney
6,522 reviews
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 179 in Sydney
1,352 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 179 in Sydney
4,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Sydney

Address: 89 - 113 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#7 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £202 - £422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Sydney's most exclusive harbourside address, The Langham, Sydney. From stunning Western Harbour facing views to our Historic Rocks district location, The Langham, Sydney is truly Sydney’s most exclusive address. Voted one of the Top 100 Hotels in the World; this luxurious property features a Sotheby’s artwork collection and the largest rooms in the city. Every room is a haven of plush, bespoke furnishings amidst soft panelled walls and high ceilings. All rooms and suites feature opening windows, Juliette balconies and/or signature terraces, with the focus remaining on a grand residence experience for guests. Guests are treated to Western Harbour views across White Bay or a stunning city outlook across Sydney. Nestled in the quaint cobble stoned streets hidden in the city, we are located amongst a tranquil yet convenient proximity to some of the city’s most quintessential experiences. Our global partner, Wedgwood, joins us for Afternoon Tea hosted in opulent Palm Court. Our iconic Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood features hand-curated gateaux, macarons and savoury delights designed by our in-house Patissier. Channelling pure sophistication, indulge in harbourside views, light drenched spaces and ambience jazz playing. As the sun sets over Palm Court Bar, jazz and mixology come together to create a gastronomical tasting experience like no other. The hotel is also host to Sydney dining hotspot "Bistro Remy" led by classically French-trained Executive Chef, Dave Whitting. The upscale, neighbourhood bistro contrasts classic technique with modern interpretation, serving reinvented bistro classics. Expect signature dishes such as Twice Cooked Soufflé, Black Ash Tortellini, Pink Snapper Cerviche right through Grainge Angus Beef with Béarnaise Sauce and Frites, Roast Pork with Apple and Duck Confit, all created with love, for a neighbourhood feel. For an indulgent experience into relaxation, join our award winning day spa with rejuvenating treatments & techno-gym facilities. Of course, this includes a few laps on our star-dappled underground pool amongst sandstone pavements for the ultimate spa stay. The Day Spa at The Langham, Sydney offers relaxation and luxury at the highest level when it comes to personal escape. Featuring facials, massages advanced skin care from German beauty pioneers, BABOR, exclusive Blue Mountains based IKOU and new partner, Aromatherapy Associates. The Langham, Sydney's renowned 20m indoor pool, voted Sydney's #1 hotel pool experience, features a star-dappled sky ceiling, meaning guests can swim under the stars, any time of the day or night. Modern Luxury and attention to detail, like Sydney has never experienced. Please, join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing