We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury old style hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Langham, Sydney
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Luxury old style hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in the older part of Sydney. Large rooms, comfy beds, one of the best buffet breakfasts that I've had, pretty pool. The only drama is the day spa was booked out, so book in advance if you want a treatment.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmmmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,243
    256
    95
    33
    40
See reviews for
244
854
85
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

A piece of old England in beautiful Sydney. Spacious rooms with not perfect window frames for a windy city as Sydney. The best part is a lavish breakfast buffet with the best 4ever service that I had. In September 2014 they will start a 4 months (un-necessary) multimillion renovation. Hope they keep the same flavour and prices

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GuidoCarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the great service at the Langham's. We stayed here for my fiancee's surprise birthday. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous. I checked out the Globe bar and had a nice champagne there just before going out to the party and it was a nice and relaxing place to have your pre dinner drinks. The buffet breakfast was also quite nice with attentive service although there might be a lager variety of selections in the breakfast buffets of other hotels in the area. The bed was comfortable and they had an extensive pillow menu which is a nice plus if you are used a custom pillow for the night.
We tried the couples massage in the spa and we were dissapointed with the service to say the least. Starting from the massage table to the therapist techniques nothing was 5 star. The package was expensive for the service we had and not relaxing as it is supposed to be. I have tried spas massages in other hotels in Darling Harbour and you can definitely get a much more professional service there in terms of the spa.
We will be back to the hotel for stays but wouldn't try the spa or recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose rooms that are away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahmina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
168 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have stayed at the Langham when it was the Observatory and this was our first stay in the property since changeover. The large rooms, classic style and location remain fantastic. There were two disappointments for us. Firstly, the Langham theme involves a very floral pink decor which is everywhere. This is quite girly and while my wife didn't mind it so much, I found it a bit overpowering.

The second problem for us was breakfast on the Sunday morning. They were quite busy and trying to fit everyone into the main dining room. They were not using the bar area at all and we ended up having to wait more than 30 mins to get in (and having to remind them that we were still waiting - they seemed to forget us twice) and then to find that the buffet had been swept clean by the marauding hoards. Not what you expect from a very expensive breakfast. A better approach would have been to pump us full of coffees / juices and supply newspapers while we wait or to open up the bar area as an overflow.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnzsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

ALL the staff at this Hotel were amazing. Huge rooms with double doors.
We were travelling with my grandson and they were very accomodating with him.
We will be back after they reopen from renovations.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Langham had meet all expectations and more. I wanted accommodation that provided a executive club lounge where my friends hens party was a haven. We were impressed with
waking up each morning to a lavish Continental breakfast, and in the evening drinks and canapés where each food item was a work of art, we felt like princesses.
We all slept well with the double glazing windows, comfortable beds and in a spacious room with superior decor .
The Langham staff were consistently attentive to your needs.
The Langham know the needs and desires of each person with it being so perfectly situated to the CBD and beside wonderful shopping.
Thank you Langham for making our princess dreams come true.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank integrityjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I like the Langham Hotels because of their consistency. This hotel was The Observatory and it still retains its charm. The rooms are of a good size , clean and well appointed. Loved the bed, it was very comfortable. The bathroom was a good size and had the amenities you would expect of a five star hotel. Enjoyed the breakfast with clients, it was a quality buffet with good service. Also had a meeting in the bar/coffee area and it was comfortable, relaxed & amiable.
All in all an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Have a Platinum Amex
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,096 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Sydney

Property: The Langham, Sydney
Address: 89 - 113 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Sydney's most exclusive harbourside address, The Langham, Sydney. Nestled in the historic rocks district, on famous Kent Street, this beautiful five star retreat has recently undergone a grand transformation, now boasting the largest guestrooms in the city. All rooms and suites feature opening windows, Juliette balconies and/or signature terraces, with the focus remaining on a grand residence experience for guests. Kent Street enjoys seclusion and privacy, whilst being a five minute stroll through The Rocks to The CBD; and all of Sydney's iconic locations. Our signature Pink Taxi is onsite to deliver you to any appointment you need within the CBD, with compliments. Guests are treated to Western Harbour views across White Bay or a stunning city skyline outlook across Sydney. Our global partner, Wedgwood, joins us for Afternoon Tea hosted in opulent Palm Court. Channelling pure sophistication, indulge in harbourside views, light drenched spaces and ambience jazz playing. As the sun sets over Palm Court Bar, jazz and mixology come together to create a gastronomical tasting experience like no other. The hotel is also host to Sydney dining hotspot "Kent Street Kitchen" led by internationally acclaimed Executive Chef, Thomas Heinrich. Delivering old world techniques combined with modern sophistication, everything in European chic can be anticipated. Featuring one of Sydney's most beautiful Chef's Table, three metres of white marble flanked by high back salmon chairs, Thomas Heinrich welcomes you to his personal table, positioned in the middle of the restaurant. The Day Spa at The Langham, Sydney continues to offer relaxation and luxury at the highest level when it comes to personal escape. Our newly designed and extended spa features facials, massages advanced skin care from German beauty pioneers, BABOR, exclusive Blue Mountains based IKOU and new partner, Aromatherapy Associates. The Langham, Sydney's renowned 20m indoor pool, voted Sydney's #1 hotel pool experience, features a star-dappled sky ceiling, meaning guests can swim under the stars, any time of the day or night. With a strong focus on luxury local experiences; The Langham, Sydney also offers private butler tennis afternoons, elegant boxed take-away picnics, unique terrace dinners, cocktail tasting experiences and local touring options for a luxury clientele. Modern Luxury and attention to detail, like Sydney has never experienced. Please, join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travelbag, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing