We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be much better......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Langham, Sydney
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Could be much better......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Booked an expansive package directly with the hotel, and was made to wait 4 hours on a sofa in the lobby after a 24 hours flight. Apparently the room type I have booked was not available even though other rooms were free. The GM reply was righteous and annoying, a person like that has no right to work in the hospitality business.This for me is not a 5* excellence in hospitality. Other than that, the old world decor rooms are large and bed & bath are both luxurious. Service is courteous and location is tranquil if a bit off the centre. Breakfast was glorious & elegant if a bit limited in choice, and the old foul breath smell spanish head waiter was not a strong point. All in all, what could have been an amazing stay, turn out to be mediocre.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TalParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,243
    256
    95
    33
    40
See reviews for
244
854
85
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

The hotel is old, and rooms are pretty dated. The breakfast buffet is poor. The in room dinning is good quality but expensive. The Gym is well equipped.
Views over to Darling Harbour are not great. TV channels were pretty poor. For the cost this was not good value. Unimpressive....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Markqn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Beautiful classic decor, happy attentive staff, fantastic water views from balcony - which is so rare to find these days.

Langham hotel is a superb place to rest your head in Sydney. After staying here over a number of years though, its all about to change due to their renovations. Perhaps for the best?
Cant wait to see whats to come.
Highly recommend the Langham Sydney as it puts all other five star hotels in Sydney to shame no matter how you are traveling.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adh1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We checked in here with our three dogs. The reception staff were fantatstic. As you pay extra per dog we were upgraded to a suite. It was fantastic. Wer'e definately coming back, maybe without the dogs next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Langham in Melbourne many times so we booked into the Sydney Hotel when I combined a business trip with a weekend away.

The hotel is very graceful. The decor is classical and warm and the staff are very attentive. My wife eats Gluten free and the Langham team didn’t need to be asked after the first morning to bring Gluten free bread to our table for breakfast, they had it ready.

The weekend we were in Sydney was wet and cold but we still managed to stroll down to the Rock’s Market and around to Cockle Bay. Always nice to have someone open your door with an umbrella when you’re on your way in from dinner.

We would stay again should the opportunity arise.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melburniansx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stay here for my birthday and it proved to be one of the nicest place to stay. The staff were most professional and were willing to help you an assist you were needed and Made for a awesome experience. Will definately go again and highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonnaHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matamata, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great location with easy walking to The Rocks area and Circular Quay or along the street to Darling Harbour. We had a quiet harbour view although the current constructions on the waterfront did mean we saw a lot of diggers and dump trucks from 7am each morning. Very good bathrooms and a great bed with good sized rooms and furnishings. A little dated but due for renovations - still extremely comfortable.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the water view side but of course you pay more for them. Drinks and meals in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,091 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Sydney

Property: The Langham, Sydney
Address: 89 - 113 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Sydney's most exclusive harbourside address, The Langham, Sydney. Nestled in the historic rocks district, on famous Kent Street, this beautiful five star retreat has recently undergone a grand transformation, now boasting the largest guestrooms in the city. All rooms and suites feature opening windows, Juliette balconies and/or signature terraces, with the focus remaining on a grand residence experience for guests. Kent Street enjoys seclusion and privacy, whilst being a five minute stroll through The Rocks to The CBD; and all of Sydney's iconic locations. Our signature Pink Taxi is onsite to deliver you to any appointment you need within the CBD, with compliments. Guests are treated to Western Harbour views across White Bay or a stunning city skyline outlook across Sydney. Our global partner, Wedgwood, joins us for Afternoon Tea hosted in opulent Palm Court. Channelling pure sophistication, indulge in harbourside views, light drenched spaces and ambience jazz playing. As the sun sets over Palm Court Bar, jazz and mixology come together to create a gastronomical tasting experience like no other. The hotel is also host to Sydney dining hotspot "Kent Street Kitchen" led by internationally acclaimed Executive Chef, Thomas Heinrich. Delivering old world techniques combined with modern sophistication, everything in European chic can be anticipated. Featuring one of Sydney's most beautiful Chef's Table, three metres of white marble flanked by high back salmon chairs, Thomas Heinrich welcomes you to his personal table, positioned in the middle of the restaurant. The Day Spa at The Langham, Sydney continues to offer relaxation and luxury at the highest level when it comes to personal escape. Our newly designed and extended spa features facials, massages advanced skin care from German beauty pioneers, BABOR, exclusive Blue Mountains based IKOU and new partner, Aromatherapy Associates. The Langham, Sydney's renowned 20m indoor pool, voted Sydney's #1 hotel pool experience, features a star-dappled sky ceiling, meaning guests can swim under the stars, any time of the day or night. With a strong focus on luxury local experiences; The Langham, Sydney also offers private butler tennis afternoons, elegant boxed take-away picnics, unique terrace dinners, cocktail tasting experiences and local touring options for a luxury clientele. Modern Luxury and attention to detail, like Sydney has never experienced. Please, join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travelbag, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing