We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect except....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Ranked #22 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect except....”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Sebel Pier One for three nights two weeks ago before flying on to New Zealand for a bike tour around the south island. We thought everything about the hotel was perfect except for one thing. The location can't be beat (right under the Harbour Bridge... minutes walk to Circular Quay, Opera House, Royal Botanic Gardens, etc.), the room was large even by American standards, the included buffet breakfast was delicious and plentiful with the bonus of enjoying it overlooking the bay, and the concierge recommended an excellent restaurant for our first night's dinner. The only negative is that they charge an arm and a leg for internet access. Maybe they're trying to capitalize on business travelers on expense accounts, but in this day and age, what's the big deal about providing free wifi? I would have given 5 stars but for this.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flojo93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,210
    721
    285
    121
    64
See reviews for
347
1,190
97
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Waking up in the morning and staring up at the bridge isnt a sight you get at very many hotels in Sydney.
This hotel appears to be slightly out of the way as its on the back side of the bridge..dont be fooled..within 10/15 minutes youre smack bang in the centre of the Rocks/Circular Quay/Opera house area! Its great..breakfast on its own pier in the sunshine was fantastic.

The rooms have all been refurbished, our ground floor room still had the warehouse feel with great high ceilings.

Definitely no complaints here, and can recommend to all.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazisheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
153 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

This was our second stay at the Sebel, a long weekend in Sydney to enjoy culture and dining

The room, a Walsh Bay suite, was lovely and roomy with a terrific bathroom and good amenities. But, the tv was difficult to use and the coffee was not replenished all weekend.

The breakfast was very ordinary, dreadful coffee and dirty tables, rushed, noisy and not at all relaxing.

The wrong newspaper was delivered to us on Saturday and no paper at all on Sunday. Given the price, they could get this right.

I was disappointed by young Blake on the concierge desk who was rude, twice, once on the phone and once in person mate, you are the first port of call, learn some customer service.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank perthtravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

After a weekend on a Royal Carribean Cruise the girls and I walked from the overseas passenger terminal to Sebel Pier One...
What a delight it was to walk in and be greeted by fantastic staff only to willing to help us with an early check in and bag storage.
The rooms were far nicer than the pictures and far roomier. We had 3 ladies staying in a Deluxe Heritage room with the sofa bed folded out and had plenty of room for our luggage and all things girly...
Very happy with our choice of hotel and nice and close to various bars and restaurants!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbomb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This hotel is almost under the southern end of the Harbour Bridge. The entry, bar, meal area open out to the western side of the pier. Very lovely aspect. The room was of a reasonable size, with a spacious bathroom area. The workout room is rather small, but since I was the only person in there, it didn't matter too much ! Breakfast was buffet style and plenty of it. A short 5 minute stroll under the bridge brings you around to Circular Quay. Is it worth the price? I think it is, being almost in the heart of Sydney.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austyannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Perfect location being a pleasant walk from Opera House, Circular Quay (trains and ferrys) and Rocks area. Hotel very comfortable, limited views on bridge side, but our room had lovely outlook over parkland and bridge. Staff were all without exception, friendly ,knowledgable and helpful.
Restaurant with excellent food, front bar had lovely views, sitting out on the pier with a drink looking over Walsh Bay was a very pleasant way to relax.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyandgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Have stayed at the Sebel twice now and we are never disappointed. Great service, great rooms and a grreat view.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and get a waterview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Langham, Sydney
#7 of 178 in Sydney
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
1,271 reviews
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#27 of 178 in Sydney
6,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Property: Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Address: 11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#27 Family Hotel in Sydney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection is ideally located on the magnificent Sydney waterfront close to the Southern pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Boutique in size, our hotel features 189 unique federation style rooms with contemporary chic furnishings. Located in the heart of the Rocks, our hotel offers the perfect accommodation for exploring Sydney or getting friends together for a special event or wedding. The Gantry Restaurant & Bar offers its guests the ultimate open air dining experience with full panoramic views of Walsh Bay. Our luxury Sydney Harbour hotel's accommodations also offer a smoke-free environment, valet parking and 24-hour security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Pier One Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sebel Pier 1 Sydney
Sebel Pier One Hotel Sydney
Pier One Sydney
Sydney Sebel Pier One

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing