We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the worst” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Ranked #26 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply the worst”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

I am writing this review from this highly overrated hotel.
Reception: 1 out of 5. The girls did not appear to have been sufficiently trained. Too bad.
Bathroom: 2.5 out of 5. Too small and stuffy. The toilet flushIng noise was simply deafening which prevented us from using it at night for fear of waking up the kids.
Overall decor: it looks more like a hospital then a warehouse.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,114
    685
    280
    114
    63
See reviews for
325
1,119
89
421
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed as a family for three nights 29-31 Dec 2011 and saw the new year fireworks right under the bridge! Not the viewing angle that I am used to, but this was only ging to happen once in my life time so it was good from that point of view. 5 stars for location and many people have already commented on this.

I had to book two rooms as we were two adults and four children. There are connecting rooms but none were available to us at the time of the booking. Also be aware that although Booking.com does indicate that the rooms can fit an extra bed, this was not possible for our rooms but I was only told this after I booked. We took our own camp beds and this was not a problem for the hotel although the booking manager had indicated to us that perhaps we should book an extra room. We were not going to do this given the price of the rooms during NYE.

Stay during the New Year period: The stay was very expensive during this time (>>$1000/night), but Sebel Pier One was virtually the only nice place to stay that was not booked out in Sydney. I phoned the hotel reservation number directly and I was told that the hotel was fully booked on he 20th of December, but there were room still available from booking.com.

Great things:
- Staff are excellent, helpful and friendly!
- Clean rooms and large bathroom.
- We were allocated to a room on the ground floor and most of the time I do not like this, it was perfect for this stay because a table was reserved just for us outside the room on the pier side so that we could watch the family fireworks at 9PM without a crowd of people around us. Perfect!

Not so great:
-The toilets are vacume toiles like those in airplanes. These are far too noisy to operate and you feel guilty flushing the toilet in the middle of the night fearing that the noise will wake people up. It may save people, but it does not save sleep, which kind of misses the point about staying in a hotel!
- We stayed in room on the ground floor and there is little or no mobile reception in the rooms so I could not use the Telstra mobile USB to get internet access. The hotel charges $40/three days for internet access which is not speedy. This was the most frustrating thing about this hotel. You find out about the speed of the internet after you pay up front. There is no WiFi which would have easily fixed this issue. The hotel serisously does require internet infrastructure upgrade as the current state is simply unaccepstable as a hotel of this class.

Would I return? Not for another new years, as it is expensive! I would recommend it to other people though and book a table at the restaurant well ahead of time for the next new year eve dinner. I would only return as a business traveller only if they introduce WiFi to all of the rooms (currenly only available in the lobby area) and make internet access free as the mobile reception is very poor.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familytraveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
723 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

This hotel is a renovated pier and the rooms have the slight quirkiness of working around pillars and posts which I find charming. It's location is unbeatable - walking distance to the Rocks, Circular Quay, the Opera House, Wharf Theatres, Sydney Theatre - and to sit outside either for breakfast or a post-show drink watching the water glisten is delightful.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

We spent three days at the Sebel Pier One, Sydney. The hotel, which is very conveniently located, practically under the Sydney Harbour Bridge and only a short walk away from the Rocks, is quite good although quite pricey. Our room was wonderfully decorated, but was only a touch larger than a matchbox, enjoying the dull view of the back street (instead of a harbor view).
The Hotel’s restaurant was excellent, both in terms of meal quality and service, although that too, was quite expensive compared to equivalent European standards.
In any case, I do suggest this hotel; just make sure your luggage is not big enough for your room size. Alternatively do find the energy (perhaps after a 20hr flight to Syd) to ask the reception to move you to a larger room.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ckAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

This hotel was an excellent choice and the location is just wonderful. The Sebel Pier One is built out on to the water near warehouses right under the Sydney Harbour Bridge, so you're right in with the action. It is 10 minutes walk to Circular Quay, and only 5 minutes by taxi to Darling Harbour. We chose a King Water View room, and although there is a sliding door you can open out onto the water view, there isn't much of a balcony, but the fresh air is wonderful. We saw a couple of cruise ships sail under the Sydney Harbour Bridge so we really were that close! We also chose to do the BridgeClimb, so we walked right there. All in all, an amazing stay and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazmoz8031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. We chose a basic room without water views as we weren't going to be spending much time in our room. We flew into Sydney at 7am and went straight to the hotel to drop our bags off, the reception said they would call us once our room was ready and they called us at 11am to inform us we could now check in which was great. The service was friendly and our room was very nice. We ate breakfast at the hotel on one occasion and it was of the usual standard for a hotel buffet breakfast, as was the room service. The bar is great and the alfresco area on the water is lovely with beautiful views. The hotel is in a great location walking distance to the opera house and city centre. I am happy with my choice to stay at this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Arrived at hotel at 09.15 hotel looks good, 1st problem we could not check in until 1400 hrs, no rooms ready and after24hours of being awake we could have done with a nap.

staff were good, room was good overlooking other piers.

location right under the harbour bridge, good area to get to everything, most attractions within walking distance.

Breakfast very good.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alecg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,046 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#24 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Property: Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Address: 11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#27 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection is ideally located on the magnificent Sydney waterfront close to the Southern pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Boutique in size, our hotel features 189 unique federation style rooms with contemporary chic furnishings. Located in the heart of the Rocks, our hotel offers the perfect accommodation for exploring Sydney or getting friends together for a special event or wedding. The Gantry Restaurant & Bar offers its guests the ultimate open air dining experience with full panoramic views of Walsh Bay. This luxury hotel in Sydney also offers a smoke-free environment, valet parking and 24-hour security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelbag so you can book your Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Pier One Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sebel Pier 1 Sydney
Sebel Pier One Hotel Sydney
Pier One Sydney
Sydney Sebel Pier One

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing