We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average overall, and Poor Value - all because of the breakfast service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Ranked #17 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was a special weekend to celebrate for us, so I chose the Pier One for its waterside location. The views did not disappoint from the waterview king room. The staff at check in and at concierge, were lovely. Very helpful and polite. The room was terrific, just what we wanted, plush, quiet, clean, and with a water view.

Unfortunately, the breakfast which was included in the room rate was a terrible experience !! When we are paying over $350 for a night, we don't expect to have to fight for a seat on Sunday morning, or for the buffet to continuously run out of hot food every 15 minutes, and then for it to take 15 minutes for it to be refilled. They brought out about 10 hash browns at a time, and the fried eggs were only filled once when we were there. The room was too small, and the number of guests in there was very crowded.

There were no coffee or juice cups clean, I had to ask wait staff each time to get a clean one, and the table we were plonked at was dirty. The staff member stood at the desk and basically said, "Its the table over there behind the buffet" .... she didn't even take us there. At one point there were not even any clean large plates, for several minutes!. I also saw other guests asking the very busy and polite staff for clean cutlery, they basically spent all their service time apologising to every guest.

It was a Sunday morning, and it was 930, so admittedly probably the busiest time in the weekend, but still, it was just a terrible and awful breakfast experience. For a buffet, my expectations are pretty low, but your breakfast falls below zero. Basically I ate my hot breakfast in separate pieces because none of the hot trays were full at the same time.

I would have rather chosen to save $ on my room rate and walk across the street. In fact, I would recommend that to others who will stay here. There are many nice Walsh Bay cafes, just 10 mins walk away.

Room Tip: Waterview rooms face onto the harbor. Avoid the rates that include breakfast, poor value !!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adelaideguy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,550)
There are newer reviews for Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,464 - 1,470 of 2,551 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here on business multiple times. I love the location, service and views from this hotel. A nice touch this time was a glass of champagne in arrival after a busy day! Great restaurants nearby. Is recommend venuto just a short stroll away.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Mcknickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierOneSydneyHarbour, Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Mcknickers,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Pier One Sydney Harbour – Autograph Collection, an ensemble of unique venues all around the world!
We are happy that you love staying with us. We have a fantastic team who really do take pride in ensuring our guests’ experience is all they expect and more. Thanks as well for recommending the restaurant nearby, we will pass this recommendation on to other guests.

We hope to welcome you here at Pier One again soon.

Kind regards,

Simon Wanstall

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel has the best location in Sydney - it's at the harbour and just around the corner the first thing you see is the Opera House. There is a great variety of restaurants nearby and the shops are not far away either. The breakfast buffet is great and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a great stay and will be coming again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luxtraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierOneSydneyHarbour, Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Luxtraveller12,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at Pier One Sydney Harbour – Autograph Collection! It is great to hear that we welcomed and served you so well during your stay.
I am delighted you were able to take advantage of our location, we think it is quite special and gives our guests a special experience of Sydney.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney!

Kind regards,

Simon Wanstall

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We booked a special package for our wedding night in the Walsh Bay Suite as the photos of the suite from the recently renovated hotel looked amazing.

Upon check-in, we were welcomed and 'upgraded' to the Hickson Suite. We were told our bags were already in our room, but they were not and took at least ten minutes for the bags to be brought up to our room.

During our stay, we got the impression the Hickson suite appeared smaller and had less features than the Walsh Bay Suite and after looking online, it does appear to be a smaller suite and a slightly lower cost suite. We were disappointed that we were treated to an 'upgrade', but in fact it appears we were downgraded to a lower quality suite.

We raised this as an issue at check out and we were promised that management would call us to discuss the issue that afternoon but we received no call that week - even after raising this in an email survey which we replied to. We were told that the Hickson Suite is about $20-$30 cheaper but they proceeded to charge us the rate we paid for the Walsh Bay Suite package anyway.

The hotel is renovated beautifully and the buffet breakfast was excellent, but our overall experience was perhaps marred by the deception of an upgrade. If the Walsh Bay Suite wasn't available, it would be have been nicer if staff just said the room wasn't available and we have had to stay in an alternate room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyv88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierOneSydneyHarbour, Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear andyv88,

Thank you for taking the time to shareyour experience with the Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection®.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations in this instance.
We have sent you a separate email regarding this incident and hope that our offer will be acceptable for you.
We do hope we get a chance to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Simon Wanstall

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stunning location and generous sized room with super comfy bed. Liked the coastal minimalist room decor. Bathroom was clean and functional, but expected more based on room rate paid... Perhaps a renovation and redesign of bathrooms are due? Beautiful lobby and sitting area though to enjoy the harbour setting. Overall I had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shoesonmyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierOneSydneyHarbour, Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear shoesonmyfeet,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share you recent experience at Pier One Sydney Harbour – Autograph Collection.
Guest feedback both positive and negative is extremely important and on this occasion provides management with an opportunity to address areas of concern and make improvements.
We are delighted you had a chance to enjoy the harbour setting – it truly is a lovely place to sit and relax.

Thanks again for your review. We hope we have a chance to host you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Wanstall
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great stay from start to finish. A lovely, unique property which is a bit like a boat house by the Sydney pier. Very personal touch and style, backed up by good design and good service throughout the property. Here is a short summary:

- service: personal, attentive, proactive and with a smile from 1st minute at the hotel
- location: I can't think of something much better, in the rocks area and just by the bridge with seafront access
- lobby: spacious and connected with the bar / restaurant and overlooking the water, fabulous and great for meetings (leisure or business)
- room: very good, spacious, high ceiling, bright, nice cool design (minimalist), good bed and overlooking the water. Bathroom just a little bit tired but with Marriott backing it up these days I am hoping for modernisation
- bar/restaurant: good quality food, drinks and very good service
- fitness room: very spacious and lots of machines. All in working order and quite modern. Overlooking the water which was great.

All in all a gem in Sydney I think. I will be back, whether for leisure or business.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardU71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierOneSydneyHarbour, Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear RichardU71,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback. It is a delight to read it!

As a part of Autograph Collection, an ensemble of unique venues all around the world, we pride ourselves on knowing our guests & building great memories. It is important to us that you left with your own special memories.

We do have a very high standard for both customer service and the overall guest experience which I am glad you got to experience during your stay. We are very fortunate to have a wonderful team here at Pier One Sydney Harbour that are dedicated to delivering enchanting encounters.

Thank you as well for sharing your feedback on the needed refit. We are going through a number of changes and we are upgrading our offering as well as our amenities. Very exciting things are going to happen at Pier One Sydney Harbour during the next months – our goal is to create a much more luxurious and even more personal experience for our customers.

Thank you for taking the time to comment and do visit us again soon!

Kind regards,

Simon Wanstall

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Spent a lovely Saturday night here and it was 1st class, promptly met by the doorman and had my car parked and bags whisked up to our room. The room is very modern and has a beach/nautical theme to compliment the views which are directly out over Sydney Harbour. Nice big bathrooms and a proper King bed not the 2 singles tied together. had dinner at the restaurant which was delicious. The Buffet breakfast offers an Al A Carte option included in the price which is a nice alternative to the standard fare. Really liked the low lying set up of only 3 levels which makes for quick navigation around the hotel. My only gripe if I had to make one is the shower in the bath but other than that I cannot fault this place or the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 255060Jamesb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierOneSydneyHarbour, Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear 255060Jamesb83,

We’re absolutely thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay at our Pier One Sydney Harbour – Autograph Collection.
We have a fantastic team who really do take pride in ensuring our guests’ experience is all they expect and more.
I am delighted you enjoyed our restaurant and the views – it does sound like a lovely Saturday night. Thank you for taking the time to comment and do visit us again soon!

Kind regards,

Simon Wanstall

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 178 in Sydney
6,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 178 in Sydney
4,418 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#20 of 178 in Sydney
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Address: 11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#27 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £146 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection is ideally located on the magnificent Sydney waterfront close to the Southern pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Boutique in size, our hotel features 189 unique federation style rooms with contemporary chic furnishings. Located in the heart of the Rocks, our hotel offers the perfect accommodation for exploring Sydney or getting friends together for a special event or wedding. The Gantry Restaurant & Bar offers its guests the ultimate open air dining experience with full panoramic views of Walsh Bay. Our luxury Sydney Harbour hotel's accommodations also offer a smoke-free environment, valet parking and 24-hour security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Pier 1 Sydney
Sebel Pier One Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sebel Pier One Hotel Sydney
Pier One Sydney
Sydney Sebel Pier One

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing