We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Iconic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Ranked #25 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Iconic hotel”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Very different set up and cleverly adapted building. The view was good and particularly enjoyable to watch the sailing yachts taking down their sails outside our window. Great location for a short walk by the waterside to Circular Quay and also local to The Rocks area. Hotel staff were very helpful at all times. Excellent finish to our Aussie Tour.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireSloans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierOneSydneyHarbour, Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear YorkshireSloans,

Thank you very much for choosing Pier One Sydney Harbour to end your Aussie Tour and also for your kind words.
We are delighted to read that you describe our hotel as different as we also like to call ourselves a bit quirky and unique, which is what Autograph Collection stands for.
I am pleased our associates were able to provide you with some comfort in your time of need. This has been communicated to our team and will certainly help us to create memorable experiences.
Thank you for taking the time to comment and do visit us again soon!
Kind regards,

Simon Wanstall

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,141
    697
    282
    116
    64
See reviews for
336
1,142
90
426
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here as we were attending a wedding on site (which was lovely) and wanted to make a decadent weekend of it, but were so disappointed with our room and the service. Instead of the 'beautifully furnished' room we were expecting, we were given a cold and clinic disabled access room - which meant nowhere to rest my toiletry bag, no bath etc. No art on the walls, all white - clinical rather than luxurious feeling. The room also smelt terrible.

I asked the staff for a normal room (and bath), or even a room without the smell, and was told there weren't any. Then I was offered to lose my water view or downgrade to a heritage room - neither satisfactory - and of course they weren't proposing to charge me less. I gave up in the end, but I wasn't happy at having to make do.

Breakfast is poor quality for a hotel buffet. They do have 3 dishes you can order fresh, but I had to ask to find out they existed and they weren't good quality anyway.

Overall, a very disappointing experience and once that simply can't compare to any of the other luxury hotels we've stayed at. I cannot recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emily77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierOneSydneyHarbour, Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Emily77,

First of all: Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. It goes without saying that we are very sorry and concerned to hear of your experience.
I appreciate you bringing to our attention the series of issues during your recent stay with us. We always strive to provide the highest quality service and accommodations, and regret to learn your visit was not on to your expectations.
Please be assured that this is certainly not representative of the usual service excellence here at the hotel. Your review has been shared with the appropriate department managers for their follow up.

Please feel free to contact me direct should you wish to consider staying with us again as I would certainly appreciate the opportunity to ensure you enjoy a wholly positive experience, more in keeping with the wonderful standards of service the team here at Pier One Sydney Harbour take pride in delivering.

Kind regards,

Simon Wanstall

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Beautiful location and a very pleasant hotel, bit disappointed that on a Saturday night on returning from a wedding the bar was closed at midnight, because a might cap in such a location would have been greati

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank spiredc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierOneSydneyHarbour, Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Spiredc,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at Pier One Sydney Harbour – Autograph Collection, an ensemble of unique venues all around the world. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I noted your suggestion to leave the bar open and will address this topic with our Restaurant Manager.
Thanks again for taking the time to share your experiences and do visit us again soon!

Kind regards,

Simon Wanstall

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Attended Pier One Sydney for a two-night business stay and was very impressed from the moment I walked in. The doorman was attentive and friendly, as were the front counter staff. Greeting guests with a glass of champagne is a huge winner!

Room on the 2nd floor was spacious and comfortable and although without bridge views, the views over the harbour were beautiful.

Only downsides I had were the odd, airplane-style toilet that was loud and out of place in a quality hotel and being woken by a fire alarm at 1am, although the latter can't be helped.

Location is unbeatable, right under the bridge and made for spectacular scenery throughout the airy hotel.

Conference facilities were great and free access to the business centre was helpful. Free "public area" wifi still worked in-room, so a huge plus.

There was misplaced charges against my room on check-out, however these were waived as was my actual room service charge without hesitation.

These little additional touches and excellent customer service will see me choose the Pier One on my next visit to Sydney.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank OzLiz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierOneSydneyHarbour, Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear OzLiz13,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent visit at Pier One Sydney Harbour – Autograph Collection.
We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable experience and that you were comfortable in our care.
We do have a great team and our associates put a lot of effort into making every guest’s stay a memorable one.

Thank you for your recommendations and we very much look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you again soon!

Kind regards,

Simon Wanstall

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed here for a conference. The conference facilities were excellent and the conference went well. Free WiFi was available to attendees, catering was excellent and the AV gear was top notch.

The hotel location is good; Unusual views of the bridge, right on the harbour and right opposite Lunar Park. It is a short walk to the Opera House, Circular Quay and into the city. There were a number of restaurants near the hotel as well as access to the Rocks. The local area has been renovated into an arts district with performing arts venues.

The room was compact but laid out well and well equipped with a desk and power points (although not international power points). The bathroom was excellent . My room was at Quay level, which meant that it had a sliding door and a couple of chairs just outside. This also meant that there was little privacy as the quay has public access. Colleagues with rooms on the higher floors commented that their views were good. The room had free Wi-Fi for all guests but a larger quota for Marriot Rewards members.

I only had breakfast at the hotel but it was excellent with a good range of options. The conference catering was very good.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor to get more privacy and better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierOneSydneyHarbour, Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Oldtimerlex_12,

Thank you very much for your most comprehensive review! It is just wonderful to read that you so fully enjoyed your stay at Pier One Sydney Harbour – Autograph Collection.
And we are of course delighted that the conference was a success as well. We think that out location is very special and I am glad you were able to make the most out of it.

Please be ensured that I will pass on your comments to our Restaurant and Conference team.
Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Wanstall

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife and I spent 5 nights there last week and had a great time , what a wonder full location on the water and being in The Rocks was very special, so much to see and do with very little traffic .The Walsh Bay Suite was great and the bed was one of the best we have experienced . The staff were very good particularly Jess at reception .

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water on the bridge end of the building , you will get the best view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierOneSydneyHarbour, Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Rod D,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at Pier One Sydney Harbour – Autograph Collection, an ensemble of unique hotels all around the world.

We are absolutely thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay at our Hotel. We have a fantastic team who really do take pride in ensuring our guests’ experience is all they expect and more. I have passed on your compliments to Jess who was very happy to be mentioned in your comment.

Thank you for taking the time to comment and do visit us again soon!

Kind regards,

Simon Wanstall

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4,139 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 174 in Sydney
1,666 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 174 in Sydney
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Property: Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Address: 11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#27 Family Hotel in Sydney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection is ideally located on the magnificent Sydney waterfront close to the Southern pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Boutique in size, our hotel features 189 unique federation style rooms with contemporary chic furnishings. Located in the heart of the Rocks, our hotel offers the perfect accommodation for exploring Sydney or getting friends together for a special event or wedding. The Gantry Restaurant & Bar offers its guests the ultimate open air dining experience with full panoramic views of Walsh Bay. Our luxury Sydney Harbour hotel's accommodations also offer a smoke-free environment, valet parking and 24-hour security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travelbag, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Pier One Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sebel Pier 1 Sydney
Sebel Pier One Hotel Sydney
Pier One Sydney
Sydney Sebel Pier One

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing