We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Troy Kelly Herbert” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Ranked #26 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,114
    685
    280
    114
    63
See reviews for
325
1,119
89
421
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Picked this hotel because we were seeing a play at Sydney Theatre Company so the location was perfect for us. The hotel was fresh and modern and our room, which overlooked the water, was beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. The staff were excellent and went our of their way to look after us. We didn't dine at the hotel but we did have drinks and nibbles on the outside deck right next to the water. I thought the price of our room was good value for Sydney and bar prices were also quite reasonable. Would stay here again and would certainly recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I must admit I booked this hotel prior to reading other reviews. After reading other reviews I was a little worried. My concerns were soon put to rest. We were greeted on arrival and made to feel very welcome. The hotel itself fits beautifully into it's natural and immediate surroundings. The location is perfect and well worth the money. Enjoyed a relaxing stroll through the Sunday market a short walk away. Just far enough out of the main run of things, yet only a short cab fare away. The rooms are tasteful, but do need some attention to detail in the bathrooms. The breakfast was very good. We had breakfast at 8.20am Sunday and it was busy. The staff were very quick to replenish dishes as they emptied. Great value. There was a little confusion as to what dishes belonged to which tables, so maybe a better system could be implemented there. Overall a great get away and would definitely return. Special thanks to all of the staff who made our stay so pleasant!

Room Tip: Would recommend a waterside room, ground level you can sit outside you room and enjoy the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

My partner booked at the last minute and got a great deal. The room was beautiful, with awesome views of the harbour bridge and a glimpse of the opera house. Great facilities, and breakfast was included - a fantastic array of hot and cold food, with a la carte options as well. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Will certainly be at the top of our list for future trips to Sydney!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our first child-free night in two years deserved a special location and the Pier One fitted the bill - newly renovated rooms, perfect location on the harbour, and a great rate due to the "opening special" (it recently taken over and overhauled by Marriot). We came for the last weekend of the Vivid Festival and the location was perfect.

It was a bit disappointing that the hotel could not honour the "free upgrade" to the waterview room due to several rooms being flooded by plumbing problems (more on this later). But the girl on reception did the right thing and offered us $50 discount off the room rate which made our stay even more of a bargain. We were given a Heritage Room with filtered views of the bridge and the room was perfectly fine. It was also a disabled access room so it was also a bit more spacious than others who have complained about the tight squeeze between the bed and the tv.

For those contemplating the valet parking, note there is no underground or secure carpark - the cars are simply parked off the street in front of the hotel, and the space is limited. We found a park on the street 100m down the road and saved ourselves the $50. Parking meters operate until 10pm and then start again at 8am (just run down before brekkie and feed the meter and it cost us less than $10 for the stay.

The hotel is not without its teething problems, particularly with the plumbing. The sink in our room would not drain properly, and the toilets work on a vacuum system like an airplane which is very noisy.

On returning from the Vivid Festival we fancied a nightcap and dessert. It was 10pm but the restaurant was closed and I was informed there was no dessert available (although if we wanted to dine in our room we could have ordered dessert from room service). Ordering a drink at the bar another lady came just five minutes later asking for coffee and cake (to which she was told there was no cake, but she could have coffee). It wouldn't take much effort to offer a few cakes or desserts from the bar, particularly if they are available for room service.

We know that the fire alarm system is functioning well, as we were rudely awoken at 6am by the fire alarm sounding, and then the evacuation siren sounded and there were 200 bleary eyed guests standing around on the street. NOTE TO SMOKERS - Do not smoke in your room !!!!
To everyone's credit there was no panic, we walked down the fire stairs in an orderly fashion and most people took the situation in good humour (like me they had probably read the previous reviews). We were pleased to hear when checking out that the offending smoker would be charged for the fire-brigade call out.

We had no issues with breakfast (unlike previous reviewers). The dining area is relatively small, so a few people did have to wait a short time for tables at the peak time (8-9am). But the quality and variety of food was good and we enjoyed our breakfast (particularly as it was free with our package).

Best thing: the location and the crisp white nautical décor of the rooms. The old wooden beams and pylons that feature throughout the hotel also make it a bit more interesting that your average hotel.

Worst thing: The plumbing, and the inconsiderate smokers

Would I stay here again? YES provided the price was right.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herk-de-Stad
Level Contributor
157 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Being located on the waterfron in The Rocks, the 'historic' heart of Sydney, the hotel is in walking distance from some of the major tourist sites of the city. Stand under the Harbour Bridge, walk up to the Opera or just scroll through the old quarter to find a nice drink and meal. All within a few minutes walking. The hotel is stylish but modern at the same time. Staff is friendly and very helpful. DO only not forget to inform laundry service in case you have got something for them, for whatever reason the cleaning ladies do not take of that.

Room Tip: As far as I could see all rooms ar at the waterfront. If not, ask for it explicetly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Familietoerist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed here in May and was very impressed by the great location and refurbishment done on this landmark building in a stunning location.

The rooms were great and I stayed on the 2nd of 3 floors. The rooms were quiet and the bed was comfortable. The staff were good without being exceptional and the food was good. The parking situation is not ideal but there are many options around the hotel.

The big plus is the proximity to the Rocks, the Bridge and being right on harbour. You can smell the salt air and it is a great place to stay if you love nature, taking stunning photos, or want a nautical vibe to your hotel. Well worth considering.

Room Tip: Always smile, and the higher the room, the better the view, the less the pedestrian noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fussyandhonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#19 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,052 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Property: Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Address: 11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#27 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection is ideally located on the magnificent Sydney waterfront close to the Southern pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Boutique in size, our hotel features 189 unique federation style rooms with contemporary chic furnishings. Located in the heart of the Rocks, our hotel offers the perfect accommodation for exploring Sydney or getting friends together for a special event or wedding. The Gantry Restaurant & Bar offers its guests the ultimate open air dining experience with full panoramic views of Walsh Bay. This luxury hotel in Sydney also offers a smoke-free environment, valet parking and 24-hour security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Travelbag so you can book your Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Pier One Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sebel Pier 1 Sydney
Sebel Pier One Hotel Sydney
Pier One Sydney
Sydney Sebel Pier One

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing