We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel With A Few Teething Problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Ranked #19 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Very slightly out of the way, the hotel is still extremely close to the CBD and well located. The fit out is excellent, with a lovely view in the rooms with juliet balconies. The rooms have a vaguely nautical feel. I have stayed in this hotel twice and would anticipate doing so many times in the future. Particular shout out to the American woman on reception who went out of her way to get my room ready. Much appreciated.

I experienced few downsides. The privacy doorhangers are incredibly poorly constructed, constantly falling off the door handle. Even when they're on, staff sometimes ignore them. I had one staff member attempt to enter while I was indisposed which was not appreciated. The toilets are odd, reminiscent of the toilet in an airplane, with that suction way of clearing. There was also a persistent and distinct odour of urine if standing very close to the toilet itself. The water pressure the second time I stayed here was also just barely acceptable. I don't recollect my first stay having any water pressure issues so it may depend which room you get.

Nonetheless, in the grand scheme of things, those are minor and easily overcome gripes. Currently, the hotel represents excellent value, particularly if you pick the right mystery deal off Wotif or another site. The entrance area off Hickson is currently under construction but this represents no inconvenience and the new reception is much more convenient and easier to get to.

Overall, quite an excellent hotel with some minor gripes.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank seraph11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierOneSydneyHarbour, Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear seraph11,

Thank you very much for the taking the time to review your recent stay at Pier One Sydney Harbour - a new member to the Autograph Collection!
Guest feedback both positive and negative is extremely important and on this occasion provides management with an opportunity to address areas of concern and make improvements.

The toilets in our guest rooms are one of our main issues at the moment and we are working on plans to get them fixed as soon as possible - being a heritage listed property, these things sometimes take a bit longer unfortunately! We apologise for the inconveniences!

Nevertheless, thank you very much for the compliments on our location - we do think as well that it is quite special - delivering a special holiday feeling despite of being so close to the Harbour Bridge and Sydney's CBD.

We hope we will be able to show you that we are capable of exceeding all your expectations next time you are in Sydney! We would be delighted to host you again!

Kind regards from Pier One

Eva Albrecht

Pier One Sydney Harbour - Autograph Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,567 - 1,573 of 2,712 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed overnight at the Pier One hotel after spending the day in Sydney for medical appointments.

We stayed in room 249 which was fabulous! The spa bath was amazing and definitely a highlight of our stay - the toiletries were gorgeous and I've found them online and ordered since coming home. The bed was comfy and I loved the high, lofty pillows. We didn't stay for dinner - the restaurant had a really nice menu but the atmosphere was very quiet.

Location was fabulous and it was lovely to be so close to everything - we wandered down to the rocks and had dinner at one of the pubs.

I would definitely not hesitate to recommend this hotel to my family and friends and will stay again when in Sydney.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierOneSydneyHarbour, Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear BICCanberra,

a huge thank you for commenting on your stay at Pier One Sydney Harbour - Autograph Collection! We are absolutely thrilled you loved our Apelles toiletries so much you ordered them for yourself at home!
As you could see, we are going through an exciting redesign here at the hotel- once our new lobby, bar and reception area will be finished, we will be able to offer an even better experience to our guests which we cannot wait for.

Thanks again for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back or maybe some of your friends or family members.

Kind regards from Sydney,

Eva Albrecht

Pier One Sydney Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a great hotel in Sydney, location is perfect. Located almost underneath the Harbour Bridge, at Pier One, it's a quiet spot yet walking distance to The Rocks, The Opera House, shopping and restaurants. It was great just to sit at the deck, watching the sunset and having a cocktail. The rooms are quite spacious, new, very clean with tasteful decoration. The breakfast was nice, had good variety. Staff was friendly, nothing to complain about. Would definitely recommend and stay again at the Pier One

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FernCur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierOneSydneyHarbour, Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear FernCur,

Thank you very much for your review of your stay at Pier One Sydney Harbour - Autograph Collection!
I am glad you enjoyed your stay, the hotel's location and the room size!
We greatly appreciate your positive comments regarding our associates - we do think we have a great team here at Pier One.
Hopefully, we will have the pleasure of hosting you again!

Kind regards,

Eva Albrecht

Pier One Sydney Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at Pier one this weekend and will be back what a wonderful experience would have loved to stay longer room was beautiful and so organic. Even though the hotel is going through renovations the staff went out of their way to make every thing perfect. I thought the the staff were fantastic from room service to housekeeping to the restaurant staff well done such great service. Rooms were great the breakfasts was delicious. I want to come back to experience more of this great hotel .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierOneSydneyHarbour, Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Fiona,

we are absolutely thrilled to read such positive feedback regarding your stay at Pier One Sydney Harbour.
We greatly appreciate your complimentary remarks about our associates - we do have a wonderful team here at Pier One! We sincerely hope we will get a chance to welcome you back to our embellished hotel in the future!

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay!

Kind regards from Pier One,

Eva Albrecht

Pier One Sydney Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed in the harbour suite which is literally under the bridge and on the water. The room was amazing, huge, with an amazing bathroom (with the best shower ever!) The toiletries were fantastic! We loved the room so much we spent all afternoon in the room and night with room service for dinner. Compared to similar costing rooms in the Shangri La or similar this was way better as you had the deck and a room that is somewhere you can spend all day. We loved it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulandRachel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierOneSydneyHarbour, Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

A big thank you PaulandRachel1 for this wonderful feedback!
Providing our guests with this special holiday feeling despite of being so close to the city centre is exactly what we strive to deliver. I am delighted you loved the room so much!

We do hope we get a chance to welcome you back here at Pier One Sydney Harbour!!

Kind regards,

Eva Albrecht

Pier One Sydney Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were in Sydney to see "Lion King" at the Capitol Theatre and as it was special occasion decided to treat ourselves to a hotel stay as well. At the moment, access to the hotel is via Lower Fort Street, entering directly into Level 2 of the hotel. Room had floor length glass window which opened and a small landing you could step out onto. Lovely to have fresh air in the room if you wanted and as we faced west, lovely views of water and the sunset over Walsh Bay. Beds were extremely comfortable. We had booked twin beds and this was confirmed on several confirmation emails. On arrival, we discovered a queen bed. Reception sorted out the issue immediately with room service arriving promptly and supplied us with a trolley bed. The trolley bed was just as comfortable as the Queen bed with similar quality linen and pillows. As we did not wish to move rooms and 2nd bed was for a teen this arrangement suited us fine.

I found the reception staff to be efficient, friendly and helpful, as were the two room services guys who supplied the trolley bed. Reception offered to book us a taxi to the Capitol Theatre
and it arrived promptly. We did not dine at the hotel, as we wanted to dine at Circular Quay which is an easy walk from the hotel and we chose to have a late breakfast in The Rocks which is even closer.

Overall, I found many positives, the location, booked online and got a good rate, excellent service, the views, dressing gowns in bathrooms, free wifi, free morning paper delivered to room, late checkout at 11am, really comfy beds - so yes, I would definitely book again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mishySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierOneSydneyHarbour, Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear mishySydney,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Pier One Sydney Harbour - Autograph Collection!
It is a delight to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to our reception team.

I am also delighted you were able to take advantage of our location; we also think it is quite special and gives our guests this special holiday feeling.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney!

Kind regards,

Eva Albrecht

Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We thought we were going to a fairly 'posh' Hotel by booking Pier One, but we were a little disappointed, mainly with the view as we expected some good views of the Harbour Bridge or Sydney Harbour- but in actual fact we were looking out onto one of the Bridge's Pilons. But the room was fine and the location is very good, very close to The Rocks. Very nice to sit out and have a drink overlooking the water and in summer I would imagine perfect place to eat,

Room Tip: Request level 3 and ask for rooms 311-312.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Latravels23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierOneSydneyHarbour, Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Latravels23,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us!

It is of course disappointing to have a different view than expected.
We do offer quite a variety of room types; priced and tailored for the diverse clientele the hotel caters for - may we ask you to try one of our Waterside rooms next time you stay at our hotel - these rooms do provide spectacular views over Walsh Bay or Sydney Harbour.

Thank you again for your review and I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon when I trust your stay will be wholly excellent.

Kind regards,

Eva Albrecht

Pier One Sydney Harbour - Autograph Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#31 of 186 in Sydney
4,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#35 of 186 in Sydney
6,786 reviews
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 186 in Sydney
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Address: 11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £150 - £425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection is ideally located on the magnificent Sydney waterfront close to the Southern pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Boutique in size, our hotel features 189 unique federation style rooms with contemporary chic furnishings. Located in the heart of the Rocks, our hotel offers the perfect accommodation for exploring Sydney or getting friends together for a special event or wedding. The Gantry Restaurant & Bar offers its guests the ultimate open air dining experience with full panoramic views of Walsh Bay. Our luxury Sydney Harbour hotel's accommodations also offer a smoke-free environment, valet parking and 24-hour security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Pier One Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sebel Pier 1 Sydney
Sebel Pier One Hotel Sydney
Pier One Sydney
Sydney Sebel Pier One

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing