We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location Great Price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks
Ranked #49 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location Great Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Having stayed at the Russell Hotel nearby and enjoyed that experience we decided to see what else was available in the Rocks area and within a similar price range. With some searching on Trip Advisor we found the Rendezvous Hotel in Harrington Street

The Rendezvous Hotel is more of a traditional functional business hotel then the Russell and therefore does not have the same charm and character of an old pub.

The first impressions of it are very good as the reception staff are helpful, friendly and will go out of their way to assist you. This attention and attitude creates a very pleasant vibe overall and is not a common experience in Sydney hotels of this price range The rooms are a good size. We were told we were upgraded to an apartment style room with a separate kitchen area.

The room had Harbour and Opera House views which was quite unexpected for the price The rooms themselves are a bit tired and a little drab but functional and clean and appropriate for the price level. Wireless is available but must be paid for. The biggest negative if you have a car is the price of the car parking at $40 for 24 hours. This is a slightly discounted rate deal with the Wilsons car park next door but is still expensive and could be further subsidised by the hotel. By comparison the deal the Russell Hotel offers with the Wilsons car park next door to it is $25 for 24 hours so that is worth taking into consideration if you are choosing between them. Russell also has free wireless.

The Rendezvous location is unbeatable, just a short walk into the CBD if you are on business and at night many great restaurants nearby including the wonderful famous Shiki Japanese which is practically next door. As it is in Harrington Street one street back from George Street it is also reasonably quiet at night

We did not try the breakfast buffet as it did not look that appealing and we had read some of the other reviews on it. We had breakfast across the road at the Harbour Rocks hotel which we think would be a better option if you dont mind paying a bit more

Overall we will definitely stay there again. We do hope that management can consider offering a better deal on the car park and consider throwing in free wireless. A bit more work on the rooms would also boost the rating up to Excellent

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front with harbour view ,, some also have a balcony. the rooms seem to vary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slipstream01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco C, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your honest feedback, we take all of our guest's comments very seriously.

The casual parking rate is $60.00 for 24 hours single entry and Wilson Car Park group is kind enough to offer our guests a discounted rate of $40.00 for 24 hours single entry. This is a set rate provided by the Wilson Car Park however it is interesting to note the same management company offer a cheaper price elsewhere.

Once again, thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to seeing you here on your next visit to Sydney. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    802
    263
    91
    52
See reviews for
374
1,019
79
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Having stayed in Sydney numerous times we have found the Rendezvous Hotel to be situated in the most ideal location. An easy walk to ferries, first class eateries, Opera House. Have to say our one bedroom apartment was a little dated, but clean and adequate for our stay. Request a higher floor for the views of the Bridge and Opera House. Being on the first floor we looked into an office building, a little disappointing. Harrington St is not a major road, so relatively quiet. Slept uninterrupted for 8 hours, so a big tick for this! We found cafes hidden among the little alley ways for breakfast, a nice idea to get a feel of the Rocks precinct. l highly recommend the Rendezvous. Will definitely stay again when in Sydney.

Room Tip: The higher floors will give the views of Opera House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco C, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide your feedback on your most recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back here soon. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Just stayed for the second time and it has become my favourite.

Have tried lots of different hotels in and around Sydney over time, including the Rocks, Darling Harbour, the City and surrounds.

The Rendesvous in the Rocks is situated in Harrington St, one street back from George St, right in the centre of the Rocks district and barely a 3 minute walk to Circular Quay and the Railway Stn, and on harbour views of the Opera House and the Bridge and the city and north shore.

Its not a big hotel and not super modern, minimalist, all white and glass. Its more a comfortable hotel, clean, tidy and unlike an earlier review I didn't find my room needed any refurbishment. From my room i could lie in bed and look out at the Opera House and the harbour beyond.

I didn't try the restaurant or room service, as it is only 1 minute down the street to coffee shops and eateries of all types and why eat in if you have the entire Rocks precinct that close.

Harrington St is one of the little back streets accessing the Rocks and the Cabs use it to get in and out without touching the much busier George St, so getting a cab from here is pretty easy.

I will certainly be back for another stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco C, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hi Kim,
Thank you for staying with us and your positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you here again on your next visit to Sydney. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed one night. Room was in need of a refurb. Showing age and use. Dated bathroom and kitchen. Maybe just the room I was allocated... haven't read other reviews.

Did not try room service. Buffet breakfast was good quality, but very limited in size, due to small breakfast area. Staff were friendly and attentive.

Huge plus is the position.

If refurbed, would be a very well located property with great room sizes.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam_Bris-Vegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco C, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hi Sam,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to jot down your thoughts. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel is close to all the attractions, very near Circular Quay station so getting around cannot be any easier. We get a good size studio room with a perfect view of Opera House which is awesome!

Overall we have a good stay, however there are a few points to note:
- Don't go for the buffet breakfast: for $20/person you only have a basic continental breakfast with very limited choice while there are bunches of better breakfast joints around
- No complimentary water bottle in-room
- No toothbrush and toothpaste, so make sure to prepare your own.

Would recommend this hotel if you're really looking for a central location staying in The Rocks area without spending big bucks, but do expect basic and average service quality.

Room Tip: It'd be nice if you can get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AkPham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco C, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide your feedback, it is comments such as these which greatly help in providing greater customer service.

I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your experience of our breakfast room, we are always happy to hear any suggestions on how you believe we can improve this service. If you could email to fom.sydneytr@rendezvoushotels.com and we take all comments very seriously.

I look forward to hearing from you and to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Marco Cevolani
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location with good sized room and above all, given how central it is, it was very peaceful. Would highly recommend staying here if you don't want to hire a car as it is perfectly located to walk to all possible sightseeing points. Give the breakfast a miss tho' as there are plenty of nicer breakfast joints very close at hand.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco C, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hi Caroline,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. If you are able to email on your experience of our breakfast room it would be greatly appreciated as we take all suggestions very seriously. Email is fom.sydneytr@rendezvoushotels.com.
I look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you back on your very next trip to Sydney.
Kind Regards, Marco C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

My husband & I stayed 4 nights at the Rocks recently. Charged $400 from our debit card at check-in to cover mini bar incidentals. What! This money was actually taken out of our account. This left us hardly any money left for our holiday. We don't have credit cards only a debit card. We never consume anything from mini bars but I decided to look at what they had to offer as they charge $100 per night. Well - the usual chocolate bar, water, bottle of wine, etc. And the small packets chips - PAST the use by date! All of the above had a thick layer of dust - yuck!
The room was ok nothing flash. Shower tiles were dirty. However, it is the $400 charged I am definitely not happy about especially as when checking out they said it would take between 4 & 5 days for OUR money to be credited to our account! A shrug of the shoulders was all we got. The female staff seemed pleasant enough but the concierge was rude! I will NOT stay there again and word of mouth will hopefully let people choose somewhere else to stay. People do not like being ripped off and we do not like rudeness!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alkd_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco C, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. Firstly, I would like to thank you kindly for taking the time to provide your feedback on your most recent stay with us, it is comments such as these which greatly assist in providing greater customer service. I am highly disappointed to hear that your most recent stay with us was not altogether favourable, it goes against the very high standards which we set ourselves.

If you could please advise which room you stayed in and we will be more than happy to investigate as this is highly unacceptable. If you could kindly email me on fom.sydneyTR@rendezvoushotels.com that would be great.

In terms of the pre-authorisation, this is a policy of the hotel with Debit Cards however we are always looking to refine our policies and we are happy to take your situation under consideration.

I look forward to hearing from you,

Kind Regards
Marco Cevolani
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#34 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#44 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks
Address: 75 Harrington St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in Sydney's colourful past in The Rocks. Select from Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney's unique offing of historic Terrace Houses, One bedroom apartments and spacious Studio Rooms. This 61 room boutique hotel is a hidden treasure, the Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney is only moments from Circular Quay, the Harbour Bridge and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelbag, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Sydney
Sydney Clarion Collection
Clarion Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing