We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sydney Boulevard Hotel
Ranked #61 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“excellent accommodation”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

On a recent return from a cruise we booked at the boulevard for a stay in sydney. The ship docked at 7am but booking in time was not until 3pm. we had prearranged to drop our luggage off early for safe storage until checkin. When we arrived the desk staff went out his way to search for an empty room for us to go straight up, which he did. The room was large, clean and had a great view of the harbour and bridge. On the way to our room the consierge asked how we had planned to get to the airport next morning. we replied by taxi. He sugested we catch a shuttle bus instead, which he arranged and booked for us. The hotel is an easy 10-15 min walk to Sydney CBD, Paddy's market, china town and a host of attractions.Thank you all for a great stay, will be back there again whenever we are in Sydney,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrave5255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    482
    189
    42
    25
See reviews for
174
425
71
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed here for a week at the end of our honeymoon trip along the east coast of Australia. This was our first visit to Australia and Sydney and weren't sure what to expect after reading 'mixed' reviews of the hotel. However we were very pleasantly surprised, the check-in went very smoothly and the receptionist was welcoming. The room was 'satisfactory' (comfortable bed, coffee/tea facilities/sufficient storage areas) though decor was slightly 'dated' and the bathroom was 'nothing to write home about', but the facilities all worked efficiently and the standard of cleanliness was good.
The location was fantastic for access to the tourist attractions nearby (bus stop directly outside the hotel, and a pleasant walk towards nearby Hyde Park) The concierge and reception staff were extremely approachable and helpfull with our queries (perhaps previous reviewers, caught them on a bad day?!) When we asked about check-out we were offered storage for our luggage and a late check out (no extra fee) and they called a Taxi for us, which arrived within minutes, and helped us with our luggage, which was really appreciated. Complimentary internet usage was in the business centre was also useful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteBfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Worst check in i have ever experienced. We booked 2 rooms on pre paid early bird special. When we arrived at check in time at 3 pm we were informed that room wasnt paid for even though paperwork clearly stated that it was and that payment was taken on booking. Check in took about 45 minutes with a very rude and confused receptionist.
Once we finally got everything sorted he informed us that only one room was ready and the other would be 15 minutes even though check in was 3 pm. It was 4 pm before we were given keys for 2nd room.
Service got no better for rest of stay reception, conceierge & restaurant all seem to struggle with basic service skills.
Room was very well set up and clean but would only recommend if you intend on making no contact with staff and need no information on hotel or local area. I would not stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nonja1BikeNHike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Boulevard Hotel for our first visit to Sydney. When we arrived we were welcomed with warm and friendly smiles at the counter. George (reception) checked us in and provided exceptional service, he explained the hotels facilities marvelously as-well as what to do and where to go in Sydney. The room was all we expected and it included a beautiful view of the city. We visited the Opera house, and Harbour Bridge which weren't very far from the hotel. Thank you for a wonderful experience and great service we look forward to staying with you on our next visit to Sydney.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SaraJohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashmore, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The hotel was located in a convenient place and was comfortable. We stayed for 3 nights. But concierge staff was very friendly but we asked him to book a cruising tour and a restaurant in the morning. When we came back to the hotel and found nothing was done. We asked him to call us to let us know how it had gone. He did not call us at all. We tried to book the restaurant he recommended but every time we called it and calls went into a message bank each time. So we told him. He said it was funny ..later, he found out that the restaurant was under renovation. Then regarding booking of the cruising, he said he needed our credit card details. Normally the hotel books a tour, they have credit card details and tour company won’t ask any details. So he just made up a story. Also on the third day, we left around 9:00 as usual and came back at 3:30pm. The room was not done. Then a house keeper told us that we did not hang the sign ‘clean the room’ and pleaded not to tell boss. My husband talked to the manager. She promised to compensate it. Nothing has been done. In addition, the key cards did not work and we had to go up and down 5 times. A lady we met in the lift told us, she went up and down 7 times to fix it as well. We cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ossy1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The hotel is really nice, the rooms are very big and the people are supportive. The room was cleaned perfect every day perfectly. The bed was a little bit to soft but the room itself was very quiet and we could sleep well. The location is good to visit the city but it is a lot of walking if you want to go to the opera.
On the other hand there are several drawbacks. The number of TV channels is very limited and not really what you expect from such a hotel. The biggest drawback is the included internet connection. Even if the connection is stable it is very very slow and not what you normally expect from such a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsaurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My daughter and I stayed here recently on our annual "Theatre Experience" weekend. I was very pleasantly surprised with the easy access from the North side of the city to this hotel. Parking is conveniently below the hotel, although privately owned it has good rates for Hotel guests. The Hotel room was spacious with a great view of the harbour bridge and Woolloomooloo wharf and the bay. We were on level 5, so I imagine the higher levels would have an even better view. The beds were comfy, bathroom had shower over bath. The hotel is in the thick of a host of restaurants within walking distance and has a Woolworths supermarket nearby.
Access to the city and the Eastern suburb beaches was easy by taxi, or a short walk to Kings Cross Railway Station.
I'd definately recommend this hotel to friends and family and expect I'll be back.

Room Tip: Need to be on the harbour side to get a good view. Sleep quality was good considering proximity to n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crossbordertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,999 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#36 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Macleay Hotel
#43 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#52 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sydney Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sydney Boulevard Hotel

Property: The Sydney Boulevard Hotel
Address: 90 William St, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly Bayview Boulevard Sydney)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sydney Boulevard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Sydney Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Boulevard Sydney Hotel Sydney
Bayview Boulevard Hotel Sydney
Sydney Bayview Boulevard Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing