We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Hotel”
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #37 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2011

The hotel is located conveniently in Martin Place and close to shops (only a block away from Pitt Street Mall) and other amenites like good restaurants and bars.

Check-in was a great. I arrived earlier than standard check-in and asked if my room was ready. The front desk staff duly noted my request for a higher floor and advised room would be ready at 1:30pm. I asked if there was another room available and she advised yes but on a lower floor which I was happy with. This is good service in advising the customer of their choices rather than making them wait when there is a room available.

I stayed in a deluxe tower room. It was of above average size and the bed was extremely comfortable. There was a large LCD tv and bathroom was of generous proportions with the heavenly shower and large soaking tub. I liked the separate toilet stall as well.

I tried the room service and was very happy with it. Delivered promptly, it tasted very nice.

Overall, very happy with this hotel and would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,815 - 2,821 of 3,395 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2011

My family and I just completed a 5-day stay at the Westin, and can't say enough good things about the hotel. The staff were friendly & helpful, the rooms were comfortable & beautifully appointed, and the location is excellent.

When we arrived, the staff were gracious in allowing us to check in early at 11am, which was terrific as we had taken a red-eye from California & our kids were exhausted. The connecting rooms were very spacious, and the beds were extremely comfortable. The concierges were very helpful in providing advice/assistance on places to visit in the city, and with restaurant recommendations for the kids (ages 10 & 7). The hotel is a short walk away from the Opera House, the Darling Harbour Aquarium and from Circular Quay, so the location was a big plus as well. The only shortcoming to our stay was that everything (food, cabs, ferries) was relatively expensive, but this was not restricted to the hotel & I think was more a function of the weakness of the American dollar.

All in all, we had a great stay in Sydney & the Westin was a terrific first stop for us on a 2-week Australia trip. Our kids are already looking forward to returning to Sydney on our way out of the country in 10 days. I would highly recommend this hotel for families with young kids.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SF_Traveler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

We spent considerable time looking for reasonably priced accommodation in Sydney and having stayed at the Westin in Auckland and found it to be very good, we decided to investigate the Westin in Sydney.

The price of accommodation was every good indeed however the price of food and drinks was pretty high. No problem. We just ate and drank at one of the fine venues close by who offered a wider menu and better prices. That being said, the Westin breakfast menu was vast!

Value for money? We ordered a Deluxe Tower Room while our travel companions ordered a Standard Tower Room. The rooms were almost identical although we were assured that were was a difference when we asked about this. The only difference we could see however was that we had a foot stool while our friends did not.

The hotel is spotlessly clean, apart from windows which were so dirty we were unable to see the clock tower outside when the sun was shining on them. The room itself however was very clean, beautifully maintained and very comfortable.

We didn't get the Heavenly Shower the Westin advertises but to be honest we never have on any of our stays at Westin Hotels, but the Heavenly Bed lived up to its name as it always does.

For service, cleanliness, maintenance, convenience and location (right beside the subway) this hotel is a shining star. The White Tea signature fragrance toiletries were another very welcome bonus


We cant wait to go stay again!

Room Tip: Try to get breakfast inclusive deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank realnamenotused
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

We spent two nights at the Westin Sydney just prior to flying back to Canada. From the moment we checked in, to the time we checked out, we received very personable and attentive service from everyone we came in contact with - in particular, the front desk staff and our waiter in the lounge who was kind enough to provide us with a lot of sightseeing tips and recommendations.

When we checked in, I mentioned that it was my husband's birthday and we were looking for restaurant recommendations in the vicinity, and later that evening, a personal note with birthday wishes from the general manager arrived under our door. We were not VIPs, and were not even on the club floor. Our room was a standard room, although it was very spacious, with a fantastic oversized bath/shower room and separate toilet room.

The hotel is in an excellent location, central to walking to the Rocks, the ferry terminal, the Royal Botanic Gardens and, of course, fantastic shopping.

I highly recommend this hotel and hope to stay there again one day.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachgrvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Second time to stay here and it remains a very polished hotel. Staff are fantastic- especially on the executive floors. Definately worth upgrading to these rooms if they give you a good rate ($50 per day is what I paid over the standard room cost of $260/ night.
I only wish that the hotel would include internet connection for free.
For rooms facing Martin Place, the night time noise from the Ivy nightclub can be annoying if you are a light sleeper so request a room facing the other way, or even facing inwards on the lower floors. The gym is a bit strange- it is shared with a regular gym

Room Tip: the standard room layout is better than theupgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roppongi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

How do I sum up the worst hotel experience of my life? Easy. These words - astronomically appalling. I have never been treated with such contempt. It started the moment we walked in.
The Westin Hotel in Sydney is pretty enough, but for the price we paid it should have been extravagant. Unfortunately for us, we weren't dressed as other patrons of the hotel, say in a suit and tie and were immediately frowned upon. Check in was a disaster. At 9am when we arrived to drop off our bags, we were told the room wasn't paid for and that they'd have to check with the person who's name was under the booking (unforunately he could not make it due to medical reasons) that we were supposed to be checking in. This is protocol and we were fine with this. They told us to ring back at 11:30. We rang and nothing had been sorted. We came back at 1:30 to check into our room again and it was not ready, nor could we again check in because of the missing person. We had to go through the entire 15-30 minute process of the morning's saga again. We were told that everything would be fine and we could pay the account on check out. The room was not ready until 2:15pm, that is, that we could enter it because it was finally clean. They did not offer us a porter to our room, we asked. They also didn't tell us where the gym, pool and any dining facilities were including where we would be eating breakfast in the morning. They were only concerned about money and not us as guests. The hotel bathroom is beautiful and everything is clean and neat, however, the beds require more pillows (three pillows for two people?! Why?). We ordered room service that night - they forgot part of the order and it was cold.
Breakfast the next morning was delicious, but we were ignored by staff the entire time. My friend watched on as he sat patiently waiting for a refill in his coffee, as the staff went to every other table with patrons and gave them refills and never returned to us. It's the little things that count.
The cleaning lady was especially good. Wished us a good day, asked if there was anything she could do. The front desk staff could learn from her.
The next day we received a phone call at 4pm saying the account had not been fixed. There was no emergency in the woman's voice. We said we'd sort it and no more was asked or told to us. At 1:30 in the morning when we got back from Marti Gras we found our cards weren't working in the lifts, when we asked at reception we were told that we were not allowed into the room until they had a credit card with enough limit on it to suffice the bill. 1:30am. To get your head around this, we then had to call our sick friend (who, by the way, is sick because he is getting chemotherapy treatment for cancer) at this time in the morning to sort out the bill. He didn't pick up. When I asked why they didn't ring him in the afternoon, they stated that they didn't have any contact details. He booked online, he is a star privilege member of the chain of hotels and they'd rung him TWICE the previous day. No details huh? Asked what would happen to us if we didn't have a credit card, the night manager replied that we wouldn't be allowed back into our room where all our possessions and belongings were. Luckily for us (or perhaps unluckily?!), I happened to have a credit card available (the others do not) and was ESCORTED to our room to retrieve the card and escorted back down to the hotel front desk to place on the bill as a back up in case our sick friend did not pay account. By the time we got back to our room and asleep it was 3am and this was after we kept ringing our friend and his wife and doing the HOTEL’S job to get the account paid. This could have been handled so differently. The manager could have said, "I'll give you a ring at 7 and you can come down and fix it up then." They thought we weren't supposed to be there and we would run off without paying. That was what our whole experience was about. They honestly thought because we didn't look like their usual clients, that we'd abscond without paying. Way to judge Westin.
The next day we missed breakfast because we'd overslept.
Check out was uneventful. Our friend had rang up and abused them over the phone. We never received an apology, a thank you for staying or a warm smile. Everyone on that front desk needs to pull the stick out of their bottoms and greet people with warmth, not robotic insolence. We paid to stay at that hotel and we treated with such disrespect we might as well have been fleas on a dog. When we received the bill they charged it to my credit card, not our friend’s and charged us for an upgrade that was free. They couldn’t even get that part right.
I haven't written everything that happened, only major (and a few minor) events that all bundled up made for a cataclysmic diaster of a weekend holiday. The only reason they can give for this? It’s protocol. Get some compassion and empathy. If everyone ran a business with the service they have, we'd be a third world country. It's so hard not to insult on here and I want to say so much.
They ruined our weekend and made us feel insignificant.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JemLouOrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We stayed at the Westin Sydney at the front end of a 30 day trip in Australia and Asia. Sydney is a wonderful city and a joy to explore. We would highly recommend a heritage room, which were almost too spacious. The hotel has access to nightlife and an adjacent courtyard where you can sit back and people watch with your morning coffee. It is an excellent base to stay inside inside and enjoy the hotels many lobbys, bars and restaraunts, walk/shop/eat nearby, or access a number of cultural hotspots. The service was excellent. Alas, the one thing it lacked was a good gym and spa but that's because it was under reconstruction. I expect it its up and running now but the pool is very small. I have stayed at better hotels but, frommy perspective, this is one of the better Westin hotels and I do a lot of traveling.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calilregit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#44 of 186 in Sydney
4,746 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#21 of 186 in Sydney
2,196 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#12 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £148 - £440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Starwood, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing