We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here when in Sydney.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #32 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stay here when in Sydney.”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We have just been back from a long weekend stay at the Westin Sydney. We love everything about the hotel. The room was of a very good size. Bed was large and comfortable. Lovely ambience in the lobby. The hotel is situated right in the city, within walking distance to shops and food. Will definitely stay here again when next in Sydney. I was secretly wishing that our Qantas flight got cancelled so we could stay another night :) (Yes we were in Sydney the weekend Qantas grounded all their planes)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janethomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,676
    925
    263
    113
    89
See reviews for
486
1,079
232
891
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

If your looking for a grand 5 star experience, I suggest you shop elsewhere.
I chose the Westin because I am a member of the Starwood group.
Being 5 Star, I didn't have any delusions about price. However this Sydney based hotel hikes up prices. I thought I was in London.
A 5 Star hotel that charges what this hotel does, the service should be backed up by uncompromising superiority.
I left the hotel feeling ripped off.
There was no pulse at check in. Not even a welcome for a Starwood member. Here's you key. See you later.
I had one small bag that took 20 minutes to get to my room. I had to call concierge to speed things up. If your thinking of room service, watch out for the whopping add ons that could blowout your dinner budget. For example. Caeser Salad with prawns $40 plus $8 delivery fee. ( I think it was $18 for 3 prawns. $6 each )
Just note when ordering room service, any small changes to the menu should be clarified with the operator to avoid any shocks when you come to paying the bill.
Internet $25 for 24 hrs.
A hotel without heart. Dissapointing

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sash8849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. Martin PL is right in the middle of the city so you can walk to everything. The hotel is large with many restaurants, a pool, workout area, room service, bell boys, etc. Our room was great: large, great view over the city and wonderful bed. I will stay there again when I'm back in the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a high level so you can see the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_101_411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed at Westin Sydney end of October 2011, was very surprised with beautiful blending in from the hotel into next doors old building with clock tower. Looks very nice and very cozy.
The rooms are very spacious with good views over central Sydney. Everything can be visited within 5 minutes walk of the hotel. Service is very nice but not overdone.
Try the executive floors, visit of the lounge is a must.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vandender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Good Hotel at a great location. Staff had a bad day I guess. Should not happen at a 5-star place.
Don't understand that there is no Wifi in the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tc1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Must say this was one of the best SPG hotels we have ever stayed at (the other being the Westin Melbourne). Very friendly, polite, and helpful staff even with all of our questions as it was our first time in Sydney. No attitude or impatience like in the US. Not only that, the room was spectacular. Very well designed and spacious and the bed... soooo comfy especially after a 14 hour fligt. We had a great veiw of the clock tower. Location was great as well, 10 minute walk to China town, 15 minute walk to Darling Harbour, 10 minute walk to Circular Quay.... can sa enough great things. Internet was decent as well- not super fast or anything, but fast enough to get some work done

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonz92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I'm a frequent (monthly) Sydney traveller and will typically stay at either the Sheraton on the Park or the Westin; and whilst the Westin is supposed to be a top-tier 5 star hotel, I find it quite bland and unexciting.

The usual check in experience is good however on occasion I need to press them for an upgrade when it should be automatic (SPG Gold member).

The hotel lobby is part of the Sydney GPO and there is an office building attached so the lobby is generally quite lively and bustling with activity however its not too relaxing if you want to go down to the lounge for a quiet meeting or drink.

The tower rooms are well appointed, bright and clean, they overlook the GPO clock tower with views of the Sydney CBD skyline, nice however it feels clinical rather than comfortable.

The bathrooms are very spacious with large bath tubs and excellent 'rain forest' shower heads.

The breakfast buffet is superb with a good selection of quality food.

Hotel guests get access to the No 1 Martin Place health club which is very well equipped however it is a public gym and not exclusive to hotel guests so it can get very busy with local office workers in the evening.

Housekeeping staff need to go back to maid-school, they ring the doorbell and knock on the door incessantly even when the 'DO NOT DISTURB' sign is on, and then when they do make the room they do not even collect all of the rubbish.

Very convenient location with good facilities but the hotel doesn't have any real character to it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TreyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4,139 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 174 in Sydney
1,563 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 174 in Sydney
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Property: The Westin Sydney
Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing