We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient city location”
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #34 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I didn't experience much of this hotel spending only about 10 hours in it, but what I saw, I liked.

Front desk were very helpful in changing my allocated room to somehing quieter when I mentioned on check-in my need for a quiet room.

The Tower room on level 5 was well-appointed and the glass-walled bathroom was especially fun.

The only negative was that there wasn't a power point in easy proximity of the bed, so I couldn't charge my phone while I lay in bed talking.

Great value at $200 through wotif.com

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melbourne_Female
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,569 - 2,575 of 3,295 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2011

This wonderfully located hotel is extremely comfortable and has a certain chic presence about it; Ideal for the shopper and even better if you want to hide within it's walls.

The only negative is the pool which does not meet the standard of the rest of he facilities.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the rooms in the old part
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We stopped over at the Westin on our way back to London form Christchurch, New Zealand.
We spend 3 nights in this very comfortable hotel.
The rooms are great, spacious and very well appointed. It is labeled as "contemporary Room with floor to ceiling windows" we also had the charming view of the clock on Martin Place.
The staff were friendly and eager to please.
The Room service is good and fast.
We didn't have breakfast as when in Sydney we always get our fix from the Renaissance Cafe on on Argyle street in the Rocks quarters.
We had an issue with concierge and our Airport Transfers but this was addressed efficiently by the Manager on duty.
I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrHulotetlesKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

This isn't the place to stay for a view. But compared to some of the more expensive harbourside locations, you still get a great location and great rooms.

What's good? The rooms are a good size and bathrooms excellent. Food is of a high standard and there are also several great restaurants in the same complex. The beds are the publicised 'Heavenly' and live up to reputation. Great gym.

What's not hot? The work desks and chairs are average and do not suit anyone that needs to spend much time working. The bar has great service but the atmosphere of a train station.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMCinSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Arrived at the hotel and was pleasantly surprised at being upgrade to the exec. Floor. The room was spacious and had a wonderful view of downtown from the 28th floor. Beds were great as always. The only minor concern was the service in the Executive lounge. Service was spotty if non existent at times. Other than that it was a great stay.

Room Tip: Try for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brookdj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Property seems to be two buildings with an enormous sky light connecting the two. Numerous restaurants and bars and open space on the ground floor. This is really a beautiful Westin. When you leave the elevator and cross over the sky bridge to the other building, you get a sense how big the hotel is and see how they kept intact the historical details of the former buildings. The room had tray ceilings, shower with a rain shower head, and the standard comfortable bed. Given that the hotel caters to the business travelor, I was surprised that the room did not come with wi-fi. I had to go down to the Business Center to log in. Expect an expensive martini.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodnamesaretaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Always stayed here for biz. Good hotel. Have all the basics, perhaps time to think about a renovation and at least add wifi offering to guest bedroom! Very comfy beds.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#40 of 179 in Sydney
4,599 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#14 of 179 in Sydney
2,043 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £123 - £458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing