We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very modern, good location, very busy, $25 internet charge”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #32 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
1,037 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Very modern, good location, very busy, $25 internet charge”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The room was very good, the bed fantastic, it was quiet, but the lobby was exceedingly busy all the time. The main gripe is why I have to pay $25 for internet in a $500 per night room. Something is not right with that.

Room Tip: High floor, corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimOB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,677
    926
    263
    113
    89
See reviews for
487
1,079
232
892
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel the day before Valentines day 2010 using a gift voucher from our friends.
It was very busy because it was weekend plus the next day was Valentines day.
We DID NOT get any of these (1) a decent service you would expect for 5-star hotels (2)the room type we were supposed to stay (3)complementary welcome drink we were also supposed to get.
We contacted front desk and we were basically told "tough, we are busy".
It was not acceptable for any of 5-star hotels.
We will never stay here again or will never recommend to anybody to stay here.


[SERVICE]
ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE!!
No decent service available McDonald's has even better service.

[CLEANLINESS]
New and reasonably clean.
Normal for 5-star.

[FOOD]
Breakfast was good if you don't have to que for it.

[FACILITY]
No comment on this.
We haven't used any of them.

Room Tip: do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank randy20060901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUNSHINE COAST AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
232 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights before flying OS. We were on the 29th Floor with a view of the clock and harbour. The room was quiet, the bed excellent so we slept well. Breakfast in the ex lounge was included. We had a car and the only complaint was it was very slow to get the car up with valet parking.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rojaan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Just got back from our trip. This hotel is really nice. In the CBD. Great location. Close to a bus stop that you can hop on the city bus for free and tour the city. Went to both Bondi and Bonte Beach from here and was great. Breakfast buffett was around $40.00 per person; good selection including smoothies. Multiple places to eat and drink in the basement or you can take back to the room. Some around $15.00 for tapas. Front desk staff was very friendly and hotel was very clean.

Room Tip: The suites are amazing! Love the rain shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chenille W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Things started off badly when on arrival my husband was asked by the porter if he (my husband, not the porter) wanted to take our (3) suitcases up the room. Huh? Then things really went downhill. We were given a suite which had vomit stains on the carpet and was directly above the A/C plant, which meant it was really quite noisy (and it was an unattractive view too)! While we could of possibly managed this for 1 night we were staying for 3, and had pointedly paid the exorbitant price to stay in a suite to be comfortable, not stressed! When we asked if it was possible to move, we were basically given the runabout by two very young and haughty staff members (one being the duty manager), with the end result of being moved 1 floor up (so the problem effectively remained), offered EARPLUGS and the added inconvenience of possibly moving rooms the next day. Unbelievable. It seemed the staff just could not fathom how when you arrive at your destination you just want to unpack and relax, not haggle about rooms, moving or earplugs! (We didn't move rooms again.) The most disappointing part though was that although we pointed out we had been coming to the hotel for the past 10 years, we were not treated as valued customers, at all. (Note, we were already staying in a suite so an upgrade was not the point or an option.) Yes, the beds are comfy, but the hotel is starting to look tired, and sadly staff seem perfectly happy to offer minimal service, and the management absolutely none. It is really more like a 3.5 star hotel now at 5 star prices. Stay if you are prepared to pay and put up with this lack of service or interest. We are not and won't be going back, particularly not when there are now so many other fantastic options in Sydney.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gattaca616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimmhk
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

The WEstin is generally a good hotel with excellent business amenities and spacious rooms which display only the first signs of tiredness. It is priced ok for the v strong market and has an excellent CBS location. Breakfast is good and was included. Two gripes however. One major. A door man called Raphael really hacked all four of us off by accepting a bribe from another person,behind us in the queue , to get a taxi while it was raining heavily during our stay. we got a formulaic answer to our complaint from a gentleman called Taejon ,which doesn't help matters. Other complaint is the gym is off property and is exceptionally beaten up and poor quality.
Car to the airport was xcellent nd otherwise the concierge and other staff top notch.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jimmhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

This is standard Westin fare, our room was bright and modern looking. Location is convenient, right in the business/shopping district and about a 15min or so walk to the ferries or Rocks area. The hotel does feel quite impersonal though, it's in the same block as some offices as well as shops/restaurants (not owned by the Westin) on the lower ground floor, so it does feel like walking into a mall (albeit a beautiful one with some old world charm).

The gym is a bit of a joke, was about a 5-10min walk from our room through countless corridors, stairs and elevators. It's actually very nice and well equipped as its not a hotel gym as such. It's a separate members only gym and it seems like the Westin has negotiated access for guests. Quite a pain to get to that's all

We didn't try any the hotel restaurants and ate breakfast outside every day (once at Bills and once at a cafe in the arcade nearby), but did have dinner in the tapas restaurant on the lower ground floor one day which was nice enough. Can also recommend the "Sake" restaurant in the Rocks area if you like Japanese/Sushi. For lunch the 5th floor dining area in the Westfield shopping center nearby has loads of different cuisines/cafes/restaurants to try and we ate there every day

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordongecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4,140 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 174 in Sydney
1,564 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 174 in Sydney
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Property: The Westin Sydney
Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing