We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding bliss!! - Executive Suite”
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #34 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wedding bliss!! - Executive Suite”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed in this hotel for our wedding and chose the Executive suite. The executive suite is massive and luxuriously fitted out with beautiful sweeping views of the city from its bedroom, bathrooms and lounge rooms. The beds are luxuriously soft and comfortable, ample cupboards to store clothes ..with an absolutely stunning bathroom luxuriously fitted out as one would expect from a 5 star hotel. Having said that.. service is probably not what i would expect from a 5 star hotel and probably needs more work. the breakfast in the executive club suites isnt that great.. and the rooms can is a bit pricey so one would definitely expect more. having said that... the hotel is exceptional and definitely highly recommended if one is looking for a luxury stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,760
    961
    274
    118
    91
See reviews for
516
1,127
239
931
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (705)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

The location of the hotel is very good, but the price is too high compared to other hotels. The internet cost $25 minimum for 24 hours - a rip off

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildcatNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Yes it was lovely, but I did expect a bit more from one of the top 5 in Sydney. The room (we were on the 30th floor) was a little on the small side......comfortable seating for 2 would have been much better.....if there were not buildings in the way the view would have been amazing.....but there definitely were glimpses of the harbour which were great. The bathroom was outstanding with a rainfall shower ......another first for me .....was beautiful. The breakfast was everything that you could ask for and a bit more. The position was excellent for walking to all the major sights......all in all, no major faults.....probably just my expectations for the $400 + per night.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MurrumbaJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed at three different Starwood properties over two weeks in Australia. I expected more

1. No wifi? Come on.
2. $84 for two burgers fries and a beer? Come on
3. Non working radio? Come on.
4. Lights not working? Come on.

I had to fight for a wireless router. The Melbourne westin offered...while the food was good it wasn't worth the price. The bathroom and it's green glass is scary at night.

The Marriott at circular quay was way better

This

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nasch3904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We recently spent three glorious nights at the Westin Hotel in Sydney. Views for ever, an immaculately clean spacious suite and, best of all, their Heavenly beds..........to die for!
By staying in an executive suite, we had free access to the executive dining area, with free breakfast and evening canapes and drinks. This overall, meant the cost was quite reasonable.

Room Tip: Executive suites on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jomac701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

It is no surprised this hotel has been rated one of the best in the world. I have stayed here numerous times and for a variety of reasons (business, when I was dating my wife as a couple and now with our three young children). This is the best hotel to use as a base for exploring Sydney. You are an easy walk from either Darling Harbor or the Rocks / Circular Quay (main ferry terminal / major train stop), and of course you are in the heart of the city for business.

A few tips:
- There is a dining area downstairs in the Post Office building with a variety of ranging from quick food to fine dining; there is even a great wine / cheese room - yum and romantic! There are neat things to see down there (old bank vault, 'caves' and a neat archeological area)
- Just down the block is a Cole's supermarket at King and George - can stock up on food and has a nice wine section (get the Nobel One desert wine and thank me later)

And a few more tips for traveling with little ones:
- The lobby is great at 3am when the kids are still on US time and you want to let your wife sleep - lots of fun things to see and play on without disturbing (many) people
- The dining area downstairs in is just so-so for little kids at lunch, but they do enjoy seeing all the neat things. I believe at night kids are not allowed at all. What I have done is ordered take away from the pizza place (very nice pizza) and then either run the kids to the grocery store to pick up a few things or just let them have fun going up and down the escalators
- See the tip above about the grocery store. You can pack light on diapers, etc... and stock up there once you arrive at reasonable rates
- We used points for the last stay and for an extra 2,500 per night you can get a bigger room which is worth it
- For things to do in Sydney make sure you hit the aquarium, Darling Harbor is so-so but worth a bit of time, the Opera House tour is a lot of fun, ride a ferry (Bondi makes a fun day with a playground, the beaches to see, lots of neat places to eat), and the zoo is a must see. There are tons of good parks for letting little ones have a run around and a picnic, ones to try are Wynyard Park (a few blocks from the hotel, lots of places to buy take away including Subway); the Royal Botanical Gardens are huge, have great views of the harbor, great plants, a nice cafe and of course the BATS which kids love; and Hyde Park is gorgeous with the Archibald Fountain, neat birds and lovely views of St Mary's.

Room Tip: We used points for the last stay and for an extra 2,500 per night you can get a bigger room which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ModernNomad001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Second stay at the Westin in Sydney following a 2 week stay in late 2008.
Booked again due to the excellent service and value for money at the time.
Did it live up to such high expectations again? (Bearing in mind we preferred the Westin to the Park Hyatt which we stayed at in 2007).
Overall - nearly, but not quite there.
Our initial room was not up to standard (the mattress smelt of stale urine - not pleasant at all for a 5 star hotel) which was very disappointing but to be fair on the staff - and this is where they excel - Carly Stone took on our concerns and upgraded us to a Deluxe Tower room for no extra charge. She also arranged for chocolates and fruit to be delivered to the room which was a nice touch.
Our new room was on the 18th floor and was much better overall and in line with our stay three years ago.
However, similar to some other reviews, we did feel that there was a lack of experienced staff overall and the concierge desk was nowhere near as helpful as last time.
Also the cost of breakfast and dinner was ridiculously high although part of this is down to the weakness of the english pound compared to our last visit.
We ended up at nearby Vivo (cafe) every morning for breakfast which was excellent.
Overall, would we stay again when we are next in Sydney? Probably not but the Westin is still a good but not great hotel in my opinion.
Our visit was definitely saved by Carly who was excellent resulting in a personalised letter of apology to our room from the Front Office Manager. She was the only one who showed genuine interest in us from day one.
Keep an eye on future reviews for improvement especially in the cleaning department.

Room Tip: 1802 was a good room. 1002 was not!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 178 in Sydney
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 178 in Sydney
4,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Property: The Westin Sydney
Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing