We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay with a spectacular room”
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #34 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“An excellent stay with a spectacular room”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

This hotel had everything; perfect location, lovely room and friendly, quick service. For the price I don't believe it would be possible to find a comparable hotel. Everything was within walking distance; the harbor was less than a ten minute walk and all the best shopping was just outside the door. We reserved a twin room on the Starwood Preferred Level and when we arrived they already had our additional rollaway bed waiting, since there were three of us. The room was incredibly spacious and the rollaway was by far the comfiest extra bed I have ever slept on, not to mention the other main beds which were also amazing. The bathroom was huge and well divided so that more then one person could use it at once, an important consideration when travelling with family. There were huge floor to ceiling windows opening up to a gorgeous city view.
The ONLY complaint that we had was the internet situation. Internet in the rooms was grossly overpriced and although they provided "free wi-fi" in the lobby, it is incredibly slow. Nonetheless the overall experience was wonderful and we would return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucygertrudis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,736
    956
    273
    116
    91
See reviews for
513
1,115
236
919
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (700)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I have visited many Westin Hotels around the world, and the Westin Sydney really shows off the Westin Brand well. From the moment you walk through the door and smell the White Tea signature scent, you know you are home.

The hotel is immaculate from start to finish. The hotel is well cared for and very clean. The staff at the Westin were very pleasant and helpful at all times.

We stayed in an Executive Club Superior room on Level 28 which provided us with access to the Executive Club Lounge. Now you may read that many people complaining about the Lounge, but I found nothing wrong with it. Yes, you can’t serve yourself Alcohol, but the staff are on hand to keep the drinks flowing. The food selection was excellent, but if you compare this to the Sheraton Sydney, then you will notice there is generally no hot food. I’ve also been to Executive Club Lounges where drinks are not complimentary, so I feel that this lounge does really well. You have to remember, they are not serving dinner, they are serving a pre-dinner snack!

Breakfast in the Executive Lounge is well presented and is very tasty.

Our room was well presented, quiet and clean. The bathroom was a delight with a huge Westin Heavenly tub and a rainwater shower. The heavenly Westin bed could have been a little software, but I’m not complaining. The room size was larger than most hotels I have stayed in.

The Westin Sydney is central to Pitt Street Mall (main shopping district in Sydney) and near many bars and clubs. It is also a short 10-15 min walk from Darling Harbour, The Rocks and the Quay. I don’t think you can really get more central than the Westin Sydney.

Room Tip: I would choose a room with Executive Club Lounge access. It costs you a little more, but you get bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crumycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Great hotel and an amazing team that works here. Free WiFi in the lobby and business centre, the room is very well appointed. Bathroom could be a disappointment if you are not a couple. What's even better is it's one of a kind policy. Place a DND and return a few hours later to see the DND off and your room privacy invaded. Apparently it's their rule that if there is a DND, staff will enter your room at 2 PM. Interesting and something to remember for your next visit here

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GodOwnAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

What a beautiful hotel! Shame our first impressions were not so positive. So close to Christmas we took an overnight trip to Sydney to attend a business meeting and to see our daughter. Sadly, if we had taken my car (Merc) we may have had a better reception but we travelled in my husband's newly detailed and 2010 plated Toyota Hilux. We were met by a Westin attendant who straight-away asked if we had a booking under 'Wot-If' (we are Starwood members) Then as my husband collected gifts from the rear of the vehicle the attendant commented that the newly purchased and still boxed floor fan wasn't necessary as the Westin rooms were all airconditioned! He was serious! Now, really, is that an appropriate manner to receive clients. Upon reporting our concerns at reception they were dismissed! Sorry Westin, your hotel staff and facilities are world-class; even with the busyness of Christmas, clients should all be greeted equally and with respect, there is no place for sarcasm! Sandy

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

This was my 3rd stay at the westin, but i was less impressed than the previous other two times i stayed here. check in was easy enough and i was even greeted as a returning client. however, the guy at checkin didnt give me the room i had requested and so i had to trudge down to reception and have my room changed. this was very disappointing as i was here for a romantic stay with my partner. also the key card for the lift and room hadnt been scanned properly and didnt work, so 2 visits later to reception and finally we got our room. not a good start to our stay. the rest of our time went well and i do really recommend the westin for its location and quality of rooms. the glass feature bathrooms are my fave in all the world. i hope next time, as a prefferred starwood and westin guest i am treated a bit better by checkin.

Room Tip: get a mid corridor room with a glass bathroom feature, really this room style is far superior to oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scb222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

This place is beautiful. The renovation they did from the original post office that the building was (and still is in a small corner) originally is amazing. Best lobby I've seen in a very long time. We used our starwood points to book the room, and as Platinum members were given the Starwood floor, but really pissed with the view they gave us. We got to spy on an office building about 10 feet away. Upon calling down to the lobby you get the run around that you always do, the "sorry, we only have rooms with worse views available". One of these days we will figure out what day and time to arrive to get an all around good room. But we don't let little things like that bother us too much, I didn't go to Sydney to sit in my hotel room and watch it rain, much more fun to be outside choking on all the Aussies smoking along the sidewalks as I enjoy the rain.

The room is one of the coolest I've ever stayed at. Look at the many pics people have submitted to see what you get to enjoy. Good products for your body. Nice size safe. Nice size refridgerator for your use. Plenty of closet space for clothes. You get the Westin Heavensomethingorother bed which is very nice. Mulitple choices of pillows

No in room wifi for free is correct. We had to go down to the lobby and hang out for a bit with our Ipad if we wanted to check our email or find a good place to eat. The hidden spot is the biz center so no one seems to use. Free computers, free printing.

Don't bother asking the concierge on how to get around town via public transportation. They look at you as if you've sprouted three heads, the audacity of someone using some of the best public transportation in the world, something that is non-existant in the US. Note to all, its easy to get around, don't waste your money on taxis. Also, the concierge does have good suggestions for food if you want to spend around A$50 a person, less then that and they are clueless. Just use tripadvisor or urbanspoon for ideas.

Location is not the best, but is near to public transportation. We walked several times to Circular Quay and it wasn't bad. Then found there are free buses that go that way, oops. Hotel is actually in the middle of the CBD so is easy to get to anything.

We wouldn't hesitate to return, we also stayed at the IC during the visit and it doesn't compare at all to the Westin ...

Room Tip: read all the reviews and find a good room number, request it early, say the number has some signific...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azgators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

From the first friendly face helping with our bags and parking our cvar, the service was first class. Room was clen, quiet and well appointed.
As the tv said on entering our room, "our home in Sydney' was right.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smokyharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 179 in Sydney
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 179 in Sydney
4,321 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Property: The Westin Sydney
Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing