We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, luxurious, great location”
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #35 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed at the Westin in Sydney for 4 days, following a 2 week cruise. We were looking for (and expecting) heavenly beds. We were pleasantly surprised by a spacious king size bed, with large closets and a modern, luxury bath. Concierge made excellent recommendations and reservations for us. Location was ideal--within walking distance of Circular Quay, Sydney Opera House and Botanic Gardens, shopping/business district, and Darling Harbor.

Room Tip: I don't know if there are rooms with views--we didn't have one, but we had little street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbianco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear debbianco

We are appreciative of your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney and are delighted to learn about your enjoyable experience. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,786 - 1,792 of 3,359 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

Location - excellent, close to the waterfront (10 min walk), close to the train and bus stations
Room - I got a room in the old building and was really good
Lounge - Well stocked and well served
So why the 4 and not 5 stars? The gym hours are not convinient - 6 AM to 9 PM. I have to be at work by 7 AM and am back from work by 8 PM. So there's no time for the gym. For a hotel that charges $400/night - this should be a 24 hour gym.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank murlirao2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear murlirao2002

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are pleased you were comfortable in our care and you could take advantage of our central location. As you may be aware GoodLife Health Club is operated separately to the hotel and we regret their opening hours did not meet your needs. We will be sure to share your feedback with their management team.

We are appreciate of your comments and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Westin. Its convenient for exploring the city centre on foot.
I'd describe it as a good four star hotel, probably most suited to business users.
I would think that most people would find it a perfectly acceptable place to stay.
The swimming pool is a huge disappointment. If you bear that in mind, and have low expectations, you will still be disappointed!
I stayed in a tower room. It was clean, functional and I found the bed to be very comfortable.
I wasn't overly impressed by the breakfast buffet. Yes its ok. The sort of thing I would expect, but not exceptional. Like most hotels of this kind, the breakfast was expensive.

If you shop around and get a good price you won't be disappointed, but don't pay the rack rate.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whiskerxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear whiskerxx

Thank you for taking the time to post your review online following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney and we are delighted you could take advantage of our signature Heavenly Bed in one of our Tower rooms. Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The Westin is a breathtaking blend of old and new in the historical GPO building yet boasting modern facilities and design as well. Stayed here several times in November - there is so much to discover in this building alone.

Check-in and Concierge are wonderfully attentive but can be stretched at peak times. I love the rooms here - both on the Heritage side as well as the modern ones in the Tower. The Tower rooms can have better views but the smaller rooms there can feel a little cramped. Bathrooms are wonderful, especially in the larger suites. There are plenty of choices for breakfast - the main restaurant is expensive but provides a wonderful selection of just about anything imaginable. Maximus (ground floor) has some of the best coffee in the downtown area, and the lounge on top provides a very good complimentary option for those who are allowed in.

A massive plus for fitness fans is the free access to the GPO gym - it's madly busy before 9am and early Weekends but otherwise it's absolutely deserted. The pool might be disappointing for families but great for doing (short) laps.

In my opinion the best thing is all the restaurants and bars in the GPO. You have a sushi-train, a wine and cheese bar, one of the best steakhouses in the world (Prime) and much more. The hotel bar is also worth checking out. I think the fact that it's always crowded just shows you how much this building is loved by the locals - never mind the plenty of other interesting neighbourhoods nearby. Other really nice touches are things like the hotel courtesy limos - even if you're not a VIP you can get lucky and get driven to the airport in a fancy Merc or BMW for the same price as a taxi. I just can't wait to get back here.

Room Tip: Heritage rooms are nice and spacious but can be more prone to street noise and have no views. Best r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPG_JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear SPG_JJ

Thank you for posting your comments and sharing your experience. We are delighted you had a an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This hotel was great for touring the city. We stayed in the Heritage section of the hotel. The ceilings wee way high and it has an old time feel wood floors, fire places, big bathroom. I would stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Adam B

We are appreciative of your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are pleased you were comfortable in our care, that you could take advantage of our central location and experience one of our heritage rooms in the former General Post Office building. We look forward to welcoming you again when you are next in Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Great service, gorgeous hotel, amazing amenities - no Harbour views but the location is fantastic! Loved it! I travel twice a week to Sydney and I have tried most of the 5 star hotels and this one is now my absolute favourite. The staff are their best asset - super friendly, knowledgeable but not intrusive.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Donna S

Our aim is to ensure our guests depart feeling better than when they arrived and we are thrilled to be your favourite hotel in Sydney. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Sydney again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights in Heritage room with my 2 kids. The room was large, nicely decorated and the beds were super comfy. The bathroom was also large, clean and modern. Great location and walking distance to restaurants and shops. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The swimming pool was small but good enough for the kids to splash in. Overall it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fepsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear fegoh

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay. We are delighted you and your family had an enjoyable stay at The Westin Sydney and hope to welcome you all back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#40 of 181 in Sydney
4,696 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#20 of 181 in Sydney
2,143 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#12 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £126 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing