We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family stay”
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #33 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights December 2013. Travelled with two young children 3 and 7. Had twin double bedroom. I was impressed with room and storage size. Great location. Central Harbour and Quay and shops. Loved the buffet breakfast and variety. Thought dinner menu bit too sophisticated for my little ones. Would definitely stay again. Pool a bit ordinary.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear simonebb

We are delighted to read your comments about your enjoyable experience at The Westin Sydney and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,236)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,648 - 1,654 of 3,236 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

We booked a night at a special rate (about AUD200) for a night on the town. Rooms and service were great, as one would expect. The pool (relatively small gym lap pool) was cumbersome to get to and disappointing for a hotel of this category. As usual these days, the car parking rate (AUD69) is about 1/3 or 1/2 of your room rate.

Room Tip: The domain carpark proved to be a reasonable option.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rusty1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Rusty1402

Thank you for taking the time to post your review online following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you could take advantage of a special offer and were comfortable in our care. Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I recently stayed at the Westin for a brief trip to Sydney. From check-in to check out, it was a wonderful experience. The room I was in was a bit bright at night due to the Christmas tree right outside but that was the only complaint I had. Rooms are VERY spacious, bathrooms are HUGE and the bed was so comfortable.
The only suggestion I have for the hotel is to include slippers in the rooms

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Fay B

We are pleased to read your comments following your recent stay at The Westin and we are delighted you could take comfort in one of our Heritage rooms located in the former General Post Office building . We appreciate your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Good business hotel in a great location for central Sydney but why do business hotels like this still impose unreasonable charges for pretty slow in room internet connection. Its not optional for a business hotel and $20 a day is simple profiteering. In London I get free wi-fi in Macdonalds. Come on Westin, sort this out.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John1805x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear John F

Thank you for taking the time to convey your feedback following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney and we are pleased you could take advantage of our central location. Thank you for your recommendations and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Having stayed here on a number of occasions over the years for business, this Westin is one of the best I have experienced in the world. The rooms are spacious, and the bathrooms are excellent. The location in Martin Place is unbeatable. Granted, there are no spectacular views here, but the beautiful rooms more than make up for it. I have never had anything but exemplary service on check in and check out.

As an SPG Platinum, having access to the Club Lounge is a big plus, and the Club Lounge breakfast is excellent, with hot food offered as well - very rare. The drinks and canapes at night are excellent. My only (very minor) niggle is that I have rarely, if ever, been offered an upgrade as a Platinum, but the rooms are so good, it really is of no consequence.

Thank you for another great stay in this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripper16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Tripper16

We are delighted to read your comments following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney and are thrilled to be one of your favourite hotels. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I had read mixed reviews on this hotel but all I can say is this was truly a Westin experience. We stayed for a long layover before heading north and could not have been more pleased. Because we are SPG members we were upgraded to a tower view room, very spacious with the view of the clock. Every staff member we encountered was pleasant and helpful. The amenities on site are superb with many selection of restaurants. The walk to Circular Quay is an easy 10 minute walk. Can't beat location! We will stay here again in a few days on our way back through. Looking forward to the same experience.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Dawn R

Thank you for posting your review online following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable experience and you could take advantage of a complimentary room upgrade. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed here as part meeting /close to CBD. I am Part of the loyalty program. Popular with OS tourists, however for the price believe you have better choices for the $ or save money for other options.
Ate at the restaurant , WIFI etc and a bit underwhelmed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BleedingAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Bunglebungle007

Thank you for detailing your feedback following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are appreciative of your recommendations and we hope to have the opportunity to seeing again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 178 in Sydney
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 178 in Sydney
4,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £144 - £465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing