We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Syndey”
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #34 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This place is expensive but very nice. Very Modern rooms. The Bathrooms are unique and have the rain shower option which is nice. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast every morning. Exp. but so many options. We had dinner there as well. The service was horrible for dinner and the food a bit pretentious. Completely different experience from breakfast where the wait staff was wonderful and the food AMAZING. They must not do a lot of business at night. If you are here on vacation, this is a good location. 5-10 min walk down to Sydney Harbor. The Rocks are just beyond that. Good restaurants and great shopping all around. No need for a car or cabs. Just take a short stroll to almost everything. Be prepared to spend money. Sydney is expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomasja37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Thomasja37

We are appreciative for the time you took in conveying your feedback following your recent visit at The Westin Sydney. We were pleased to learn that our bathrooms were to your liking and you could take advantage of our central location. Thank you also for your comments in regards to your dining experiences and we sincerely regret the level of service you received at dinner was not as pleasant as the one you received at breakfast. Thank you for your recommendations, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,641 - 1,647 of 3,301 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

I have stayed here on two separate occasions and have never been disappointed! The hotel staff are always helpful and polite, the rooms and bathrooms are beautiful with an extremely comfy bed...and to top it off it has the most delicious buffet breakfast EVER...I will most definitely be coming back

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the clock tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyP2097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear AmyP2097

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent experience at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you could take comfort in our Westin Heavenly Beds® and you enjoyed our SuperFoodsRX buffet breakfast in Mosaic restaurant. We look forward to have the opportunity to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

From the time we arrived to Valet our car, everyone were quick to ensure we were not kept waiting. Check in was quick and we were offered free internet. I am like other reviewers who does not understand in this day and age why hotels still charge for internet. Having said that, I have stayed in many of the upper end hotels in Sydney and am yet to find a hotel that does charge for internet usage unless you upgrade to an Executive or Club level. Room was large with comfortable king bed with a spacious bathroom and rain shower. Location is perfect if you are looking to stay in the CBD and enjoyed the $20.00 breakfast we were offered. As with all hotels in the CBD, parking price is ridiculous but all par with Hilton & Shangri La.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Villa58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Jonathan2483Trv

We were delighted to read your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney and pleased you were comfortable in our care. Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I am a Starwood platinum member and stay in Starwood hotels around the world but have never been exposed to such pettty money grabbing as I was in this hotel. I booked 2 rooms for 4 nights and as a platinum member I should get free internet and access to the lounge. I was only allowed internet in one room and my guests in the 2nd room did not get access to the lounge without paying a ridiculous fee for a below average breakfast in the lounge. My family could not use the internet in the other room without paying $20! Unbelievable. Starwood hotels in North America and Europe do not treat their guests in this manner. The location is very good and the hotel is very nice but their pettiness made my stay unpleasant. We had a suite which was excellent but I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms are small so I would recommend a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fieldbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Fieldbus

Thank you for your review following your recent visit at The Westin Sydney and we are disappointed you were not entirely satisfied with your experience. By way of explanation, in line with the terms and conditions of the Starwood Preferred Guest program, Platinum benefits are applicable to the member and one guest at the condition that the additional guest shares the same room as the member. We sincerely regret if this standard did not meet your expectations and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

My friends and I stay in Sydney often and this place was by far the best I've stayed in Sydney! It's so tucked away I had never even noticed it before on Pitts street.
Rooms where amazing and service was outstanding. I couldn't say a bad thing about the Westin Sydney!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Sim_in_the_box
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Sim_in_the_box

We are delighted to learn of your enjoyable first experience at The Westin Sydney. Thank you for taking the time to convey your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I wan to start a campaign. Trip Advisor please note. If an hotel charges for internet they should have star deducted. From their rating!
This hotel charges AUD$20 for 24 hours internet, AUD$7 for a bottle of water and deserve to be downgraded and made to be more customer friendly rather than money grabbing and arrogant!
This hotel is certainly comfortable, well located for tourists and business and offers good service, although my check-in time was 10 minutes and many of the staff are a little arrogant!
I was surprised that the Australians accepted a charge for WI-Fi but realised that many guests are not paying for their accommodation, their company are! No owner the likes of Qantas are in trouble. Come on guys, boycott these hotels that charge for internet, there is no justification whatsoever. Starwood take note! I doubt that I will get a response from Westin as there is no defence!

Room Tip: All are good but avoid being n ear the road as sirens are going every hour 24/7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matkincc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear matkincc

Thank you for sharing your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney and we are disappointed to learn you were not totally satisfied with your experience. We are appreciative of your feedback regarding our internet offering. We understand that some hotels build this ancillary service into their pricing structure; it is currently our practice to allow our guests the option to purchase this service if they wish. We do also offer complimentary wireless internet access in the lobby, Mosaic Restaurant and in our Business Centre.

At The Westin Sydney we are proud to be committed to making green choices to sustain our environment. In line with this initiative we have removed complimentary bottled water from the majority of our guest rooms in order to avoid thousands of plastic bottles and emissions being released into the environment each year. The Australian Government has strict guidelines for water purity and testing and we are therefore fortunate in Sydney to enjoy 100% safe potable water and we provide each guest room with glassware. As you may be aware bottled water is available for purchase in the Refreshment Centre those guests who prefer to purchase bottled water. We regret if this practice has caused you any discomfort during your stay.

Thank you for your observations in regards to your check-in experience and we sincerely regret if it did not meet your expectations and if our associates did not come across as friendly as it was certainly not their intention,

We hope to have the opportunity to restore your faith in our services and welcome you back to The Westin Sydney again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I visit Sydney frequently and usually stay at the Hilton or Sheraton on the Park as both are closer to businesses I visit when in Sydney. Last week however there were several major events in the city which means two things - rooms were hard to get and also absurdly expensive if you could find one. I think Australian hotels are more opportunistic than anywhere else in the world when it comes to yield management - rates regularly vary by over 100% for the same room on different nights within the same week. Rates at hotels in major Australian cities are regularly higher than Paris, Rome and even Tokyo.

Anyway, chose Westin and had a good single night stay. I had not been here for about 5 years and if struck me that nothing seems to have changed at all - not a bad thing though and clearly maintenance is good as none of the room furnishings looked worn or in poor repair. Someone must have consumed a cigar or two in the first room I was given, such was the smell but this was very quickly remedied by reception who immediately changed my room to one similar on a different floor. Rooms are very comfortable and the Westin Heavenly beds remain one of the great innovations of the hospitality industry. Westin started the whole signature bed concept and we owe them greatly for the idea!

The lobby lounge and bar areas are very good and always seem busy with many of Sydney's business elite. Service is rather good as well, i went out for dinner and lunch with colleagues so I cannot comment on restaurants this time around.

Room Tip: Views overlooking MartinPlace are nice - just be aware that there is an active clock tower there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Ashley G

We are appreciative of your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are pleased you were comfortable in our care and that you could take comfort in our signature Westin Heavenly® beds. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#41 of 179 in Sydney
4,607 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#15 of 179 in Sydney
2,046 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £131 - £455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing