We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very beautiful and luxurious hotel but ...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #32 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
140 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very beautiful and luxurious hotel but ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I have always wanted to stay at this hotel and finally got my chance. I'm not disappointed.

Room:
This was relatively big and well appointed. There was a bath tub besides a shower area. And the Westin bed (which is among the most comfortable hotel beds around). Definitely a room meant to be 5-star luxurious and comfortable. (My only disappointment with the room was the lack of slippers).

Main restaurant:
The setting was lovely. One could admire how the old building and the new building have been blended together, yet retaining their own character. (For someone who loves architecture, this hotel has a very uniquely beautiful setting). And with classical music playing in the background, I could think that even Mozart would have felt at home. My breakfast was nothing special, though. However, my greatest disappointment was that there is a separate charge of A$5 for an order of coffee. (You are encouraged to use their WMF coffee machines yourselves, and not bother the busy waiters with such trivial requests). Given that I'm already paying about A$40 for breakfast and still slapping me with an additional A$5 for a coffee order, this smacks of cheap-skate. For this, I would have to minus a star from this hotel.

Location:
The hotel is right at Martin Place in Sydney CBD so for those wanting to be staying in the heart of CBD, the location is very convenient.

Would I return to this hotel again? Yes but I won't have coffee (unless it's free with breakfast) and I would insist they provide me slippers in my room. Other than that, this hotel is very beautiful and luxurious.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Duke_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear DukeUniverse

Thank you for taking the time to convey your feedback following your recent visit at The Westin Sydney and we are delighted to learn of your enjoyable experience.

Thank you also for your comments regarding our slippers and we are pleased to confirm that we offer this item on a request basis; please ensure to mention this preference during your next stay with us.

We further regret if our breakfast offering did not meet your expectations. Please rest assured your comments have been shared with the wider management team, we do regularly review our services and upon next doing so will certainly do with your feedback in mind.

Thank you for your review, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,664
    917
    262
    108
    88
See reviews for
483
1,071
231
879
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (680)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed with friends at The Westin recently. Although our room had no water views ( overlooking the clock tower- what's the time!!), location is perfect for everything from shopping, Darling Harbour, the Opera House, transport and galleries. Service was friendly even in such a large hotel and the bathroom is enormous. We got a great deal for an inner city hotel. Plenty of food choices both inside the hotel and in the surrounds. Rooms comfortable and quiet. Great if you can get a good deal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Kathleen K

We are appreciative of your review following your recent visit at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you were comfortable in our care and you took comfort in our accommodation rooms . Thank you also for your comments regarding the outlook of our rooms and we are pleased to confirm that because of the location of our building none of our accommodation rooms offer a harbour view but a city view. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyong, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband & I stayed here last Sunday while the Vivid Festival was on. Excellent location as there were exhibits in Martin Place, then we wandered down to Circular Quay for the rest of the festival.
The accommodation was very good value, attentive staff & quiet rooms all made for a restful night.
We took advantage of the valet parking and we would certainly like to stay again.

The bed was more comfortable than our own at home..... pillows were luxurious too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneMargaret1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear SuzanneMargaret1961

Our aim is to ensure our guests depart feeling better than when they arrive and we are pleased to learn you took comfort in our signature Westin Heavenly Beds® and took advantage of our central location to attend Vivid Sydney 2014.

We certainly look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I was advised that this was a great place by a local who was spot on. Get a high floor room and the views are spectacular, they have an amazing concept of a transparent bathroom wall so you can sit in the bath and see the city. It wasn't expensive and the location is very central.

Room Tip: Go for a top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 84805PeterS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear 84805PeterS84,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Westin Sydney and for posting your wonderful review. We are naturally delighted to have met your expectations and we look forward to seeing you next time your travels bring you to Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

we stayed here for the vivid festival on a friday night , the executive free upgrade was a welcome surprise and had a lovely room on the 29th floor.away from the hustle and bustle of the city below. great hotel for shopping addicts as it is all on your doorstep, but stillm only a few minutes walk to circular quay. the service was great i can reccomend as a great city stay. the beds are to die for so comfy

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Sarah W

Thank you for posting your feedback online following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you had an enjoyable experience and you could take advantage of a complimentary upgrade to one of our Executive rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
134 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

All the positives:
Location - excellent for doing business in the CBD
Staff - friendly, helpful
Room - clean, spacious, modern
Bed - super comfortable
Shower - excellent
Meals - breakfast good but the standout was the healthy eating options on the room service menu. (Relax, you can still get the traditional club sandwich!)
Fitness - the co-located gym is fully equipped and staffed. (Membership complimentary for hotel guests.)
Now, a few negatives:
Wifi - Westin still charge for this. For what a room costs, it should be free.
Room (card) key - overly sensitive and consistently needed to be reprogrammed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marduk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear marduk1

Thank you for your feedback following your recent experience at The Westin Sydney. We are pleased you could take advantage of our central location as well as our SuperFoodsRX in room dining menu.

We appreciate your comments regarding our internet offering and as you may be aware it is currently our practice to allow our guests the option to purchase this service if they wish. We do also offer complimentary wireless internet access in the Lobby, Mosaic Restaurant and The Bar. We sincerely regret if this service did not meet your expectations. We are also sorry to hear that you experienced some difficulties with your accommodation room keys.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in November of 2013. We used a lot of points for our stay, but felt that it was completely worth it. The location was great for walking to all of the major sights. Also, we arrived very early in the morning and they let us check into our room then. This was a great first hotel to get some rest and see as much as we could in two days, before heading to New Zeland for a few weeks.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hikergirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Lisa S

We are thrilled to read your comments following your recent visit at The Westin Sydney. Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,046 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#14 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Property: The Westin Sydney
Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing