We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely consistent quality and service ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #32 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely consistent quality and service ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

the Westin sydney is a quality hotel. staff are attentive and room decor is above standard.

It's location in the city is good.

Close to Wynyard train station makes it an easy choice coming in on a flight and then connecting on a train.

TIP: for breakfast the hotel full choice is wonderful but it will cost the normal hotel cost for such a lovely spread. If you only want a light option dine at a separate cafe located in the same building. The cafe in the foyer on the mall side serves a coffee and toast for around $9.

If you just want to grab a coffee then goto the hotel driveway and turn left, there's a little hole in the wall in the mornings selling Tobys Estate brand coffee.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Flowerauction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Flowerauction

Thank you for posting your comments and sharing your experience. We are delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,677
    926
    263
    113
    89
See reviews for
487
1,079
232
892
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
421 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

A great location and a great hotel. Centrally located in Sydney. Internet is reasonably priced at $20 per day.

The only issue during my stay (not the hotel's issue in any way) was an early morning wakeup when adjoining guests started playing very loud music at 3.30am. I called reception and the manager had sorted the issue within 10 minutes.

Beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Lee S

We are sorry to learn your accommodation room was subject to noise levels which disrupted your experience however pleased to learn that we were able to promptly assist in making the rest of your night more comfortable.

Thank you for sharing your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
374 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hotel has a very good location right in the heart of Sydney centre with sights, great food and trendy shopping malls within walking distance. Be welcomed by a trendy lobby with modern artworks juxtaposed against the interior of the historic a General Post Office GPO of the other hotel wing housing the lounge when you step in.

The room came with a very comfortable bed which is a Westin signature and mine had a close-up view of the GPO's clock tower. I was so inspired to sit by the window and spend the remains of the day sketching this iconic architecture the minute I stepped into the room. The room's thoughtful layout with a walk-in wardrobe and enclosed space for your luggage is also very much appreciated by the discerning traveller.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the clock tower if you are working in the day and do not wish to be disturb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Y880

Thank you for conveying your comments following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you could take advantage of our central location and you could experience the stunning architecture of the former General Post Office building and Clock Tower. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We booked the westin sydney on a mystery deal, we didn't know what we were getting until we paid for it.... So we got lucky we paid $130 a night which was amazing as regular rates are from 250$ upwards.

Regardless of price it was amazing! clean, friendly, great staff, awesome location I couldn't fault it!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sydneydazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear sydneydazz

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent visit at The Westin Sydney and we are delighted to learn of your enjoyable experience in celebration of your anniversary. Thank for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
1,813 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We always stay here when in Sydney it is well located and you run into big hitters and friends as it is the hub of Sydney . The rooms are everything you could want and well serviced and maintained . It is the other factors that make it a great business hotel , bumping into contacts at breakfast and managing an impromptu catch up .
We hired a banquet hall and had 40+ guests for a presentation the food and service was excellent . Downstairs we had back to back meetings in the cafe , 6 meetings at the same table in less than 2 hrs , the wait staff figured it out and reset the table as the guests changed over , we only had one bill at the end
Not too many hotels can offer this location and service

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Michael S

Thank you for taking the time to convey your feedback following your recent experience at The Westin Sydney. We are grateful for your loyalty and delighted you were comfortable in our care. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was my second time staying here, this time managing to get a room for ridiculously cheap via a mystery deal. Having stayed in the best room last time I was interested to see how a standard tower room was, and I was not disappointed. Compared to other 5 star hotels in Sydney I have stayed in at a similar price, the tower rooms offered more than your other standard 5 star hotel would. Beautiful bathrooms (even had a rainshower!), a lovely bed and very quiet. As others have said, its hard to find a better location with everything the city has to offer within a short walk. Service was also good.

Definitely one of my preferred (if not favourite) hotels in Sydney now!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Ben M

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent experience and that you prefer to stay at The Westin Sydney while in town. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a trip to Sydney for business and wish I could have stayed longer. Check in staff friendly but not overly so but everyone else fantastic.

I stayed in a heritage room and had intended to go out for dinner but stayed in and enjoyed the surroundings. The bed was super comfy and the bathroom was awesome- especially loved the rain shower the next morning when I needed to wake up!

Having a private space for my suitcase was great as a friend came to visit and I could hide everything away.

I am looking forward to my next stay!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Blossom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Blossom101

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are thrilled that our accommodation facilities exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,143 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#14 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Property: The Westin Sydney
Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing