We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury and close to everything...”
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #32 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury and close to everything...”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I went to Sydney for work and mind you I was 6 almost 7 months pregnant. The hotel was superb not only the customer service was awesome, but everything from lounge/restaurant/room/breakfast buffet etc was fantastic. Room was spacious, so very clean and just very nice.

I was able to just walk down the road to our Sydney office and everything was in walking distance. Even to the harbor which I would go to get fish and chips. :) Definitely an awesome hotel to look into if heading to downtown Sydney!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Militants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Militants

We are thrilled to read your comments following your recent visit at The Westin Sydney. Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,701
    933
    268
    115
    90
See reviews for
496
1,098
234
898
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york ny usa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Arrived a bit early on a Sunday and they did their best to get me in to a room despite being full on Saturday night. Rooms are beautiful and housekeeping came early to do the room. Room service was quick and my order was accurate and well prepared. All the staff I encountered were friendly and very helpful. There was also the restaurant Intermezzo located off the lobby. I stopped in for a quick lunch and the food was amazing. The service was impeccable. I highly recommend it and wished I had been able to stop in for dinner.

Room Tip: High floors offer better city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerioke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Kerioke

We are pleased to read your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney and delighted we could assist in making your stay with us comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

It is a while since I stayed at Westin Sydney but it continues to stand as one of my three favourite hotels in Sydney town.

The positives:

- superb central city location;
- great character within the old GPO building (this really sets the Westin apart);
- very smart and spacious throughout;
- large rooms and bathrooms;
- very comfortable beds;
- very quiet inside the rooms;
- excellent service.

The rooms have a good sized safe for storage of valuables.

On this occasion I had breakfast at Mosaics within the hotel and the range and quality is excellent - albeit pricey at $42 per head.

My only quibble - for a hotel of this standard it would be good if there was a bigger quantity and range of tea bags in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremyPaul99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear JeremyC-99

Thank you for posting your comments and sharing your experience, we are delighted you had an enjoyable stay at The Westin Sydney. Thank you for your observations regarding our refreshment centre tea selection, we will certainly take your comments to account when we next review our service offering. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This has to be the best hotel I have ever stayed in. I was lucky enough to to partake in this luxury care of the company for whom I work. Only had one night but I will take whatever I can get. Outstanding service from the moment you enter the lobby. Had a lovely room with the best bed and pillows imaginable. What is with hotels that have quality accommodation and then have appalling pillows. The Westin hotel pillows were feather and plenty of them. At the end of a long journey the bed and pillows either make or break a place in my opinion.

Beautiful bathroom - separate shower room and toilet with excellent toiletries. Breakfast was overpriced but served with style on a specially set up table. Can't fault the place and of course it is in the heart of Sydney. This is the highest rating I have given to any place I have stayed - go there immediately and enjoy!

Room Tip: No nothing about the rooms on offer but no outside noise was discernible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Judith D

We are very much appreciative of your review and thrilled to be your favourite hotel in Sydney. Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Sydney again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forster
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at the Westin CBD and was a little disappointing this time round. We were celebrating special birthday and basically ignored by the hotel. I don't expect a marching band but a bottle of champagne on ice with some chocolates would have been nice. We would have paid for that to happen but it didn't, they were told our stay was for a birthday celebration. When telling them, all we heard was how she (receptionist) was going to celebrate her step fathers birthday. Tapas!
We also had a munch on the mini bar items, thought we would do the same the next night but alas there was nothing there! They were not replaced, so that was very disappointing.
To leave your car there is very expensive, $140 for not quite 2 days.
Checking my bank statement today I have found I have been charged twice for the accommodation, making it very expensive indeed. I phoned and they had a very weak excuse, the banks fault which it wasn't.
They said they would rectify it, they have sent an email saying not much at all. No apology, nothing, zilch.
I have demanded to have my card numbers to be taken off their system, I don't want anymore mistakes. They weren't sure if they could do this.
So, overall very disappointing, I'm going to search for another hotel close to the CBD.

Room Tip: Make sure where they are building, jackhammers, they even work on a Saturday, all day. Don't sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilbur2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear ForsterWilbury

Thank you for posting your further comments on TripAdvisor following your stay over the weekend. We sincerely regret your birthday was not recognised on this occasion, this is disappointing and certainly not indicative of the service level we strive to maintain. We are also sorry to learn the minibar in your accommodation room was not appropriately replenished throughout your stay as we can certainly appreciate the inconvenience this may has caused you. Please rest assured your comments have been addressed with our Front Office and Refreshment Centre Manager for training and development purposes. We trust you have received our previous correspondence addressing your concerns related to the security deposit which was processed upon arrival.

Thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to restore your faith in our services in the future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night and wished I had stayed more! Great property even if I had a hard time finding it. Easy check-in beautiful lobby and great service from the concierge and valet parking.

The location could not be better and the rooms are great!

I really loved it!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pdittay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Pdittay

We are delighted to learn of your enjoyable experience at The Westin Sydney and pleased you could take advantage of our central location. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is the best hotel I have stayed in Sydney. The room was really spacious, great amenities, really nice bathroom, friendly staff, located in the heart of the city, great use of technology, close to everything and list is ever growing.
I will highly recommend this hotel to anybody coming and staying in Sydney!

Room Tip: Look out for Rooms facing Martin Place at higher floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MohnishKapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear MohnishKapoor

Our aim is to ensure our guests depart feeling better than when they arrived and we are thrilled to be your favourite hotel in Sydney. We are appreciative of your recommendations and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Sydney again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,196 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#14 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Property: The Westin Sydney
Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing