We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything”
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #31 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Fantastic location, great breakfast, smart rooms. Loved it our three night stay. Easy walk to Rocks, public transport, and parks. Buffet breakfast with a smile, but sometimes too efficient at taking the plates away. Heritage room was perfect for us.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julian_Marieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Julian_Marieke

Thank you very much for sharing your review following your enjoyable experience at The Westin Sydney. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,725
    949
    271
    115
    90
See reviews for
505
1,110
236
913
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We first stayed at the Westin during the Sydney Olympics and have stayed several times since then & it is so nice to see that it is still as good now as it was then. The rooms are still so comfortable and it all just works so well. The staff are very helpful & we had a wonderful breakfast at Mosaic . We were staying for a seminar which worked very well on the 6th floor and all in all we had a very relaxing weekend stay. The hotel is well located to the best shopping spots in the CBD as well as many tourist attractions...all within an easy walk. I did think that the overnight parking of $69.00 was excessive & the wi fi charges are expensive if not included in the room rate. I don't understand that big hotels like this still need to charge for wi fi. However this is still my favourite hotel in Sydney.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 79suzannem79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear 79suzannem79

We are grateful for your loyalty and pleased to learn The Westin Sydney remains your preferred hotel. Thank you also for your comments regarding the privately owned car park Secure Parking as well as our internet offering and we sincerely regret if it did not meet your expectations. As you may be aware we do currently offer complimentary internet in our lobby, Executive Lounge, Business Centre as well as in Mosaic. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Good location in the heart of the city. Friday nights naturally attract the business crowd who take over the bar.
We stayed in the Tower Rooms* on level 27, for 2 nights Fri - Sun with views overlooking martin place and the beautiful clock beneath our window.
Not sure this is the place to stay for a romantic weekend however the rooms are nice and well maintained.
There were no slippers supplied, however a note left out for the cleaners quickly produced 2 pairs that night.
There are no loofahs supplied to guests.
The water is not complimentary. Guests are provided with two large bottles of water at $7(AUD) each.
The pillows aren't so great, ours were a little lumpy. It was too late to call for a new set of pillows so we made do with them however it was uncomfortable. Last but not least, the beds...those so-called 'Heavenly' beds were not so heavenly. We were swallowed by the beds! We aren't heavy to start with but once you lay on these beds you can't help to feel like the bed was filled with quicksand making for 2 of the most uncomfortable sleepless nights that I can recall for some time!

Would I return? Well I've stayed at this hotel a handful of times and keep going back...not sure why I do given I do like to get some sleep, so no sadly, I'm certain that was my last stay at this hotel.

*http://www.westinsydney.com/rooms/towerrooms

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chilichocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear chilichocolate

Our aim is to ensure our guests depart feeling better than when they arrive and please accept our sincere apology it was not your experience on this occasion. We sincerely regret to learn of your discomfort with our signature Westin Heavenly Beds®, we do have procedure to ensure all aspects of our accommodation rooms are appropriately maintained and we are sorry if this was not completed prior to your arrival. If you do have any further details regarding the accommodation room you were staying in please do pass along at your convenience on westin.sydney@westin.com and we will ensure your comments are shared with our team as appropriate. Thank you for sharing your concerns with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
356 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My first stay at the Westin blew me away. Efficient checkin, room on the 12th floor with a large bathroom, fluffy towels, a desk....a perfect business office for a two night stay.
I'm not sure why I haven't considered this hotel before, but it does show others what service is all about. The building works across there road might be found challenging by some, but my room was sheltered from any discomfort. I'll be back!

Room Tip: join the SPG group for an upgrade and dining discounts
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geraldq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear geraldq

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted to learn about your memorable experience and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

A very pleasant hotel in the CBD

As with many CBD hotels parking can be a little difficult. Make sure you get directions where the parking entrance is located or you will go around in circles.

Very central for shopping especially.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Nick W

Thank you very much for sharing your review following your enjoyable experience at The Westin Sydney. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Have stayed several times now at The Westin and have found the quality and service to be consistantly high. The rooms are larger than most with an extremely large bathroom. The staff are professional and helpful. Despite some major works across the road from the hotel, the room was very quiet. Overall can not fault The Westin and is my preferred palce to stay in Sydney

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yeti99_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear yeti99_10

We are grateful for your continued loyalty and delighted to learn The Westin Sydney is your preferred hotel when travelling to Sydney. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

The Westin Sydney provides the same consistent high quality accommodation experience every time. Along with its Melbourne counterpart, the Westin neve fails to deliver good staff, great rooms and the best beds of any hotel I've stayed in.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David111060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear David111060

We are grateful for your loyalty and thank you for taking the time to convey your feedback following your visits at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you were comfortable in our care and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 178 in Sydney
1,661 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 178 in Sydney
4,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Property: The Westin Sydney
Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing